E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-20-2009, 08:38 AM   #21
Autobot325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 839
My Ride: 2003 325i E46
Send a message via AIM to Autobot325i
i think its as simple as it can get...you dont splice the 02 sensor signal wire because it cuts off after the wire gets hot...or something along those line. making the 02sim non-functining
__________________
***NEW UPDATE***
1985 318i E30

Last edited by Autobot325i; 03-20-2009 at 09:55 AM.
Autobot325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 09:17 AM   #22
aggieE46
Keep it clean
 
aggieE46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Royse City
Posts: 8,037
My Ride: 03 Evo, 07 Passat
Send a message via AIM to aggieE46
Groovy, man. Thanks!

I wish I could do this with just the sensor harness, though. Not a fan of splicing into the main harness. I guess it has to be done, though.

Thanks for doing the testing on this
__________________
aggieE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 09:18 PM   #23
tinkwithanr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 726
My Ride: '00 323i + '75 2002
aggie,
maybe there is a way to get the connector that would be on the o2 sensor and just have bare wires you could splice into on that half of the harness? So basically instead of splicing into your original harness, you would have an 'extension cord' of sorts that you could plug in like your original o2 sensor, and just splice into the new wires?
__________________
Tinker Engineering - 2014

Mica - 2000 BMW 323i - The one that started it all
Fiona - 1975 BMW 2002 - The Definition of Project Creep
Heidi - 1988 BMW M5 - The piece of BMW history
Silvia - 2013 Subaru WRX - Stock, for now
tinkwithanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 09:49 PM   #24
tinkwithanr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 726
My Ride: '00 323i + '75 2002
Update: I have two old 02 sensors that I will butcher to steal the connections from. this way the factory wiring harness will remain untouched. I don't see how this wouldn't work but I'll pust up the results anyway
__________________
Tinker Engineering - 2014

Mica - 2000 BMW 323i - The one that started it all
Fiona - 1975 BMW 2002 - The Definition of Project Creep
Heidi - 1988 BMW M5 - The piece of BMW history
Silvia - 2013 Subaru WRX - Stock, for now
tinkwithanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:27 PM   #25
richyboycaldo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 890
My Ride: Mx5 300zx 240z 330c
do I need to buy 1 or 2 sims?
richyboycaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:29 PM   #26
Autobot325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 839
My Ride: 2003 325i E46
Send a message via AIM to Autobot325i
universal sim with dual output
__________________
***NEW UPDATE***
1985 318i E30
Autobot325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:38 PM   #27
richyboycaldo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 890
My Ride: Mx5 300zx 240z 330c
sweet I just bought it.
Why did you not use the white wire as supposed and used the other red instead?? another question: If you never cut the wires that means that its like a wire with technically "3" ends, but the black wire you do cut completely right? so what do you do with the other part?
Sorry I am confused I don't feel ready to do it myself and My car is healthy with no SES, I don't want to $%#$ up

Last edited by richyboycaldo; 04-10-2009 at 10:46 PM.
richyboycaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:41 PM   #28
Autobot325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 839
My Ride: 2003 325i E46
Send a message via AIM to Autobot325i
because that heater wire is not constantly on...the red one is

and as soon as the one suggested is used after a certain temp. it shuts off. the red is never off and feeds the sim at all time as long as the car is on.
__________________
***NEW UPDATE***
1985 318i E30
Autobot325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:50 PM   #29
richyboycaldo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 890
My Ride: Mx5 300zx 240z 330c
What color is the heater wire.?
tell me if I am wrong ok I am such a noob?. The only wire you DO NOT cut is the 12V red wire (or white), all the other ones you cut them and unite them with the 02 sim? seem so simple, but I just can't picture it my head, so probably its gonna be easier once I see the 02 sim live. by looking at this tread was the only reason why I bought my headers.

Last edited by richyboycaldo; 04-10-2009 at 10:55 PM.
richyboycaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:36 PM   #30
richyboycaldo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 890
My Ride: Mx5 300zx 240z 330c
anyone?
richyboycaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 02:56 PM   #31
tinkwithanr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 726
My Ride: '00 323i + '75 2002
The only wire you have to cut in the O2 sensor harness is the Black signal wire that takes the reading from the 02 sensor back through the harness to the ECU. The power for the sim comes from the other 12v wire by the fresh air intake, and the ground just goes to any electrical ground/bare metal.

Edit:
Do you have to ground to the ground wire in the 02 harness or can you just ground it anywhere in the car?
__________________
Tinker Engineering - 2014

Mica - 2000 BMW 323i - The one that started it all
Fiona - 1975 BMW 2002 - The Definition of Project Creep
Heidi - 1988 BMW M5 - The piece of BMW history
Silvia - 2013 Subaru WRX - Stock, for now
tinkwithanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 07:25 PM   #32
tinkwithanr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 726
My Ride: '00 323i + '75 2002
So I just finished the install. I cut a little hole in my box so I can see the green led lighting up, so I know that it's working. Now I just have to go drive around and make sure the check engine light doesn't come back on. So far so good though.

Oh and great DIY autobot, It was very easy to follow and helped a lot!

Edit:
Just drove around 50 miles and no check engine light or underlying codes. Now if I could just get ride of that pesky exhaust leak.....
__________________
Tinker Engineering - 2014

Mica - 2000 BMW 323i - The one that started it all
Fiona - 1975 BMW 2002 - The Definition of Project Creep
Heidi - 1988 BMW M5 - The piece of BMW history
Silvia - 2013 Subaru WRX - Stock, for now

Last edited by tinkwithanr; 04-18-2009 at 10:16 PM.
tinkwithanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 09:19 AM   #33
Rotha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,827
My Ride: N/A
any more problems now autobot?
__________________
LOL .. When a man opens a BMW door for his wife, it's either a new BMW car or a new wife.
Originally Posted by: bmw greensboro

Rotha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 09:22 AM   #34
Autobot325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 839
My Ride: 2003 325i E46
Send a message via AIM to Autobot325i
nope...been a while now seems to be working
__________________
***NEW UPDATE***
1985 318i E30
Autobot325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 10:20 AM   #35
richyboycaldo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 890
My Ride: Mx5 300zx 240z 330c
That that 2 that have great reliable results, cant wait for my SIM to arrive. I still feel totally insecure about it doing because of my lack of skills, but I'll give a try with you help guys.

Last edited by richyboycaldo; 04-24-2009 at 10:26 AM.
richyboycaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 10:46 AM   #36
Rotha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,827
My Ride: N/A
well it's safe to say now that you have gained my respect on this forum forever now. thanks dude. can't wait to have this off road
__________________
LOL .. When a man opens a BMW door for his wife, it's either a new BMW car or a new wife.
Originally Posted by: bmw greensboro

Rotha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 11:23 AM   #37
Autobot325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 839
My Ride: 2003 325i E46
Send a message via AIM to Autobot325i
lol...umm gee thanks

very straight forward...I wish I had pics to detail the install, instead I just had a bunch of m3 guys trying to explain it in words

yes, post back if you have issues with the install, will do my best to help
__________________
***NEW UPDATE***
1985 318i E30
Autobot325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 12:16 PM   #38
tinkwithanr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 726
My Ride: '00 323i + '75 2002
One thought I had during my install was, when your tapping into the o2 harness, to only cut the wires on the O2 sensor itself, as opposed to the OEM engine harness. It means that if your o2 sensor goes out, you'll have to re-splice your connections, but at the same time your bypassing the O2 anyway, so you probably won't ever have to replace that. Also your wiring harness for the car stays untouched, which is always nice.
__________________
Tinker Engineering - 2014

Mica - 2000 BMW 323i - The one that started it all
Fiona - 1975 BMW 2002 - The Definition of Project Creep
Heidi - 1988 BMW M5 - The piece of BMW history
Silvia - 2013 Subaru WRX - Stock, for now
tinkwithanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 12:41 PM   #39
DonovanM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 187
My Ride: Fern Green 328Ci
Great DIY. I'll definitely look at this again once I get headers for my car and uhh, turn it into a track machine

Edit: one question. Does using this still require the installation of the post-cat O2 sensor? Or can you just leave it the hole plugged and just splice in the wires for the simulator? My reading may fail me in this but, but I didn't see any mention of it...

Thanks!

Last edited by DonovanM; 04-24-2009 at 01:23 PM.
DonovanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 01:52 PM   #40
Autobot325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 839
My Ride: 2003 325i E46
Send a message via AIM to Autobot325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonovanM View Post
Great DIY. I'll definitely look at this again once I get headers for my car and uhh, turn it into a track machine

Edit: one question. Does using this still require the installation of the post-cat O2 sensor? Or can you just leave it the hole plugged and just splice in the wires for the simulator? My reading may fail me in this but, but I didn't see any mention of it...

Thanks!
you have two options one to leave the 02 sensor and run the 02 sim

2. take out the 02 sensor and run teh 02 sim with resistors also sold on the website.

i'm doing option 1 and plan to just tuck the post 02 sensor away somewhere when i get my A/F wideband gauge install.
__________________
***NEW UPDATE***
1985 318i E30
Autobot325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use