E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2009, 12:56 AM   #1
baybimmer14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HWD, ca
Posts: 60
My Ride: old:323i new:128i
Exclamation iphone jailbreak and unlock (tmobile) question [HELP]

I bought a iphone 3G 3.0 from a buddy yesterday and it was reset to factory settings so when I came home:
- I jailbroke it with redsn0w
- then unlocked it with repo666 so I could use my tmobile service and it rebooted.
-Then i installed installous from appulous. added two games. everything going great.
-Then I decided to add mms for tmobile and used what i read online by adding the wap.voicestream stuff etc. and then it ask to restart and i did by sliding the power off button

THEN THE PROBLEM
after i did that it kept going into recovery mode leaving me no choice but to restore it all over again

then i did all of the above once again (exact same) thinking it was bad luck first try but same results.

now im wondering that you cannot restart/reset jailbroken iphones? what did i do wrong or what should i do. Im at the third try my phone is restored and i want to jailbreak again but what if one day my iphone freezes so i cant reset otherwise lose all my data again? because i heard its not good to use a backup when starting with a fresh restored iphone again.

help me outtttt. TIA.

Last edited by baybimmer14; 09-07-2009 at 01:18 AM.
baybimmer14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 01:15 AM   #2
downwithbrown7
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fayetteville N.C.
Posts: 500
My Ride: BMW M3 Droptop
my cousin did mine for me
this is just a bump for you btw
__________________
downwithbrown7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 01:52 AM   #3
baybimmer14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HWD, ca
Posts: 60
My Ride: old:323i new:128i
thanks bro. im real confused
baybimmer14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 01:56 AM   #4
Sneaky
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,949
My Ride: Fixie
try the exact same thing on a different computer. I ran into the same things before, I actually tried about 3 times but it didn't work. then I tried on my work computer and I had no problems. I think it has something to do with the USB connection on older computers.
__________________
THE OFFICIAL BLACK SEDAN THREAD because Nothing breaks necks like a Black BMW.

Sig by So Lowww
Pictures I take
OVOxo till we overdose
Sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 02:11 AM   #5
baybimmer14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HWD, ca
Posts: 60
My Ride: old:323i new:128i
i use my laptop with vista home premium so i should use my old desktop with windows xp?
baybimmer14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 02:11 AM   #6
Sneaky
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,949
My Ride: Fixie
try it, it wont hurt.
__________________
THE OFFICIAL BLACK SEDAN THREAD because Nothing breaks necks like a Black BMW.

Sig by So Lowww
Pictures I take
OVOxo till we overdose
Sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 02:28 AM   #7
baybimmer14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HWD, ca
Posts: 60
My Ride: old:323i new:128i
so your saying that when you restart/reset your iphone with the sleep/wake and home button, it reset/restarts like normal? mines goes into recovery mode, everything else besides that worked fine =/
baybimmer14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 04:11 AM   #8
baybimmer14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HWD, ca
Posts: 60
My Ride: old:323i new:128i
okay so far with trial and error

i jailbroke it, restarted it. fine
installed cydia, restarted it. fine
unlocked to tmobile, restarted it. fine
added mms to network settings, restarted it. fine.

so i tried to install the mobileinstallation patch that is required with installous.
and that was the problem. I restarted and that caused it. I only put the mobinst patch so i could install a cracked ipa game into itunes as shown in this site:

http://www.hackint0sh.org/f127/54836.htm
(so i wouldnt have to put installous if it was the potential cause of all this)

and restarted and that caused it. but i want jailbroken apps, so is there any other program aside from installous and mobile patch?

Last edited by baybimmer14; 09-07-2009 at 04:18 AM.
baybimmer14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 04:29 AM   #9
Sneaky
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,949
My Ride: Fixie
mine worked fine, I love the TomTom app
__________________
THE OFFICIAL BLACK SEDAN THREAD because Nothing breaks necks like a Black BMW.

Sig by So Lowww
Pictures I take
OVOxo till we overdose
Sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 04:41 AM   #10
baybimmer14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HWD, ca
Posts: 60
My Ride: old:323i new:128i
wow how'd you get the tomtom app?
baybimmer14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 08:38 AM   #11
Brar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 5,118
My Ride: e39 m5
Send a message via AIM to Brar
Quote:
Originally Posted by baybimmer14 View Post
okay so far with trial and error

i jailbroke it, restarted it. fine
installed cydia, restarted it. fine
unlocked to tmobile, restarted it. fine
added mms to network settings, restarted it. fine.

so i tried to install the mobileinstallation patch that is required with installous.
and that was the problem. I restarted and that caused it. I only put the mobinst patch so i could install a cracked ipa game into itunes as shown in this site:

http://www.hackint0sh.org/f127/54836.htm
(so i wouldnt have to put installous if it was the potential cause of all this)

and restarted and that caused it. but i want jailbroken apps, so is there any other program aside from installous and mobile patch?
the same thing happened to me when I wasn't using the right version of the mobileinstall
__________________
Brar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 05:12 PM   #12
baybimmer14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HWD, ca
Posts: 60
My Ride: old:323i new:128i
okay finally fixed it. the mobileinstallation file was the issue. i instead downloaded the cydia mobile sync 3.0 and that fixed the issue and now i just dl cracked apps and sync into itunes. sweet anyone know where i can DL the tomtom app? its not on appulous
baybimmer14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 06:15 PM   #13
Brar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 5,118
My Ride: e39 m5
Send a message via AIM to Brar
god damn... no credit... see if I help you bastards again
__________________
Brar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 08:22 PM   #14
baybimmer14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HWD, ca
Posts: 60
My Ride: old:323i new:128i
hahaha no i fixed it before i even saw your post and i didnt add a diff version of mobile installation, i just put app sync 3.0. thanks for input anyways, hopefully this thread can help another fanatic someday.
baybimmer14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use