E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-23-2010, 09:13 AM   #61
sna77
OEM ///Member
 
sna77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 7,704
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by delmarco View Post
following your DIY right this minute.

Nice!

Steve
can you have the Intravee2, Sirius AND the CD Changer?

I know there is a rule of limits (2 max) for the slave cable of accessories off the CD Changer Data Cable when you have the CD53 Radio but is this the same for Nav?
Thanks
No CD changer. The Intravee takes the palce of the CD changer.

HOWEVER, the Intravee can accecpt other Aple devices, so you could possibly rig something up like that...
sna77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 06:57 AM   #62
RichardP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 304
My Ride: M5
Have a look at http://www.intravention.co.uk/forum/...p?topic=1109.0 to see some of the Intravee connectivity options.

I have something similar to this in my E39



The only difference is that I have 3 iPods (160Gb for My Music, 80Gb for Kids/'Guest' and a 60Gb just for Audio Books so I don't lose my place if I fancy a break) and 1 CD Changer.
RichardP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 11:36 PM   #63
delmarco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 6,303
My Ride: 330i
Send a message via ICQ to delmarco Send a message via Yahoo to delmarco
Richard, do you seriously have all this in your car?



my head just exploded! heck I think Steve's head just exploded!!

My question is would the recently released Intravee Switch take the place of your KCA-410c to allow me to add just the CHA-S634?
I want to finally re-add MP3 CD playback to my car.





__________________




VISIT MY GARAGE TO SEE ALL MY MODS:

http://directory.e46fanatics.com/use...rMod&UcId=7917

Last edited by delmarco; 12-09-2011 at 11:46 PM.
delmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:36 PM   #64
RichardP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 304
My Ride: M5
Actually, that's my old car, an E46 330d touring. My current E39 M5 has a slightly different setup comprising :

Intravee

TUA-T100DAB
2 x KCA-400c
DHA-S690 DVD Changer
MHA-S670 MD Changer
KCA-620m USB Interface
3 x KCA-420i iPod interfaces. One for my music (lives in the car), one for Audio Books (also lives in the car) and one connection for a 'Guest' iPod or iPhone.

So it's more like



Just replace the CHA-S634 with the DHA-S690 and the CHA-S624 with another KCA-420i.

The KCA-620m does not support hard disk drives, not enough power, so is only really usefull for the odd track downloaded while on the go to a USB stick.
RichardP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:38 PM   #65
RichardP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 304
My Ride: M5
Oh, and to answer your question, yes, you could use the Intravee switch to allow an iPod and CHA-S634 (or any Alpine AI-Net Changer).
RichardP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:38 PM   #66
delmarco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 6,303
My Ride: 330i
Send a message via ICQ to delmarco Send a message via Yahoo to delmarco
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardP View Post
Oh, and to answer your question, yes, you could use the Intravee switch to allow an iPod and CHA-S634 (or any Alpine AI-Net Changer).
Richard,
Is V6.02 worth it or is it still buggy?

I have a really old version?

__________________




VISIT MY GARAGE TO SEE ALL MY MODS:

http://directory.e46fanatics.com/use...rMod&UcId=7917
delmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:34 AM   #67
delmarco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 6,303
My Ride: 330i
Send a message via ICQ to delmarco Send a message via Yahoo to delmarco
Intravee 2 updated and running V 6.02 w/ i-Bus controller!!!!



Thanks RichardP and SNA77







__________________




VISIT MY GARAGE TO SEE ALL MY MODS:

http://directory.e46fanatics.com/use...rMod&UcId=7917

Last edited by delmarco; 12-16-2011 at 10:48 PM.
delmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:00 PM   #68
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Why would one want a cd changer (even if it reads mp3) these days rather than a big usb stick? It is cool that you can daisy chain so many devices with the intravee though.
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 01:02 PM   #69
mko9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 94
My Ride: '04 330i ZHP
Where do I plug this in?

I have an '04 ZHP with a completely stock system. I have no cd changer, no Sirius, no nothing. I don't see where I should be plugging in the IV2. All of you who have posted pictures have much more elaborate systems. Attached is a pic of my system. Can someone give me a couple pointers? I don't want to start randomly disassembling things.

Thanks

NOTE: I have already removed the empty slot where you guys are mounting your iPod. Otherwise, everything is as it was.

__________________
Mike

'04 BMW 330i ZHP
'08 Audi TT Roadster
'13 Land Rover LR4
mko9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 02:11 PM   #70
sna77
OEM ///Member
 
sna77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 7,704
My Ride: BMW
there are a bunch of cords wrapped up tucked behind the radio. Unwrap the cords, 2 connectors in there plug straight into the IV2. They are the CD changer cables.
sna77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 04:52 PM   #71
mko9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 94
My Ride: '04 330i ZHP
Like those reddish-brown cables you can see peeking out there? I'll have to take a poke around during daylight hours.

Thanks
__________________
Mike

'04 BMW 330i ZHP
'08 Audi TT Roadster
'13 Land Rover LR4

Last edited by mko9; 01-04-2012 at 01:49 PM.
mko9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 02:54 AM   #72
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by mko9 View Post
Like those reddish-brown cables you can see peeking out there? I'll have to take a pomke around during daylight hours.

Thanks
No, they cd changer cables will be wrapped/bundled up in black fabric and tucked away/down somewhere behind all the units. Probably near the metal of the fender somewhere.
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 06:16 PM   #73
diogogl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Coimbra
Posts: 11
My Ride: BMW E46 320D MTECH2
ibus log

Does someone have an ibus log file from a car with intravee 2 installed?

Thanks.
diogogl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 06:31 PM   #74
diogogl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Coimbra
Posts: 11
My Ride: BMW E46 320D MTECH2
Does someone who has intravee 2 installed can share an navcoder ibus log?
diogogl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 06:32 PM   #75
diogogl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Coimbra
Posts: 11
My Ride: BMW E46 320D MTECH2
Sorry for the duplicate question.
diogogl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 03:02 PM   #76
mko9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 94
My Ride: '04 330i ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by mko9 View Post
I poked aroundin the trunk today without success. The only loose connection I can find is in that ziptied little bundle, but it is the wrong style. BTW, WFT is that bundle?? That definitely does not look OEM. If the previous owner had something else in there that he removed before selling the car, I may not have the CD changer cable.

__________________
Mike

'04 BMW 330i ZHP
'08 Audi TT Roadster
'13 Land Rover LR4
mko9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 04:02 AM   #77
RichardP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 304
My Ride: M5
Looks like a converter from the CD Changer to an Aux input to me, in which case it will be using the 3 and 6 pin connectors you need for the Intravee. When you press the MODE key do you get the CD Changer source on the monitor?
RichardP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 03:04 PM   #78
NewUser68
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2
My Ride: BMW330xi E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardP View Post
Have a look at http://www.intravention.co.uk/forum/...p?topic=1109.0 to see some of the Intravee connectivity options.

I have something similar to this in my E39



The only difference is that I have 3 iPods (160Gb for My Music, 80Gb for Kids/'Guest' and a 60Gb just for Audio Books so I don't lose my place if I fancy a break) and 1 CD Changer.
Hi,
I am more interested with the USB HDD connection than plugging iPOD. Does your schema means that connecting USB HDD to KCA-620m which is connected to IV2, will let me browse/search/listen music stored in my USB HDD? So, I only need to buy KCA-620m and IV2.
Thanks.
NewUser68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:20 AM   #79
RichardP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 304
My Ride: M5
The KCA-620m does allow connection of USB mass storage class devices such as USB memory sticks and in theory hard disc drives. However, almost all HDD require more power then the KCA-620m provides, so you can't use them without an external power source.

More importantly Alpine seriously missed the mark with the KCA-620m, it's a very poorly implemented device with many serious limitations, here are a couple :

- Always starts playing the file that was first copied to the USB device on power up, you have to re-select what you want to listen to all the time.
- Limited to 1024 track in total on the device.
- Takes between 30 and 60 seconds to read the content of the attached USB device on power up, source selection or insertion of a new USB device.
- Truncates the last couple of seconds of every track, probably due to miscalculation of the ID3 data.
- Folder and file search is limited to 256 items, probably not so much of an issue given the 1024 total file limit.
RichardP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:31 PM   #80
NewUser68
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2
My Ride: BMW330xi E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardP View Post
The KCA-620m does allow connection of USB mass storage class devices such as USB memory sticks and in theory hard disc drives. However, almost all HDD require more power then the KCA-620m provides, so you can't use them without an external power source.

More importantly Alpine seriously missed the mark with the KCA-620m, it's a very poorly implemented device with many serious limitations, here are a couple :

- Always starts playing the file that was first copied to the USB device on power up, you have to re-select what you want to listen to all the time.
- Limited to 1024 track in total on the device.
- Takes between 30 and 60 seconds to read the content of the attached USB device on power up, source selection or insertion of a new USB device.
- Truncates the last couple of seconds of every track, probably due to miscalculation of the ID3 data.
- Folder and file search is limited to 256 items, probably not so much of an issue given the 1024 total file limit.
Ok, thanks.
I better go with the solution using ipod even i'm not a i-stuff fan...
Thanks all for all your posts.
NewUser68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use