E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-13-2010, 03:24 PM   #1
iDriftYou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UCR/SoCal
Posts: 785
My Ride: is a HighWay monster
Broke a Strut tower bolt

So me and my buddy just got finished installing his OEM springs in. I was using a torque wrench for the top bolts and had it set at 21 ft lbs. As i was tightening, one of the studs just ripped off. The wrench did not click! I felt like such a dumbass for breaking a god damn stud. My question to you guys is, I just need to replace to top hat right? I also read by drilling the stud out, and getting a bolt of the same size, poking it through and tightening it, it will work ( a lot of other car forums use that as another option to fix it). Is driving on 2 studs fine for now? He drives on the highway, nothing more. And can I just drill the stud out and replace it with a bolt? Thanks again fanatics.
__________________
-Shehroz


Current: 1990 Toyota Supra
Mods: CP pistons/ Eagle rods/ HKS MHG/ 264 Cams/ Rebuilt CT26
Future: GT35r
My DIY:
DIY ZF 5HP19 Transmission Drain/ Refill : http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...12#post9551712


"My life doesn't only move in a straight line, why should my car?"
iDriftYou is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 05-13-2010, 03:41 PM   #2
paraklas
OEM ///Member
 
paraklas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,963
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
If you manage to hold the bolt not to turn while tightening
__________________
http://www.argyrides.eu/makeyourownsig.jpg
paraklas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 03:44 PM   #3
iDriftYou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UCR/SoCal
Posts: 785
My Ride: is a HighWay monster
Quote:
Originally Posted by paraklas View Post
If you manage to hold the bolt not to turn while tightening
People say apply JB weld with a washer and I should be good?
__________________
-Shehroz


Current: 1990 Toyota Supra
Mods: CP pistons/ Eagle rods/ HKS MHG/ 264 Cams/ Rebuilt CT26
Future: GT35r
My DIY:
DIY ZF 5HP19 Transmission Drain/ Refill : http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...12#post9551712


"My life doesn't only move in a straight line, why should my car?"
iDriftYou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 04:08 PM   #4
paraklas
OEM ///Member
 
paraklas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,963
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
If it holds enough to properly torque the bolt I don't see why not
__________________
http://www.argyrides.eu/makeyourownsig.jpg
paraklas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 04:09 PM   #5
330ciandr6
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: .
Posts: 6,606
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to 330ciandr6 Send a message via Yahoo to 330ciandr6
not hard to replace the strut towers, plus, they wear over time anyway. Just replace it
__________________
Have a oil or coolant leak? Click here!:http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...732&highlight=
ABS/DSC/Brake/Airbag light on?? Click here!:http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...648&highlight=
330ciandr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 04:11 PM   #6
iDriftYou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UCR/SoCal
Posts: 785
My Ride: is a HighWay monster
Quote:
Originally Posted by 330ciandr6 View Post
not hard to replace the strut towers, plus, they wear over time anyway. Just replace it
At 92$ for each side, can't afford them right now.
__________________
-Shehroz


Current: 1990 Toyota Supra
Mods: CP pistons/ Eagle rods/ HKS MHG/ 264 Cams/ Rebuilt CT26
Future: GT35r
My DIY:
DIY ZF 5HP19 Transmission Drain/ Refill : http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...12#post9551712


"My life doesn't only move in a straight line, why should my car?"
iDriftYou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 04:14 PM   #7
paraklas
OEM ///Member
 
paraklas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,963
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
I think he means strut tower bearing, it's around $20 each?
__________________
http://www.argyrides.eu/makeyourownsig.jpg
paraklas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 04:18 PM   #8
330ciandr6
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: .
Posts: 6,606
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to 330ciandr6 Send a message via Yahoo to 330ciandr6
no, upper strut mount
__________________
Have a oil or coolant leak? Click here!:http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...732&highlight=
ABS/DSC/Brake/Airbag light on?? Click here!:http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...648&highlight=
330ciandr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:38 PM   #9
fotsir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bham
Posts: 271
My Ride: 2004 Lexus IS300
If you can't afford it then do the bolt, but in the long term it's a bad idea. Save up and buy a mount when you can.
fotsir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:49 PM   #10
Chibo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Not Here
Posts: 277
My Ride: Nothing
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDriftYou View Post
People say apply JB weld with a washer and I should be good?
JBWeld won't really hold torque, been there, tried that. You can take it to a muffler shop and have a nut tack welded on for like $5 though.
It'd be like...
Bolt - Nut tackwelded onto bottom of tower - tower - rough road plate (if you have one) - body - nut
__________________
1991 BMW 318iS - Alpine White - 5spd - GC Coilovers and stuff
2000 Yamaha R1
2003 Ducati 749

Last edited by Chibo; 05-13-2010 at 05:52 PM.
Chibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broke, strut, stud, wtf

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use