E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 61 votes, 4.85 average. Display Modes
Old 09-21-2009, 02:06 PM   #161
BimmerDude18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DeLand Florida
Posts: 2,910
My Ride: 1998 528i
Most chargers are current controlled, there are some that are voltage regulated, basically you need a voltage regulated power supply...
__________________
-Tyler

1998 528i 5-speed Work in progress
1988 Toyota Pickup (4WD 5-speed) daily
2007 San Marino Blue 350z 6-speed sold
1996 328i 5-speed sold


www.e46nonM.com - www.precision-sport.com - www.flyingwindowtinters.com - www.techniquetuning.com
BimmerDude18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 10:12 PM   #162
raymond3080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brampton
Posts: 54
My Ride: 323CI
hmm so your saying that one of these cannot sustain a consistent voltage to allow a flash to occur? http://www.princessauto.com/shop-gar...eyword=charger

If thats the case what on earth am I going to use to do that?( or take apart?)
raymond3080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 06:15 AM   #163
ritos530i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Coast For now
Posts: 1,213
My Ride: 2004 E60 530i 6speed
Send a message via MSN to ritos530i Send a message via Yahoo to ritos530i Send a message via Skype™ to ritos530i
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymond3080 View Post
hmm so your saying that one of these cannot sustain a consistent voltage to allow a flash to occur? http://www.princessauto.com/shop-gar...eyword=charger

If thats the case what on earth am I going to use to do that?( or take apart?)
Nope this will not work. It is only rated for 12v and since it automatically adjust there is no way to control voltage.
The one i seen used is custom built from some old parts or something. I am sure you can find someone to build one for you.
__________________






530i E60 Custom Turbo/Nitrous (PSI_unknown)
ritos530i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 10:28 PM   #164
HakenTT
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: gross deutsches reich USA
Posts: 572
My Ride: 323i with S54
I use power adaptor from my old printer, it has 14v output so I junked the old printer and saved the power adaptor.
HakenTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 07:10 PM   #165
raymond3080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brampton
Posts: 54
My Ride: 323CI
hmm alright so ill have to figure that aspect out...anyways hows the software side coming along? Will we be able to flash this thing before winter?
raymond3080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 03:03 PM   #166
BimmerDude18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DeLand Florida
Posts: 2,910
My Ride: 1998 528i
The power supply is the easy part. I have 3 different RC car battery chargers, and I think all are current controlled. Power supplies will likely be the best option, although they have low current maxes usually, so I'd measure the draw of the ECU while flashing before I'd try one of those.

Alternators have voltage regulators on them that bleed off excess voltage from the alternator, I wonder how useful that could be coupled with say an 18V power supply.

When I have free time I'll dig through this, electronic's of this sort are fun.
__________________
-Tyler

1998 528i 5-speed Work in progress
1988 Toyota Pickup (4WD 5-speed) daily
2007 San Marino Blue 350z 6-speed sold
1996 328i 5-speed sold


www.e46nonM.com - www.precision-sport.com - www.flyingwindowtinters.com - www.techniquetuning.com
BimmerDude18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 03:11 PM   #167
ritos530i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Coast For now
Posts: 1,213
My Ride: 2004 E60 530i 6speed
Send a message via MSN to ritos530i Send a message via Yahoo to ritos530i Send a message via Skype™ to ritos530i
You can not use a battery charger to connect to the bench when flashing.
What I am describing looks like something out of Back to the Future. LOL
You basically have to build them yourself or have one built for you. There may be a company that builds them.
__________________






530i E60 Custom Turbo/Nitrous (PSI_unknown)
ritos530i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 09:42 PM   #168
HakenTT
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: gross deutsches reich USA
Posts: 572
My Ride: 323i with S54
I use a "printer" voltage supply, I trew away my old printer and the power supply adaptor to it is 14v with 625mA ampage, anywhere there 14 to 16v with 300mA to 1000mA will work.
Looks like for you guys it is not even easy to find power supply to flash it. They how could I even begin with this when you can't even go past the easy part.
HakenTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 09:55 PM   #169
ritos530i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Coast For now
Posts: 1,213
My Ride: 2004 E60 530i 6speed
Send a message via MSN to ritos530i Send a message via Yahoo to ritos530i Send a message via Skype™ to ritos530i
Quote:
Originally Posted by HakenTT View Post
I use a "printer" voltage supply, I trew away my old printer and the power supply adaptor to it is 14v with 625mA ampage, anywhere there 14 to 16v with 300mA to 1000mA will work.
Looks like for you guys it is not even easy to find power supply to flash it. They how could I even begin with this when you can't even go past the easy part.
If you want power supplies i can have them built just let me know.
My source is top secret but guarantee it's what you will need. LOL
__________________






530i E60 Custom Turbo/Nitrous (PSI_unknown)
ritos530i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 09:59 PM   #170
AWE46M302
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 56
My Ride: E46 M3
if you flash it correctly, the flash can be less then 90 seconds. You do not need to re-write the whole thing.
AWE46M302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 10:13 PM   #171
ritos530i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Coast For now
Posts: 1,213
My Ride: 2004 E60 530i 6speed
Send a message via MSN to ritos530i Send a message via Yahoo to ritos530i Send a message via Skype™ to ritos530i
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWE46M302 View Post
if you flash it correctly, the flash can be less then 90 seconds. You do not need to re-write the whole thing.
that's not the issue we are discussing. Every time the DME has to be flashed it what to be removed put on a Bench to ground the DME then apply a 14volt current to it before you can flash the DME. You can buy all everything you need ready to work from a kit however it doesn't come with the power supply which has to be built which ever method you choice as long as it supplies the 14volts.
Yeap all this for 90 seconds or so.
This is what makes the MS45 dme difficult to tune in my opinion because who the hell wants to go through this every time there is a remap needed. It's also the very same reason i added a AEM FIC to my setup.
__________________






530i E60 Custom Turbo/Nitrous (PSI_unknown)
ritos530i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 11:38 PM   #172
hexadecim8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 406
My Ride: '04 ///M3
annyways....... how about an update on the f'ing software???
__________________
hexadecim8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 12:00 AM   #173
raymond3080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brampton
Posts: 54
My Ride: 323CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexadecim8 View Post
annyways....... how about an update on the f'ing software???
Yes I need to run that 330 software... Hakken getting anywhere??
raymond3080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 12:35 AM   #174
BimmerDude18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DeLand Florida
Posts: 2,910
My Ride: 1998 528i
Quote:
Originally Posted by HakenTT View Post
I use a "printer" voltage supply, I trew away my old printer and the power supply adaptor to it is 14v with 625mA ampage, anywhere there 14 to 16v with 300mA to 1000mA will work.
Looks like for you guys it is not even easy to find power supply to flash it. They how could I even begin with this when you can't even go past the easy part.
I've got a 14V voltage controlled power supply sitting in front of me from something. I just don't trust power supplies that are rated for 1 amp to run a DME. Maybe it doesn't need much, but I'd want a 5 AMP capable power supply if I was spending money on something, and considering I have a lot of random electrical crap laying around (including a computer power supply I might try modding) I think I can have something together in terms of "instructions for creating one" very soon/easily.
__________________
-Tyler

1998 528i 5-speed Work in progress
1988 Toyota Pickup (4WD 5-speed) daily
2007 San Marino Blue 350z 6-speed sold
1996 328i 5-speed sold


www.e46nonM.com - www.precision-sport.com - www.flyingwindowtinters.com - www.techniquetuning.com
BimmerDude18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 01:00 AM   #175
raymond3080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brampton
Posts: 54
My Ride: 323CI
Sounds good BimmerDude....

Wow I just realized there are almost 14,000 views of this thread...but only 175 posts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BimmerDude18 View Post
I've got a 14V voltage controlled power supply sitting in front of me from something. I just don't trust power supplies that are rated for 1 amp to run a DME. Maybe it doesn't need much, but I'd want a 5 AMP capable power supply if I was spending money on something, and considering I have a lot of random electrical crap laying around (including a computer power supply I might try modding) I think I can have something together in terms of "instructions for creating one" very soon/easily.
raymond3080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 03:33 AM   #176
sjo328ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 154
My Ride: 2000 328Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymond3080 View Post
Wow I just realized there are almost 14,000 views of this thread...but only 175 posts?
That shows how many people are interested in this topic, and how few know anything about it.
__________________
2000 BMW 328Ci
CP 11.5:1 pistons
Schrick 264/248 cams
M54 crankshaft
Crower MaxiLight forged alloy connecting rods
Ferrea 1mm oversize intake and exhaust valves,
valve springs, and titanium spring retainers
Technik Stage 3 cylinder head (mild port and polish)
Technik tubular exhaust header
227 rwhp (265 crank hp est)

What's the point of having money if you don't have something worth wasting it on?
sjo328ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 10:37 PM   #177
HakenTT
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: gross deutsches reich USA
Posts: 572
My Ride: 323i with S54
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymond3080 View Post
Yes I need to run that 330 software... Hakken getting anywhere??
Dude you haven't even posted your stock dump!
HakenTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 10:43 PM   #178
raymond3080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brampton
Posts: 54
My Ride: 323CI
date Wed, Sep 2, 2009 at 10:19 AM
subject DME maps
mailed-by gmail.com


Thats when i sent it... in a email to your self...

Quote:
Originally Posted by HakenTT View Post
Dude you haven't even posted your stock dump!
raymond3080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 10:25 PM   #179
raymond3080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brampton
Posts: 54
My Ride: 323CI
Hellooo anyone out there?
raymond3080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 11:56 PM   #180
HakenTT
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: gross deutsches reich USA
Posts: 572
My Ride: 323i with S54
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymond3080 View Post
date Wed, Sep 2, 2009 at 10:19 AM
subject DME maps
mailed-by gmail.com


Thats when i sent it... in a email to your self...
I got one from you the MS52? Software 0110C6? Is that yours?
HakenTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
custom tuning, dme tuning, flashing, kwp2000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use