E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 51 votes, 4.82 average. Display Modes
Old 01-26-2013, 12:08 PM   #381
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 505
My Ride: 330iCA
It will not work, as the EWS Unit is different. So we were stuck again
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:33 PM   #382
karitammi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 37
My Ride: 325 (E46) Cabrio
^In which way different? With Motorola chip?
karitammi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:58 PM   #383
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 505
My Ride: 330iCA
EWS3.3 (E46) to EWS3.2 (E39...)

I donīt think 3.2 Emulator will work with 3.3
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 04:17 PM   #384
TrickTizzle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis/Milwaukee
Posts: 3,104
My Ride: 325i
Send a message via AIM to TrickTizzle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
TrickTizzle, I like your OE bumper

Glad this thread is alive again. Only now can I realize how much of a n00b I am.
EU2 DIY? Pfft.. that's childs play. I know nothing.
Thanks

And yes, EU2 is childs play. Lol
TrickTizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:05 PM   #385
HakenTT
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: gross deutsches reich USA
Posts: 526
My Ride: 323i with S54
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
EWS3.3 (E46) to EWS3.2 (E39...)

I donīt think 3.2 Emulator will work with 3.3
3.2 system uses one fixed code that sends to DME and never rolls a code.

The 3.3 system rolls codes, and rolls the codes all the time even after car is started, this is why it is much more complicated.

But looks like this russian company made emulators for ews 3.3, they advertised it for 150 euros . This is all I know. I spent few months digging trough MS42 and MS43 files and could not find boot section and I could not find the EWS delete in the software

Last edited by HakenTT; 01-27-2013 at 01:06 PM.
HakenTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:31 AM   #386
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 505
My Ride: 330iCA
you canīt delete the ews, you can just match it to an existing ews unit or virginize it completely.
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:34 AM   #387
HakenTT
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: gross deutsches reich USA
Posts: 526
My Ride: 323i with S54
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
you canīt delete the ews, you can just match it to an existing ews unit or virginize it completely.
I can't get clear answer. I bought used DME from ebay with exact same number as my original one. And it can't be aligned to my EWS. The used DME has to be virginised.
__________________
---------------------
Siemens tuning junkie
HakenTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:38 AM   #388
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 505
My Ride: 330iCA
Ms43?
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 02:49 AM   #389
karitammi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 37
My Ride: 325 (E46) Cabrio
Quote:
Originally Posted by HakenTT View Post
I can't get clear answer. I bought used DME from ebay with exact same number as my original one. And it can't be aligned to my EWS. The used DME has to be virginised.
What this means in practice? Would it work if you make 1:1 copy on whole 512 kb ROM? What I understood C167CR microprosessor has also internal ROM. If you haven't found boot sequece would it be there?
karitammi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:07 AM   #390
HakenTT
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: gross deutsches reich USA
Posts: 526
My Ride: 323i with S54
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
Ms43?
ja ja ja we are talking about E46. this is E46 forum and all E46 come with EWS 3.3

you only know MS43 so just tell us
HakenTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:50 AM   #391
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 505
My Ride: 330iCA
could have been MS45

youīve got PM

otherwise, copy that flash eeprom and try this way.
__________________
kind regards
Daniel


Last edited by daniel_f.; 01-28-2013 at 03:52 AM.
daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:41 AM   #392
_SIIM_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 325
HakenTT,ill try to use your 325ix dmf but all maps are terrible wrong,if I try change rev limiter and then flash new file into my car,it just not gonna start and all possible warning lights are on

Il link my original file here,maybe you gonna find little bit time to look at this?



http://www.speedyshare.com/DQ4NQ/200...-automatic.bin_nr_
_SIIM_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:55 AM   #393
_SIIM_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 325
...

Last edited by _SIIM_; 03-14-2013 at 06:20 AM.
_SIIM_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:39 PM   #394
karitammi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 37
My Ride: 325 (E46) Cabrio
I believe there is still work to be done for a good .xdf. None of I've found really worked with my .bin. How dod you do checksum? Good to find new active persons!
karitammi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 06:33 AM   #395
_SIIM_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 325
Heippa Helsinkista

Im just learning it right now,friend of mine have Winols must ask it.

I flashed my car few times but then it was just some wreck it does not start or anything,put the original fail in it and everything was normal again.
_SIIM_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 06:52 PM   #396
NumbaOneNewb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,732
My Ride: 2001 bmw 330ci
What you guys could do is get the dme amd ews unit used but it must come from the same car with same vin on both. Then fro there, you would have to rewrite mileage or vin, whatever that particular module requires (modules like lcm, dsc, gm aka central body electronics, and possibly more) using winkfp and/or pa soft. Or you dont have to its just those particular modules won't function. The car would at least run. The cluster can't be changed easily so you might get tamper dot or dont install it at all. If it requires to be installed im sure once you reinstall everything it'll all be ok. I think that's how it goes. hopefully i xan be of gelp. I just stumbled on to this thread.

I couldn't do this on my ews 3 but I believe it was either an ews 2 or perhaps whatever is prior to ews3, that I couls change the vin to. Wait, actually i think i was able to change the vin and mileage to my ews, its just that if i did so, my transponder coded to my ecu ews wouldn't allow me to start my car. Therefore it was pointless. Oh wait. Grrr. Ignore this bexause i forgot that the reason why you must have both is there is no known way to retrieve the rolling codes. Its almost impossible, so someone had told me.
__________________
Portland Metro: ECU updates, Euro tune, euro corner delete, air bag light, DSC light, cluster and any led color change, soldering work, transponders for keys, and all custom work related to computer or electronics.DIY AK90 A walk through on coding your mcu and transponders EWS3 How to make your own key (ak90 review)

Last edited by NumbaOneNewb; 03-19-2013 at 07:06 PM.
NumbaOneNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 06:56 PM   #397
NumbaOneNewb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,732
My Ride: 2001 bmw 330ci
One more thing for you people flashing your ecu. BMW placed a limit on how many times you can flash. Go over that amount..... Let's just say lol. You are screwed. I picked this up from the m3 ecu tuning they came up with. If this happena ro them I'm sure it can happen to us. There is a solution if you do lock up. It isn't an easy desolder resolder job. Be prepared though if you do go this route. They're attempting to try and unlock the limit because they say the coding can be changed to allow practically limitless flashes, that or maybe it was a chip that needed to be pulled off and recoded.
__________________
Portland Metro: ECU updates, Euro tune, euro corner delete, air bag light, DSC light, cluster and any led color change, soldering work, transponders for keys, and all custom work related to computer or electronics.DIY AK90 A walk through on coding your mcu and transponders EWS3 How to make your own key (ak90 review)

Last edited by NumbaOneNewb; 03-19-2013 at 07:01 PM.
NumbaOneNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 07:09 PM   #398
NumbaOneNewb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,732
My Ride: 2001 bmw 330ci
I need to buy a used ews 3 and just try it. However, I guess youre talking about the ecu. Yes you would need the matching ews for it to work and coding a transponder to match both of those which is easy. transponders only cost around $8.
__________________
Portland Metro: ECU updates, Euro tune, euro corner delete, air bag light, DSC light, cluster and any led color change, soldering work, transponders for keys, and all custom work related to computer or electronics.DIY AK90 A walk through on coding your mcu and transponders EWS3 How to make your own key (ak90 review)
NumbaOneNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 03:42 PM   #399
_SIIM_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 325
Are you lost or wrong section? dont understand anything what are you trying to explain

Limited numbers overwriting,so what? Bmw parts does not cost allmost nothing in here I can buy nice 2001-2003 year 330i coupe hmmm,lets sayd about 2000 us dollars or 1300 eur.

Is there are some known software which can calculate checksums automatically?

Yes winols but something else?

Last edited by _SIIM_; 03-20-2013 at 03:44 PM.
_SIIM_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 04:03 PM   #400
karitammi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 37
My Ride: 325 (E46) Cabrio
You don't loose the number of times to program if you uncheck IUF's in WinKFP. MTX electronics has indicated to do TunerPro checksum plugin soon http://www.mtx-electronics.com/automotive/page.php?25
karitammi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
custom tuning, dme tuning, flashing, kwp2000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use