E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 3.29 average. Display Modes
Old 11-10-2011, 05:42 PM   #61
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi0112 View Post
it still copmes up with error when i install inpa and try to run it not compatible with my system i.e 64 bit, i have put it in compatibily mode..maybe i should start it all over..all i want to do is reset my service indicator and read any faults my car has, not bothered about programming and further in depth stuff, thought carsoft was a good idea but having read a few things about it people are saying that it aint worth getting it. i shall perserver a bit more..might take a [ic of the files that came on my cd if i get any more problems installing..

I would suggest dropping the cd it came with. Go to Binmerforums and look for stuff there. If I can recall, i am sure there is instructions on how to install inpa on 64bit windows.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 12:38 PM   #62
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
ok have done that and installed as per first post and it works on my computer, have yet to connect to car, but at least i dont get the compatibility error.

One other question i have to ask, is i bought the blue cable from ebay which said it has been fully tested on bmw, my car is a 2000 E46 328ci, am i right in saying that i need to plug the cable into the socket under the steering wheel, as i have not seen the round socket anywhere, so if i do plug this into the obd socket underneath the steering coloumn and start inpa will it work ok, i suppose one thinbg to do is to connect it all up and see.

And thankyou darkside for all your help its appreciated very much, am off now to connect to car and see what happens....lol
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:33 PM   #63
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
Connected to car and got errors saying cannot communicate with module. Any ideas where there are help files for these program's.
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:57 PM   #64
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Did you install the bmw tools from the inpa file?

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 02:23 AM   #65
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
Will check later about that.
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 02:40 AM   #66
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi0112 View Post
my car is a 2000 E46 328ci, am i right in saying that i need to plug the cable into the socket under the steering wheel
On a 2000 car you shoud have a round socket, under the hood, hear the passenger hinge.

If you are 100% sure it is not there, then you need to short pins 7&8 on your adaptor and use the socket under the steering wheel.

To test your software and adaptor, you can try to access the DME from the socket under the steering wheel.

If the DME is present and working, you need to do no further work on the software, your problems lie in the adaptor and socket.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 04:10 AM   #67
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
I have a round socket in the engine compartment as well. Now am confused why is there 2 sockets one in engine compartment and one in drivers side. The one in the engine I took the socket cover off and saw that there is 5 pins in there. So is this the one I need to connect upto. ????
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 07:35 AM   #68
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Read the op, all the answers are there.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 09:36 AM   #69
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
What is op ???
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 11:38 AM   #70
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi0112 View Post
What is op ???
Original post. First post in this thread

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 02:02 PM   #71
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
Have ordered the BMW to OBDII socket, so when i get it i will plug into the round connector under the bonnet and try it that way, until then i have other stuff to do like the ground wire on the taillights to sort out and reput my boot back together..Catch up when i have the adaptor..
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 12:53 PM   #72
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,296
My Ride: 2001 3 Pedal M54b30
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
random question. do you guys run dedicated laptops for this or you are just on your normal laptop?
__________________
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 01:20 PM   #73
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
i am having problems running on a 64 bit system, so i am going to buy a laptop and all thats going to be on it will be the bmw software as we have 2 cars in the family both bmw's, then i wont have any issues with compatibility..
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 02:16 PM   #74
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL Blak Soldier View Post
random question. do you guys run dedicated laptops for this or you are just on your normal laptop?
I surf the interwebz on mine, but that's about it. I don't have office or photoshop on it.


Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 02:24 PM   #75
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL Blak Soldier View Post
random question. do you guys run dedicated laptops for this or you are just on your normal laptop?
Just my regular laptop.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 03:37 PM   #76
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,296
My Ride: 2001 3 Pedal M54b30
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
ahh i see, i have a extra hard drive with an o/s i was thinking of running it on, but if i don't know if it is worth swapping out hard drives everytime i want to change anything. which isn't that big of a deal, but it's still work to be done.
__________________
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:43 PM   #77
kuksul08
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California
Posts: 2,103
My Ride: M3
Install it on an external USB and change the BIOS boot order if your mobo supports it, if you want to do it that way^
__________________

Look at that subtle jet-black coloring. The tasteful thickness of it. Oh my God, it even has a 6mt.
S54 Valve Adjustment Spreadsheet & Info: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/28231781/S54...ent%20info.zip
S54 VANOS DIY Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SkT2j3jsU0
kuksul08 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 03:19 AM   #78
iBlack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2
My Ride: 318Ci Conv. M
Unhappy Connection troubles

Hi guys, i'm new here but i already comes up with a big question, i recently got a 318ci conv. and i managed to get inpa with its usb odb cable, troubles came up when trying to connect to the car i always get a IFH0003 error and the car always look unreachable...

here's some screenshots, do anybody can somehow help me, i'm getting really crazy...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Schermata 11-2455889 alle 20.28.42.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	296.6 KB
ID:	426365   Click image for larger version

Name:	Schermata 11-2455889 alle 20.28.55.jpg
Views:	242
Size:	89.5 KB
ID:	426366   Click image for larger version

Name:	Schermata 11-2455889 alle 20.43.49.jpg
Views:	305
Size:	179.9 KB
ID:	426367  
iBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:04 AM   #79
bdubb27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 1
My Ride: '99 328i
Thanks Arty and everyone else on this thread! I have followed all the instruction to the letter. I am able to use INPA to access all modules and NCS Expert to program them. The one problem I am having is trying to read the engine module and live statistics.

First, I can read all modules except the engine with the key in position 1, however it appears that the key must be in position 2 or the car running to read engine. Is this correct/normal?

Furthermore, I can read the engine and live statistics intermittently but then I get the "IFH-0003 DATATRANSMISSION TO INTERFACE DISTURBED" error and INPA asks me if i want to continue. I have gone thru all of the INPA troubleshooting and have double checked all the settings. Com1, 1ms latency, FIFO enabled with 8 rx and tx buffer. I don't get any other errors or have issues with any other modules. I can actuate door locks, windows, etc without issue. The problem occurs thru the 20 pin under the hood and thru the 16 under dash. Any ideas?

Car: 1999 328i USA.
Computer / Cables: Fresh install of XP SP3, all updates done. Fresh install of INPA per this guide. USB cable and BMW 20 pin cable as shown in this guide.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks everyone!
bdubb27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:31 AM   #80
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Diddle with both OBD.ini. Try STD:USB and STD:OBD. One will give better performance that the other.

Yes the IGN must be on for best performance. ACC performance is unspecified.

Unfortunately you will always get some Interface disturbed messages, especially in high data rate measurements with a page full of readings.

Just hold down the Y key. I've not figured out why, it could well be the almost DDOS approach that INPA hammers into the one-wire databus; causing some messages to go missing; combined with the cheapo adaptors we use.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use