E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2013, 06:36 PM   #1
straight_beamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 789
My Ride: 2000 bmw 323i
Ebay headers precat o2 install

Hi just a quick question, ive been curious what is the best way to do the pre cat o2 sensor install with ebay headers? Easy to access from above like with stock or do i have to put it on stands and go at it like a post o2 diy?

Thanks guys sorry im a noob
__________________
straight_beamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 01-07-2013, 09:02 PM   #2
Mortification1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles,CA
Posts: 100
My Ride: 00 323ci or i?
From what I know both sensors are at the bottom or middle of header. Can't access from top or even change them since the headers are so close to each other that its impossible. I just did both mine and I had to drop headers. Doing one is messed up be prepared to just change both.
Mortification1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 06:38 PM   #3
straight_beamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 789
My Ride: 2000 bmw 323i
Well thats crap
__________________
straight_beamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:27 PM   #4
straight_beamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 789
My Ride: 2000 bmw 323i
Anyone else verify that i have to pull headers or weld in o2 sensor?
__________________
straight_beamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:10 PM   #5
straight_beamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 789
My Ride: 2000 bmw 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortification1 View Post
From what I know both sensors are at the bottom or middle of header. Can't access from top or even change them since the headers are so close to each other that its impossible. I just did both mine and I had to drop headers. Doing one is messed up be prepared to just change both.
Anyone else agree?
__________________
straight_beamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:59 PM   #6
Mortification1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles,CA
Posts: 100
My Ride: 00 323ci or i?
Note this is only on the eBay headers. Look up some pix on eBay and judge for yourself.
Mortification1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 04:42 PM   #7
straight_beamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 789
My Ride: 2000 bmw 323i
Im just getting mufflerman to inspect and weld in the bungs if necessary
__________________
straight_beamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 05:30 PM   #8
oAllElseFailo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palos Verdes
Posts: 578
My Ride: 328Ci
My guy had to actually cut the bungs are relocate them or the headers wouldn't even go in, then after relocating them, the sensors wouldn't even fit lol so whatever!
__________________
oAllElseFailo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 09:25 PM   #9
straight_beamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 789
My Ride: 2000 bmw 323i
Welding them in it is lol. I have new bungs anyways
__________________
straight_beamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use