E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 40 votes, 4.80 average.
Old 07-25-2010, 03:36 PM   #421
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
These are all installation issues and have nothing to do with the dynavin, first mistake, if you have oem nav you need the 5m fakra harness..... Im going to have to try REAL hard to be nice.....your vendor should have known this and should have told you this..... Click the "want dynavin" link in my sig and you will see info about it in my first post.

You need to get the correct harness and then try again, it will fix almost all your problems.....and then your installer needs to set your amp gains properly to get rid of the alternator noise.

I dont intend to be mean, but from your post it looks like almost everyhing was done wrong.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 05:28 PM   #422
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
oh, and to keep it from being too annoying untill you get it installed correctly, turn down your amp gains, A LOT.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 10:26 AM   #423
budfox4life
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 273
My Ride: intexcalc
Send a message via Yahoo to budfox4life
Jeff - thank you very much for the quick responses. I have placed an order for the Fakra 5 harness and will be turning town the gain tonight after work. I really wish the seller I got my Dynavin from (...ends in "za") had taken the time to determine which harness to send me so I wouldn't have wasted 6 hours at the installer on Saturday and now have a semi-functioning head-unit...

I would strongly recommend anyone considering going Dynavin only deal with Jeff ... and I have not received anything from him to say that!
__________________
budfox4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 11:08 AM   #424
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by budfox4life View Post
Jeff - thank you very much for the quick responses. I have placed an order for the Fakra 5 harness and will be turning town the gain tonight after work. I really wish the seller I got my Dynavin from (...ends in "za") had taken the time to determine which harness to send me so I wouldn't have wasted 6 hours at the installer on Saturday and now have a semi-functioning head-unit...

I would strongly recommend anyone considering going Dynavin only deal with Jeff ... and I have not received anything from him to say that!


thank you!....and your welcome!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 07-26-2010 at 11:09 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 03:47 PM   #425
Alex323Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Huntington Beach -Surf City USA
Posts: 17,111
My Ride: M3 & 323Ci (sold)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Alex.....so you are using the "larger" of the two antenna connections and the adapters to do it....Most of the antenna info to be found when searching seems to imply that you need to power the antenna but seems you are not, you are just using adapters, if you get good reception this way, things just got simpler. I think maybe all that powered antenna info is only relevant to those who did the oem business HU upgrade.... In this case the 40-vw10 might be the right adapter after all....


Edit: I went back and dug through the old original thread....saw your posts....saw my posts....it seems that what you have there is a pretty decent workaround that doesnt require powering the antenna.....

I looked at your setup with the two adapters....then I went to the shelf and got this....



this is it, isnt it? But all in one piece, right? Have we all been making this much harder than it really is???????
Looks like it from photo. sorry for not responding earlier. this thread is so busy that i have it set to weekly notification instead of daily.
i think they also have one like that that's amplified too if not mistaken? i even think in some of the european dynavin posts they send that adapter out??
__________________
OE CSL WHEELS - OE CSL BRAKES - OE AUTOFLD MIRRORS - CSL TRUNK - CSL DIFFUSER - AA TUNE - AA PULLEYS - AS 40% SSK - BILSTEIN PSS9s
CF CSL LIP - NAVI - BMWPERF CF STRUT BAR - BMW GROUP N MNTS - GRUPPE M CF INTAKE - SUPERSPRINT - UUC BRKLINES, TRANS, RTABs - H&R SWAYS - 4.10 M-SPORT DIFF
Alex323Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 04:48 PM   #426
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
so you are not running any power to your antenna, correct?

So now we know that the powered one works, but im wondering if we can save everyone money and do the non powered one in a single part (like the one in my above pic) and still get good results....

This entire antenna issue is as clear as mud.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 07-26-2010 at 04:50 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 06:02 PM   #427
miiikey31
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: socal
Posts: 163
My Ride: 00 BMW 323CI Coupe
Hey jeffb325,
you seem to be the dynavin guru of the forum. I recently installed my dynavin unit and it seems I have a few problems with it and I have no idea how to fix it.
I would greatly appreciate it if I could have you input on things. I have a 2000 BMW 323Ci btw.

1. Radio signal is very weak, but for some reason when I cover the conection between the antenna and the radio adapter. The signal is very clear. Do I need to purchase a better radio antenna adapter?

2. The box SY8 has some sort of 3.5mm aux output. I think it read in the forums its for the steering weel control, which mine isnt functioning. How would I go on installing that?

3. When I plug my iPod/iPhone unit into the ipod cable. System & iPod goes crazy and connect/disconnects instantaneously. The connection is very unstable, is there something wrong there? I made sure all the wires were connected properly.

4. The USB cable input (DVD & GPS) also acts up. I plugged a micro usb data cable to charge my cell, but every time i plug the cable to my phone, the dynavin restarts for as long as the cable is connected to my phone.

Thanks in Advance,
Michael
miiikey31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 06:26 PM   #428
miiikey31
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: socal
Posts: 163
My Ride: 00 BMW 323CI Coupe
nvm the first 2 questions since it was already answered. That message was originally for jeff himself, but since others were asking about it. He told me to post it here.
miiikey31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 10:39 PM   #429
mthreezycrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 594
My Ride: ///M3
anyone had their unit's buttons not light up or their steering wheel control not work? these are problem i am having. the sy8 box is connected and everything, and the orange wire for the light is connected to the orange wire from the bimmer. im so confused
__________________
-Aria

mthreezycrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 11:32 PM   #430
mthreezycrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 594
My Ride: ///M3
hey jeff, the lighting wire is the orange one right? if i check the voltage and it has nothing what do you guess the problem might be? plus do you think any of this has to do with the fact that I had OEM nav? do I need the fakra cable since i already installed and everything works except for the lights and SWC ?
__________________
-Aria

mthreezycrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 11:36 PM   #431
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by miiikey31 View Post
Hey jeffb325,
you seem to be the dynavin guru of the forum. I recently installed my dynavin unit and it seems I have a few problems with it and I have no idea how to fix it.
I would greatly appreciate it if I could have you input on things. I have a 2000 BMW 323Ci btw.

3. When I plug my iPod/iPhone unit into the ipod cable. System & iPod goes crazy and connect/disconnects instantaneously. The connection is very unstable, is there something wrong there? I made sure all the wires were connected properly.

4. The USB cable input (DVD & GPS) also acts up. I plugged a micro usb data cable to charge my cell, but every time i plug the cable to my phone, the dynavin restarts for as long as the cable is connected to my phone.

Thanks in Advance,
Michael
#3: my 32gb 1st gen ipod touch has always done this when its full, I have no idea why, If I only partialy load the ipod it works fine, if I fill to the brim it things get flaky.....my nano works fine, my 2 iphones work fine.....tried an old school 80gb classic, it worked fine. Go figure....

#4: dont plug your phone into the mini usb on the front, its a data port for music and media. I charge my iphone off the GPS USB, but your results may vary. They are not really intended for charging so consider it a bonus if you can use them for charging.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mthreezycrazy View Post
anyone had their unit's buttons not light up or their steering wheel control not work? these are problem i am having. the sy8 box is connected and everything, and the orange wire for the light is connected to the orange wire from the bimmer. im so confused
If you are 100% sure that everything is hooked up right and things still are not working right you may have a warranty issue on your hands, check the voltage on the lighting wire and report back. If you cant figure it out, contact your vendor....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:01 AM   #432
mthreezycrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 594
My Ride: ///M3
ok so the Fakra cable will not have anything to do with this issue? because for a little while I thought I might have to order it but I dont know if that is the case since everything else other than the lights and SWC is working fine.
__________________
-Aria

mthreezycrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 05:48 AM   #433
cashie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 118
My Ride: BMW E46 320Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthreezycrazy View Post
ok so the Fakra cable will not have anything to do with this issue? because for a little while I thought I might have to order it but I dont know if that is the case since everything else other than the lights and SWC is working fine.
If you have the factory nav you will have the symptoms you are reporting (no lighting etc) and you will need the 5m Fakra cable..
cashie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 07:00 AM   #434
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthreezycrazy View Post
ok so the Fakra cable will not have anything to do with this issue? because for a little while I thought I might have to order it but I dont know if that is the case since everything else other than the lights and SWC is working fine.
As mentioned, if you're car had the factory nav. then you need the 5m Fakra cable
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:07 PM   #435
newspec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nz
Posts: 78
My Ride: Mspec 325i 2001
I am in the process of getting mine (on the wait list), So am trying to gather all information i can at present. I pretty much have only one more question to ask. Mine is a 2001 325i , It did not come with the multi function controls but i did the retrofit and put them in which gives me control over my oem business cd head unit and cruise control, these all work fine and the only buttons that don't do anything is obviously the bluetooth ones because the car never come with it. I see mentioned a sy8 box for the steering wheel controls, Is this a box behind the radio unit ??, Never had mine out so don't know whats behind there. Does the Dynavin plug into this ??, Will I be able to utilize the bluetooth function on the wheel once the unit turns up (it will be the latest one).

Thanks guys
newspec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:10 PM   #436
mthreezycrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 594
My Ride: ///M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by cashie View Post
If you have the factory nav you will have the symptoms you are reporting (no lighting etc) and you will need the 5m Fakra cable..

ok so far i have hard wired everything so you are saying i must by the fakra cable and then hardwire all my cables using that?
__________________
-Aria

mthreezycrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:27 PM   #437
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by newspec View Post
I am in the process of getting mine (on the wait list), So am trying to gather all information i can at present. I pretty much have only one more question to ask. Mine is a 2001 325i , It did not come with the multi function controls but i did the retrofit and put them in which gives me control over my oem business cd head unit and cruise control, these all work fine and the only buttons that don't do anything is obviously the bluetooth ones because the car never come with it. I see mentioned a sy8 box for the steering wheel controls, Is this a box behind the radio unit ??, Never had mine out so don't know whats behind there. Does the Dynavin plug into this ??, Will I be able to utilize the bluetooth function on the wheel once the unit turns up (it will be the latest one).

Thanks guys
The sy8 box comes with the dynavin and plugs into the dynavin harness and the dynavin harness plugs into the factory wiring....in other words, the circuit that carries the steeing wheel control signals is in the factory radio harness...the sy8 box translates the bmw signal into something the dynavin can understand....so if your steering wheel stereo controls work with your oem radio, they should work fine with the dynavin.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mthreezycrazy View Post
ok so far i have hard wired everything so you are saying i must by the fakra cable and then hardwire all my cables using that?
EDIT....PMed
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 07-27-2010 at 12:52 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:42 PM   #438
newspec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nz
Posts: 78
My Ride: Mspec 325i 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
The sy8 box comes with the dynavin and plugs into the dynavin harness and the dynavin harness plugs into the factory wiring....in other words, the circuit that carries the steeing wheen control signals is in the factory radio harness...the sy8 box translates the bmw signal into something the dynavin can understand....so if your steering wheel stereo controls work with your oem radio, they should work fine with the dynavin.
Nice thats what i wanted to hear , Thanks for that Jeff.
newspec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:03 PM   #439
mthreezycrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 594
My Ride: ///M3
i am going to explain my situation to you guys as well as i can to see what i need to do and to see if i need the fakra cable. My car originally had oem nav and then the previous owner pulled it out (God knows why). So I do not have the original harness up front. So what we had to do was hardwire all the dynavin cables by cutting them from the dynavin harness and just tape and twist them one by one to the wires that are in front of my car. So now everything works except the SWC controls and the backlight for the buttons. Will getting the Fakra cable and linking it to the back fix both of these problems? Or could you give me another fix? Here are some pictures, Thanks in advance:

here is the orange (apparent illumination wire) hook up as of now : http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...r/IMG_0308.jpg

here is the sy8 hookup as of right now (note the white wire) :

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...r/IMG_0310.jpg

here are the extra wires up front ( there is also an extra red wire too, because there were two for some reason)

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...r/IMG_0311.jpg

here is the stuff in the trunk:

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...r/IMG_0318.jpg

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...r/IMG_0321.jpg

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...r/IMG_0322.jpg

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...r/IMG_0319.jpg

I dont know if this makes a difference but i have a sub and no hk amp.
__________________
-Aria

mthreezycrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:20 PM   #440
m3collins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 415
My Ride: 2002 Carbon Black M3
Radio came in a day early today. Installing tomorrow as I took the day off just to do this.....lol

Oh mthreezycrazy your links don't work.
m3collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use