E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-04-2013, 04:19 PM   #1
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

I've tried for the past 2 hours and it doesn't seem to be the right length. Are there different lengths of serpentine belts? I got the belt from the dealership btw


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-04-2013, 05:15 PM   #2
tcphoto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,070
My Ride: '01 325Cic TiAg
Are you sure that you have it routed correctly? Once you've released the tension and aligned the grooves, you should be able to just put the tension back onto the belt. I'm guessing that you put the belt on wrong.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	th.jpeg
Views:	221
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	509154  
tcphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:19 PM   #3
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

Thats how I have it, its won't stretch over the pulley
It wont fit over both pulleys which leads me to believe I have the wrong sizeClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1370380713.462903.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	509155


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

Last edited by Handsome Kev; 06-04-2013 at 05:19 PM.
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:21 PM   #4
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

Is there anyone near Fairfax that won't mind lending a hand as I'm having a difficult time with this


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:23 PM   #5
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

I've also looked at the bav auto diy video and he doesn't have an alternator pulley and his is snug on there. The belt can't be the same size for with and without an alternator pulley


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

Last edited by Handsome Kev; 06-04-2013 at 05:24 PM.
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:37 PM   #6
hawk99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Victoria
Posts: 214
My Ride: 323ci
Are you releasing the tension pulley to allow slack on the belt? Its between the water pump pulley and alternator, and below the deflector pulley.
hawk99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:40 PM   #7
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1370381982.457225.jpg
Views:	269
Size:	155.3 KB
ID:	509158 here is how it is, tensioner fully de tensioned with screw driver holding it in place, belt will not slip over thatower puller


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:43 PM   #8
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

Even if I had 3 hands it wouldn't fit. Its a close fit but not enough. Are there different oem belt sizes?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

Last edited by Handsome Kev; 06-04-2013 at 05:44 PM.
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:56 PM   #9
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

Am I crazy or is it possible for the belt to just not fit?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:00 PM   #10
tcphoto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,070
My Ride: '01 325Cic TiAg
I had to replace my water pump pulley and belt a few months ago and remember it being a tight fit. I bought the Continental belt and I kept tension on the ratchet while I slipped it into place.
tcphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:04 PM   #11
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

Got mine from dealership, they're bmw branded. Old serp belt shredded on me so I can't compare them
If the belt won't fit when pulley is de tensioned how would it fit when it is tensioned. Going to walk to advance Auto and see what belts they have. This is bs. I just did vanos, vcg and ofhg not to mention cleaning up residue from an oil leak and I get stuck on a serp belt!

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

Last edited by Handsome Kev; 06-04-2013 at 06:14 PM.
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:10 PM   #12
dmax
Registered User
 
dmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 22,858
My Ride: '99 328i 1.04646 mu
First, I'd use the torx bit to lower tensioner all the way...the screwdriver will allow it to slip back a bit. Just put bit through the 'loop' first so you can get belt on...

If that doesn't do it...then maybe you have aftermarket pulleys of a different size, requiring a different belt...assuming you did route it correctly...which I guess you did.
__________________


Performing at the Comedy Cove--595 Morris Ave. Springfield NJ reservations 973 376-3840

A recent set Skip to 1:30
dmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:12 PM   #13
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 9,466
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
Make sure this is the belt and part number they gave you:

http://www.ecstuning.com/Search/Site...6545/ES209727/
__________________
BMW VIN Decoder

Common Sense is officially dead.
WDE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:14 PM   #14
Drew@Swift Motorworks
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 34,072
My Ride: Scooty Puff Jr
All e46s use the same belt I believe. Part number should be 11 28 1 706 545

Are you sure you have the tensioner all the way back? Put a big breaker bar on it and hold the tension with that while you try and slip the belt on.
Drew@Swift Motorworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:15 PM   #15
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

Quote:
Originally Posted by WDE46 View Post
Make sure this is the belt and part number they gave you:

http://www.ecstuning.com/Search/Site...6545/ES209727/
Yeah thats the part number, only aftermarket pulley I have is a metal wp pulley


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:17 PM   #16
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

I'm using my torque wrench, thats the biggest one I have, I know I can damage it that way, but at this point w/e its a craftsman. Tensioner is all the way back, the front hole is past the back hole (clockwise) when I detension it


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

Last edited by Handsome Kev; 06-04-2013 at 06:18 PM.
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:54 PM   #17
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

The one at advance auto is the same size, so its user error. I removed the alternator and unbolted power steering pump when I did my ofhg, I'm sure I put it back properly but would that affect belt fitment if I did mess up somewhere? All the bolts are in fine and everything is lined up. I don't get it


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 07:44 PM   #18
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

Wonder if I can just drive to the dealer as is and have them put it on. Pulley isn't fully de tensioning though...

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1370389452.340132.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	509170


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:19 PM   #19
dznuts007
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Orange County
Posts: 471
My Ride: 2001 325i Sedan
The 2nd pic you have looks like the correct orientation of the belt. The first pic and pic above where the belt is over the idler pulley is incorrect. Depending on if you have a mechanical or hydraulic bent tensioner, you have to pull it more even you feel like you've pulled it far enough, but according to that pic where u lined up the holes, thats the part where I can see you getting stumped. Only thing I can think of is wrong belt
dznuts007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 11:54 AM   #20
Handsome Kev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NoVa
Posts: 238
My Ride: 328
Can't get serpentine belt on

Turns out the alternator wasn't seated properly, fixed that and got the belt on soon after. So I go to start the car today and it won't start and there's a puddle of fluid under the car, its leaking from a hose coming from the grey box near the radiator on the drivers side, right under the exp tank. I think thats a power steering hose but I could be wrong.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Handsome Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use