E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 4.11 average.
Old 06-25-2013, 03:59 PM   #1001
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
The ibus box plugs into the Fakra cable. The Fakra has 3 plugs, 1 for the car, 1 for the dynavin, one for the ibus box. It "Ts" off about 6 inches from the dynavin end of the cable

The USB on the box is just for programming, not used in the install.

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-25-2013 at 04:00 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 04:32 PM   #1002
mcmikeyb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: London
Posts: 3
My Ride: E46 M3
Thanks very much for your rapid response Jeff - it seems that I simply don't have that cable that comes out of the fakra! I checked to make sure it wasn't inside the cable covering and it's not... this come up before?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130625_222404.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	249.4 KB
ID:	513060  
mcmikeyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 05:47 PM   #1003
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
its at the dash end of the Fakra, not the trunk end.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:31 PM   #1004
mcmikeyb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: London
Posts: 3
My Ride: E46 M3
Excellent stuff... many thanks... rookie mistake resolved
mcmikeyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 08:21 PM   #1005
dardarwin01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Franscio
Posts: 107
My Ride: 330ci
Official: Dynavin E46 Radio - Installation, Question & Troubleshooting Thread

Hey guys I bought a soundplicity back in March I know realize that it outdated and I'm upgraded my phone but, I'm deciding on purchasing a dynavin unit but, I can't find it for my car upgrades I own a e46 330ci vert.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
dardarwin01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 08:49 PM   #1006
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Not sure what you are asking? Are you asking where to buy? Are you asking about compatibility? FYI, just about everything that can be asked has been, and all the common questions and info are in my FAQ, the link is in my signature.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:32 PM   #1007
dardarwin01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Franscio
Posts: 107
My Ride: 330ci
Official: Dynavin E46 Radio - Installation, Question & Troubleshooting Thread

Thanks


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
dardarwin01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 05:25 AM   #1008
sh1n3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plovdiv
Posts: 7
My Ride: 323ci
E46 dynavin with harmman kardon

Hi guys,

I have Dynavin Unit from 2 years on e46 coupe, but now I want to install harmman kardon to the car. And I`m wondaring is there gonna be some problems for the install and after that for the quality of the sound.

Do I have to do anything else except install all the cables??
sh1n3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 07:17 AM   #1009
sh1n3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plovdiv
Posts: 7
My Ride: 323ci
I found My answer in FAQ. Sorry and Thanks !
sh1n3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 04:11 AM   #1010
toxnation
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
My Ride: 2000 BMW 328i E46
Is there anything needed besides the fakra cable connection to get sound to work on an 2000 E46 with factory nav and HK in the trunk? Everything seems to be functioning properly on the HU but there is no sound at all? Most threads are about the business cd installs, different models and what not... None of those posts help me at all... Installation is becoming a nightmare, especially since no shops know what a Dynavin even is let alone my vehicle. They all just want to gut and rewire with a different HU and I would rather not... Any help is much appreciated
toxnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 07:59 AM   #1011
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
These shops need to do a little troubleshooting....there is nothing unusual about the Dynavin once you know what you are looking at. The first and most obvious thing is to make sure there is power on the amp turn on wire at the amp.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 06:14 PM   #1012
toxnation
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
My Ride: 2000 BMW 328i E46
Jeff, How do I go about checking power to the amp? When you say amp, I'm assuming the black unit with what it looks like a lot more wiring plugged to it, behind the silver unit where the harness and antenna were connected in that whole chassis?
toxnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:06 PM   #1013
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Ok, so you had a nav equipped car....if it's a 2000, did the installer have to swap plugs on the fakra cable or did your car have the newer style plug? (Plug and play with the fakra cable)

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 02-14-2014 at 09:06 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:51 PM   #1014
toxnation
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
My Ride: 2000 BMW 328i E46
Had to swap. I was looking into the out of box manual for the Dynavin and saw some differences in the color coding of the wires from the fakra and where the 17pin connector would splice. Color matching doesn't seem to be correct? Is this most likely my issue? If so then how come Best Buy couldn't figure this out?
toxnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 10:42 PM   #1015
toxnation
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
My Ride: 2000 BMW 328i E46
The purple and green wires from the fakra cable to the small cable from the box when swapped doesn't seem to be correct when color code matched? In fact they are the exact opposite in the diagram of what the Dynavin manual has for them? Could this be a misprint or do they need not be color matched when soldered together? For example: Page 6 of the manual has the wiring configurations. From the unit connection, Pin 13/14 - say green RL +/- when in fact on my fakra cable these are the purple color? Same where it says Pin 15/16 - are purple RR +/- when they are in fact green? On the factory harness connection, purple are in the pins of RL +/- and green are in the pins of RR? Could this be keeping the HK system from operating correctly and producing no sound as these rear connections are not correct? Thanks
toxnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use