E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2003, 10:22 PM   #1
gazfatha323i
E46 Spartan
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 531
My Ride: 04 CB/IR M3
Send a message via AIM to gazfatha323i
Do you have to dissconnect the battery when taking instrament cluster out?

I am getting a 330 cluster soon and going to take the rings out for my car. I am worried that I will get an error on the dash. Is this a concern i should have?
__________________

Carbon Black / IR ///M
gazfatha323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-18-2003, 10:23 PM   #2
BMWMANIAC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 347
My Ride: 2002 745i
heheh, not unless you are trying to mess around with mileage
BMWMANIAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2003, 10:39 PM   #3
StreetTrixE4six
E46Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,111
My Ride: 08' 328i E92
yes, the cluster needs to be reprogrammed by bmw in order to function properly w/ your vehicle.
__________________
08' BMW 328i coupe
07' Audi A4 2.0T Quattro S-Line
04' 325Ci
StreetTrixE4six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2003, 10:41 PM   #4
StreetTrixE4six
E46Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,111
My Ride: 08' 328i E92
i don't think you have to disconnect the battery, but it doesn't matter anyway since bmw will have to program it.
__________________
08' BMW 328i coupe
07' Audi A4 2.0T Quattro S-Line
04' 325Ci
StreetTrixE4six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2003, 10:44 PM   #5
gazfatha323i
E46 Spartan
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 531
My Ride: 04 CB/IR M3
Send a message via AIM to gazfatha323i
No, I am not going to use the new cluster..

I am just going to take the guage rings and use the exsisting cluster again....and I was wondering if i will get an error if i dont dissconnect the battery before hand.
__________________

Carbon Black / IR ///M
gazfatha323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2003, 10:51 PM   #6
BobbyBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 248
My Ride: 2003 325i
No you dont have to disconnect the battery just to pull out the instrument cluster, if I understand you correctly, all you are going to do is use the silver rings from the 330 cluster, when you slap it back in your clock will have to be reset and thats it. Dont know what this crap about having to have bmw reprogram it is. I've taken mine out of my 00 323 about 10 times for different things and just put back in and set clock. Same with my new 03 i've had it out 3 times and just put it back in and set clock.
BobbyBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2003, 10:51 PM   #7
Choson1
Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,003
My Ride: Keepin' it Real
NO. absolutely not.
__________________
Choson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2003, 10:54 PM   #8
StreetTrixE4six
E46Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,111
My Ride: 08' 328i E92
oh ok, i thought you were swapping clusters.
__________________
08' BMW 328i coupe
07' Audi A4 2.0T Quattro S-Line
04' 325Ci
StreetTrixE4six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2003, 11:13 PM   #9
menace3054
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Houston
Posts: 413
My Ride: 2008 Altima Cpe
Send a message via AIM to menace3054
no just pop that sucker out
__________________
2000 328 CI. Bought feb 2000 for 42,300. Traded in April 1, 2005 for 7,500 :>( 140,000 miles R.I.P
menace3054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2003, 11:46 PM   #10
gazfatha323i
E46 Spartan
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 531
My Ride: 04 CB/IR M3
Send a message via AIM to gazfatha323i
thanks

thanks that answers my question
__________________

Carbon Black / IR ///M
gazfatha323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 12:21 AM   #11
fuschnicken
][D ][ ][V][ ][D
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,447
My Ride: Breyton 3
Send a message via AIM to fuschnicken Send a message via MSN to fuschnicken
Did you buy a new cluster just for the rings? I thought you could buy the rings separately.
__________________
fuschnicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 12:41 AM   #12
gazfatha323i
E46 Spartan
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 531
My Ride: 04 CB/IR M3
Send a message via AIM to gazfatha323i
yeah, but i got a good deal

I'll post pics when i get it and do the install.
__________________

Carbon Black / IR ///M
gazfatha323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use