E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2015, 06:06 PM   #1
lavish619
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 788
My Ride: 325CI
Aux input install trouble, 01' w/ nav. Help!

My car -2001 330ci, with cassette/nav head unit (BN53) and 6 disc changer in trunk too. This what my head unit and trunk setup look like. I believe I have the 17 pin connector beings that their were 17 pins numbered on the connector pictured.

Edit* only allowed one of my pics to upload for some reason which really sucks.

I purchased a 3 wire oem aux input cable online,
and my issue as that it's for e46 with nav 2002 and newer. After removing my head unit I was surprised to see I had no pre-wired harness to connect too...

My question is where Exactly do I put the 3 pins from my new aux input cord? I've searched a bit and I believe I will replace some existing pins from my 17 pin connector in the trunk, if that's correct can anyone tell me which PIN numbers I replace?

Thanks in advance - Kory
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	138.7 KB
ID:	595942  
__________________
Photobucket

Last edited by lavish619; 04-04-2015 at 06:24 PM. Reason: Pics didn't upload
lavish619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 04-04-2015, 06:18 PM   #2
lavish619
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 788
My Ride: 325CI
Here's 17 pin connector in trunk
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	124.5 KB
ID:	595943  
__________________
Photobucket
lavish619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 06:28 PM   #3
lavish619
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 788
My Ride: 325CI
Here's my new aux input cord purchased..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	125.8 KB
ID:	595948  
__________________
Photobucket
lavish619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 07:04 PM   #4
lavish619
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 788
My Ride: 325CI
__________________
Photobucket
lavish619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 03:48 PM   #5
lavish619
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 788
My Ride: 325CI
Is it even possible to add aux to my 01' nav system using this aux input cord?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	124.2 KB
ID:	596056  
__________________
Photobucket
lavish619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 11:18 PM   #6
lavish619
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 788
My Ride: 325CI
Full trunk pic - 6 disc cd changer, hk amp, nav and radio tuner I believe..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	118.1 KB
ID:	596129  
__________________
Photobucket
lavish619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 06:46 PM   #7
markusmarkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,981
My Ride: 2001 330Ci
The only way is to buy a later head unit. I installed a DICE unit for my 2001 330Ci. It hooks up to the CD changer cables. Note, there are 2 cables for an interface device like a DICE.
markusmarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use