E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 38 votes, 4.68 average. Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 07:01 AM   #81
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
Well I did it. Got SSS and dis and inpa working today. Dual booted my laptop so it runs vista eternity and installed to the letter on that version. And it worked first time. Now I can play about with it. One thing to note though that I have to have diag head and ifhserv running in background as my dis and SSS run through a virtual machine. Still but more happier now. Success at last. Cheers guys.
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 07:14 PM   #82
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,358
My Ride: 2001 3 Pedal M54b30
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
NVRMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

i noob'd out. sorry for this post!
__________________

Last edited by SL Blak Soldier; 11-27-2011 at 07:22 PM.
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 09:08 PM   #83
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,358
My Ride: 2001 3 Pedal M54b30
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
woot! got my cable. now time to debugg and figure out why it isn't working. lol. i see a lot of reading in my future.
__________________
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 10:56 PM   #84
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,358
My Ride: 2001 3 Pedal M54b30
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
WOOOT GOT IT WORKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

so since i bought a vagcom cable i had to short to pins on the cable and reprogram the chip in the cable! yeahh buddy. now to learn how to read CELs!
__________________
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 11:05 PM   #85
turbo_f22_pilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mid-Atlantic Region
Posts: 1,166
My Ride: 2 pedals - 2 paddles
Go into INPA, select your car E46, then select the area of interest, then select the "error" option.

You can look at stored errors. You will see the "Reset Error" button to clear the error/s.
__________________
In order to finish FIRST, you MUST first FINISH !

Joy is future proof
Get your "M" on . . .
Reading is FundaM3ntal




CAR:
2003 TIAG Coupe / Blk Interior / SMG / HK Premium
MODS:
EU-CSL Coded / Macht Schnell intake / OEM CSL Wheels / OEM CSL Diffuser / Dinan Exhaust
Full LED Conversion / HID fog / Aurora AE / RE RTAB FCAB

BMWCCA NCC
turbo_f22_pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 11:54 PM   #86
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,358
My Ride: 2001 3 Pedal M54b30
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo_f22_pilot View Post
Go into INPA, select your car E46, then select the area of interest, then select the "error" option.

You can look at stored errors. You will see the "Reset Error" button to clear the error/s.
thanks! after a bit of messing around i was able to figure it out.


As far as NCS expert, i was wondering if i need to input the vin and fa, to correctly code the car. I'm in the process of searching for any asnwer on bfc, but if anyone has any other info about that, that'd be great.

Since i'm using a modified Vag-Com cable, it won't automatically read the chassis, vin, or fa.

*edit* i just read something, so maybe i'll try that tomorrow, but i'd still love to know if you guys can answer.
__________________

Last edited by SL Blak Soldier; 12-07-2011 at 12:09 AM.
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 02:05 PM   #87
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,358
My Ride: 2001 3 Pedal M54b30
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
hmm s right now i'm trying to check the engine codes, but i don't know what one to choose. i chose the one for the m54, but it doesn't work. anyone know what choice to pick for my 01 330ci
__________________
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 04:47 AM   #88
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL Blak Soldier View Post
hmm s right now i'm trying to check the engine codes, but i don't know what one to choose. i chose the one for the m54, but it doesn't work. anyone know what choice to pick for my 01 330ci
Try a few other engine modules. Note that an M54 engine probably uses MS43 or MS45.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:32 AM   #89
GreatFrog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 41
My Ride: 2005 325i w/spt pkg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty View Post
Try a few other engine modules. Note that an M54 engine probably uses MS43 or MS45.
Hi Arty, do you mean that a M54 could you either MS43 or MS45 module? As when I was checking the engine using INPA last weekend, it didn't work with the MS43 for M54 but worked well with the MS45 for M56. Since I had my cluster reprogramed by an indy shop, I am not sure whether they changed the module to MS45 by mistake or my M54 just uses MS45 as the module.

Do you think "reprogramming" may changed the module used by the engine? Like flashing a firmware?

Thanks!
GreatFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:44 AM   #90
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Unlikely, the cluster and DME are not the same. Googling says MS43 or MS45 for your engine so looks like you are up and running now.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 01:30 PM   #91
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Depending on the production date they went with the ms45. Has nothing to do with the cluster.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 02:30 PM   #92
GreatFrog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 41
My Ride: 2005 325i w/spt pkg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty View Post
Unlikely, the cluster and DME are not the same. Googling says MS43 or MS45 for your engine so looks like you are up and running now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideracer69 View Post
Depending on the production date they went with the ms45. Has nothing to do with the cluster.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer

Thanks guys, I can rest assured now.
GreatFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 09:54 AM   #93
El Polo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 461
My Ride: 99 black 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty View Post
On a 2000 car you should have a round socket, under the hood, hear the passenger hinge.

If you are 100% sure it is not there, then you need to short pins 7&8 on your adapter and use the socket under the steering wheel.

To test your software and adapter, you can try to access the DME from the socket under the steering wheel.

If the DME is present and working, you need to do no further work on the software, your problems lie in the adapter and socket.
Do you mean I could talk to all modules from the 16-pin (under steering) connector in my 1999? Just by connecting two pins on the adapter?
Any explanations on that please? Does that have anything to do with the dual K-lines? (sorry guys I'm still a noob when it comes to car coding)

For information I have the BMW scanner 1.4 (which is nice I must say).

PS: do you guys think I could use the BMW scanner adapter with other programs?
El Polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:00 AM   #94
El Polo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 461
My Ride: 99 black 328i
Ok just re read the op. Sorry for the previous dumb question.
El Polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 10:20 PM   #95
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,358
My Ride: 2001 3 Pedal M54b30
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
unfortunately, my car has been in the shop because someone rear ended me, so i won't be able to try those modules.

but if anyone is looking for a list of features you can work with, here is a PDF i found for ncs expert...

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...CJyaz_QG#gid=0
__________________
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 10:40 PM   #96
SeanC
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 4,038
My Ride: 330i
My cable is on its way. Sub'd for later...
__________________

Sapphire Black MetallicNatural BrownSilver Cube e46 330i ZHP/ZCW/6MT - Sold
HellrotDove Grey e36 ///M3 - RIP
Alpine WhiteTanSand High Gloss e46 330i SunRoofLess/5MT
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 04:23 AM   #97
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL Blak Soldier View Post
unfortunately, my car has been in the shop because someone rear ended me, so i won't be able to try those modules.

but if anyone is looking for a list of features you can work with, here is a PDF i found for ncs expert...

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...CJyaz_QG#gid=0
Wow, that's a big list

Good find.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 04:32 PM   #98
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,358
My Ride: 2001 3 Pedal M54b30
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
hmm inpa i still can't get to work, (i haven't tried too hard though), but i did get ncs expert to work and already coded a few things.

thanks for the help guys!

also, i found this very helpful.

http://www.bmwcoding.com/forumdispla...inner-s-Lounge

more translations..

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1465941
__________________

Last edited by SL Blak Soldier; 12-28-2011 at 04:48 PM.
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 10:01 PM   #99
Nickvjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 243
My Ride: 2004 330Ci Conv.
Thanks for keeping this thread going. I finally got my software running correctly and I could not be more pleased!

I have DIS V57, SSS V32, TIS V8, INPA / EDIABAS running beautifully. And to think that this all started after I asked my 'stealer' if there was a way I can have the car lights flash when locking / unlocking (I have no factory alarm right now but with the money I save with DIY I plan to have one soon). When the service guy said it would cost $75 I nearly flipped. Heck, my 1996 Toyota Corolla had flashing lights when locking / unlocking the doors... I could not believe that this 'ultimate driving machine' need $75 to activate that feature.

So I bought myself the needed hardware & software, spent some time in my car with the laptop and presto: lights blink when locking / unlocking. I also was able to change a couple other cool settings I was wondering about (auto lock when drive off, auto lock after unlocking / no open, etc...).

If you want a job done right... D.I.Y.!!! Happy New Years everyone!
__________________
-Nickvjr
2004 BMW 330Ci Convertible
Nickvjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 10:42 PM   #100
GreatFrog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 41
My Ride: 2005 325i w/spt pkg
Hey guys, a quick question. Does anyone know how to test the fuel pump pressure in DIS? I actually wanted to measure the pre-pumping fuel pressure (after turning the key to the second position and right before ignition). I saw some one did it in a Youtube video, but I tried everything in my DIS and can not find the function to test the fuel pump.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickvjr View Post
Thanks for keeping this thread going. I finally got my software running correctly and I could not be more pleased!

I have DIS V57, SSS V32, TIS V8, INPA / EDIABAS running beautifully. And to think that this all started after I asked my 'stealer' if there was a way I can have the car lights flash when locking / unlocking (I have no factory alarm right now but with the money I save with DIY I plan to have one soon). When the service guy said it would cost $75 I nearly flipped. Heck, my 1996 Toyota Corolla had flashing lights when locking / unlocking the doors... I could not believe that this 'ultimate driving machine' need $75 to activate that feature.

So I bought myself the needed hardware & software, spent some time in my car with the laptop and presto: lights blink when locking / unlocking. I also was able to change a couple other cool settings I was wondering about (auto lock when drive off, auto lock after unlocking / no open, etc...).

If you want a job done right... D.I.Y.!!! Happy New Years everyone!
GreatFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use