E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2009, 04:38 PM   #1
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 258
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Adding new equipment to fusebox

Hi all - bit of a sticky issue here.

I'm having power/heated seats re-trimmed and I have just laid all the wiring in my car (Original BMW looms) in preparation so that when I drop the car off (03 Touring) they can do the rear seats and then just plug the fronts in.

The only part I couldn't finish was slotting in the Power and K-Bus connectors into the fuse box. Couldn't see any way to drop the fusebox down to get access to the correct slots. I have rotated the white tabs but gives nowhere near enough room.

This will be a real problem if I don't sort it before I drop the car off as I won't be able to adjust use the seats at all!

I have searched but there doesn't appear to be a detailed guide on how to drop the fuse box fully.

Help appreciated!
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-02-2009, 01:59 AM   #2
paraklas
OEM ///Member
 
paraklas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,961
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
It's because there's not a definite way to drop it. Once you undo the 2 white tabs, the box drops a bit and you can see how it's secured in the back, nothing much, 2 plastic open hinges. You can lift the rightmost part up so that the box is released from the hinge and then it will drop even more down allowing you plenty of access
__________________
http://www.argyrides.eu/makeyourownsig.jpg
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 02:44 AM   #3
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 258
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Cheers. I'll try that tonight!
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 03:56 AM   #4
paraklas
OEM ///Member
 
paraklas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,961
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
It took me some time until I take out of the hinges and even more time to put it back, at some point I thought I would break it, so be carefull, don't over-pull/push things. Oh and disconnect the battery first!!
__________________
http://www.argyrides.eu/makeyourownsig.jpg
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 05:02 AM   #5
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 258
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
How does the dealer do it if they have to fit stuff after the cars are delivered?

A guy on here has said he removed like 15+ screws to release the whole thing but that sounds like a lot stress.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 05:16 AM   #6
paraklas
OEM ///Member
 
paraklas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,961
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
When I added the module for autofolding mirrors I needed to get 2 lines from fusebox, 1 12v constant and 1 12v switched. I bought the fuse clamps from dealer, dropped the fusebox a bit like the way I explained above, pushed the fuse clamps from behind in an empty slot and that was it
__________________
http://www.argyrides.eu/makeyourownsig.jpg
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 06:37 AM   #7
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 258
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
What usually needs 'constant' and what needs 'switched?'

I have the correct pins from the BMW diagrams anyway I guess...
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 07:09 AM   #8
paraklas
OEM ///Member
 
paraklas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,961
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
Devices with memory usually require constant 12v such as radio, memory seats etc.
__________________
http://www.argyrides.eu/makeyourownsig.jpg
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 07:15 AM   #9
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 258
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Cool - thanks for the help - I'll let you know how I went.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 01:58 PM   #10
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 258
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
I got this sorted in the end with a lot of fiddling but I cannot figure out how to add K-Bus connections?

Could use some tips URGENTLY...
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
box, fuse, loom, power, retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use