E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 40 votes, 4.80 average.
Old 07-28-2010, 02:34 PM   #461
mthreezycrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 594
My Ride: ///M3
ill call him to see which pin it is again. so for the extension wire that connects to the white one it doesnt have to be any special type of wire? it just needs to be same thickness or so? In addition, would you think if i linked up the orange illumination wire to my cigarette lighter l.e.d it would make the buttons turn on?
__________________
-Aria


Last edited by mthreezycrazy; 07-28-2010 at 02:37 PM.
mthreezycrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 02:38 PM   #462
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
any similar wire will do, and yes, I do think that if you hooked up your illumination wire to the cig lighter lighting wire it would work.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 02:39 PM   #463
mthreezycrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 594
My Ride: ///M3
ok thanks! hopefully i can get this figured out today!
__________________
-Aria

mthreezycrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 04:36 PM   #464
m3collins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 415
My Ride: 2002 Carbon Black M3
Its pin 9. On the Fakra the wire is a pinkish color. On the regular harness it's white.

My steering wheel controls work and work well. Also my Navi was in Italian...that was fun finding the menu for english but I did. Now I have one last issue......Navi thinks I'm in Houston Tx for some reason. I'm all the way in Myrtle Beach SC!
m3collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 05:43 PM   #465
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
the nav probably doesnt see the antenna, in the igo menu, go to the second page and select GPS.....it will probably show that you dont have an antenna, you should see "auto detect" in the lower right. press it and let it run, it should find the antenna and you should be set. If not, double check your connections on the back of the unit
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 08:12 PM   #466
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
okay guys, im going out of town for a few days....i hope you guys get everything worked out! Ill be back monday.

Good luck!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 08:34 PM   #467
carcus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mountain Roads
Posts: 5,560
My Ride: 2006 BMW M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
okay guys, im going out of town for a few days....i hope you guys get everything worked out! Ill be back monday.

Good luck!
Enjoy the time off Jeff and thanks for all the knowledge and assistance you give!!!! Forget about the Fanatics for a while. I am sure they can make it by with all the info in this thread.
__________________
2006 M5 E60, "Lord Vader" Last real NA M series
German Car Fanatic. Colorado ///M Flight member, BMW CCA member.
carcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:05 PM   #468
mthreezycrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 594
My Ride: ///M3
alright guys i did it finally!!!!! everything is working. pin 9 was for the SWC and pin 14 needed a jump to pin 16 for illumination. now time to enjoy this thing
__________________
-Aria

mthreezycrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:22 PM   #469
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now get those splices fixed before you have other problems.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:53 PM   #470
m3collins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 415
My Ride: 2002 Carbon Black M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
the nav probably doesnt see the antenna, in the igo menu, go to the second page and select GPS.....it will probably show that you dont have an antenna, you should see "auto detect" in the lower right. press it and let it run, it should find the antenna and you should be set. If not, double check your connections on the back of the unit
That was it! Thanks man. Loving this thing. And whats the hate on those knobs.....I actually like them and think they look great.

Jeff I'll get pics and stuff for you tomorrow.
m3collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:54 PM   #471
m3collins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 415
My Ride: 2002 Carbon Black M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthreezycrazy View Post
alright guys i did it finally!!!!! everything is working. pin 9 was for the SWC and pin 14 needed a jump to pin 16 for illumination. now time to enjoy this thing
Yep. Glad I was able to help you get this nailed down!

And I can't thank Jeff enough. Thanks a ton man. I do believe your idea on the bundle unit for OEM Navi guys would make a lot people's lives easier. You do need a extended headphone cable and extended antenna cable. I got the headphone cable....need to get the antenna one.

Last edited by m3collins; 07-28-2010 at 09:55 PM.
m3collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 11:32 PM   #472
carcus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mountain Roads
Posts: 5,560
My Ride: 2006 BMW M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3collins View Post
Yep. Glad I was able to help you get this nailed down!

And I can't thank Jeff enough. Thanks a ton man. I do believe your idea on the bundle unit for OEM Navi guys would make a lot people's lives easier. You do need a extended headphone cable and extended antenna cable. I got the headphone cable....need to get the antenna one.
Glad to see you got it all worked out m3collins. I love mine. And really, the knobs do not make a big difference to me. Sure beats my stock CD player.

Also, on my V3, I still have the BMW background loading screen. I like it....looks OEM style.

Are you having any radio reception issues? I have some time to time, but am in the mountains.
__________________
2006 M5 E60, "Lord Vader" Last real NA M series
German Car Fanatic. Colorado ///M Flight member, BMW CCA member.
carcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 04:53 AM   #473
mthreezycrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 594
My Ride: ///M3
yea jeff I already fixed all the splices!! thanks everyone for your help!
__________________
-Aria

mthreezycrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 08:00 AM   #474
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by jryguyi View Post
CONFIRMATION

99-01 Models need antenna adapter VWA2B!!!!!

Works perfect
Can you tell me where did you get the antenna adapter, was this the one you used ?

__________________

Last edited by Darkoz; 07-29-2010 at 08:17 AM.
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:54 PM   #475
rmodys
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 247
My Ride: 2001 325i
I've skimmed through this thread and I have to ask. Is there a video of the Dynavin in action (specifically the iPod function, everyone on YouTube is hung up on the TV tuner) that isn't from a hand-held camera? Is there anyone who has a tripod willing to film a good review?
rmodys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 06:07 PM   #476
ZLAT46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 234
My Ride: M-Sport Ci
Hi guys,

Just wondering whats the best method to get the climate control to sit in without the relocation kit? I noticed there are metal clips on top and bottom, do we need to stretch these out?

Thanks
__________________
ZLAT46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 08:58 PM   #477
DNA1010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 99
My Ride: 325xi
Where can I get a 5M fakra cable? Seems like dvdcarkit doesn't ship to US.
DNA1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 09:21 PM   #478
m3collins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 415
My Ride: 2002 Carbon Black M3
Yes they do! I got mine from them. It came from Hong Kong to South Carolina in less than a week!
m3collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:12 PM   #479
carcus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mountain Roads
Posts: 5,560
My Ride: 2006 BMW M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLAT46 View Post
Hi guys,

Just wondering whats the best method to get the climate control to sit in without the relocation kit? I noticed there are metal clips on top and bottom, do we need to stretch these out?

Thanks
Just my opinion, save the money for the relocation kit. But some foam weatherstrip tape would be a temp solution. Don't mess with any clips....save the money to make it look OEM, not a hack job.
__________________
2006 M5 E60, "Lord Vader" Last real NA M series
German Car Fanatic. Colorado ///M Flight member, BMW CCA member.
carcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 11:31 AM   #480
uncompiled
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 125
My Ride: G37xS & 330Ci ZHP
For any iPhone users, has anyone tried doing video from the iPod mode? All I get is this weird screen with arrows and playback controls. It puts my iPhone in "Docked Mode" and gives me control over it, but I don't see video on the screen. I'm wondering if video can be output from iPod mode or if I need to switch the Dynavin to use AUX-IN mode.
uncompiled is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use