E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2014, 11:52 AM   #1
yousharenow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ATL
Posts: 215
My Ride: E46 ZHP
Send a message via AIM to yousharenow
How do I use my iPhone in foreign countries?

Buddy and I are going to Chile in march, I want to use my iPhone down there.

Is there a way that I can just buy a SIM card with a pre-loaded amount of data/text/voice on it?

Do I have to unlock my iPhone or anything to do this?
yousharenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 11:53 AM   #2
tks
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Online
Posts: 804
My Ride: slower than yours
I think it should be unlocked.

Then you buy SIM card to their carrier and voila.
tks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 11:56 AM   #3
badfast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern Korea
Posts: 526
My Ride: A Car
See if your carrier will do temporary international coverage. Or you might be able to purchase a prepaid sim card in Chile.
badfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 11:57 AM   #4
-negrito-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, Costa Rica | P. Pines, FL
Posts: 360
My Ride: Active330 | e30vert
Send a message via AIM to -negrito- Send a message via MSN to -negrito-
if you want your US line make sure that you have roaming.

if youre going to buy a prepaid card down there make sure that your phone is unlocked for other carriers
__________________
formerly YoYiTo
-negrito- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:00 PM   #5
k2pilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 340
My Ride: Z4MC & B8 S4
There was that recent bill that requires all carriers to unlock your phone, so the cheapest way if you're going to be there for a while is to swap sims. If you do data roaming, you'll be paying a lot more per Mb than you otherwise would. AT&T charges an additional $60 for 300MB, for instance.
__________________
Quote:
"I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go past." Douglas Adams
k2pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:02 PM   #6
yousharenow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ATL
Posts: 215
My Ride: E46 ZHP
Send a message via AIM to yousharenow
I'm getting a iPhone5s when the 6 comes out to replace my dying 4s - so I should be good on the whole "unlocked" part.

I'm not looking for anything other than data and maybe text(just to keep up with my friend if we get separated). I'll only be down for a week so I imagine I wouldn't need THAT much? All my pic uploads and stuff will be on WiFi, I just want it for things like maps and looking up stuff on the web.

Last edited by yousharenow; 08-20-2014 at 12:03 PM.
yousharenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:04 PM   #7
Zell
Registered User
 
Zell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Such City
Posts: 5,670
My Ride: '02 Dogemobile Shibe
Yeah if you pick up a prepaid international sim with texting but disable data, you should be good with all that. Cheapest route
__________________
Zell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:20 PM   #8
BreakfastBurrito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 290
My Ride: stock
If it's like Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia then there will be tons of internet cafes every where.

If you haven't yet you have to call ATT to actually unlock the phone. They will give you instructions on how to.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
BreakfastBurrito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:20 PM   #9
yousharenow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ATL
Posts: 215
My Ride: E46 ZHP
Send a message via AIM to yousharenow
I want data and text though.

Is there a marketplace for this kinda thing, or do you guys just buy them in the airport?
yousharenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:24 PM   #10
IdahoToyo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: A Sunny Town in Idaho
Posts: 375
My Ride: 4WD Tundra / GS500F
0. Remove phone from pocket *If necessary
1. Press home button.
2. Swipe right to unlock.
3. Enter Passcode *if you do not have a passcode, please ignore step trough and proceed to four.
4. Select feature from home screen that you would to access. e.g Phone, Messages, BimmerApp, P0rnHub
5. Use said feature as outlined in owners manual.

__________________
-- Kyle --

The difference between school and life? In school, you're taught a lesson and then given a test. In life, you're given a test that teaches you a lesson.
IdahoToyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 02:34 PM   #11
casino is no lie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CDT
Posts: 76
My Ride: M54B30
Quote:
Originally Posted by yousharenow View Post
I want data and text though.
Why?
__________________
casino is no lie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 02:51 PM   #12
Zell
Registered User
 
Zell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Such City
Posts: 5,670
My Ride: '02 Dogemobile Shibe
Quote:
Originally Posted by yousharenow View Post
I want data and text though.

Is there a marketplace for this kinda thing, or do you guys just buy them in the airport?
Ehhhh I would just use WiFi for data....you'll get charged out the azz for data overseas. KeepGo you'll pay $10/day for both voice and data. You can get an international SIM for $10 alone. You can blame your friendly local telecom company for charging ****tons of money to other telecom companies for usage of their towers and lines.
__________________

Last edited by Zell; 08-20-2014 at 02:52 PM.
Zell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 04:32 PM   #13
Amoeba
Registered User
 
Amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 1,147
My Ride: his: zhp hers: 325ci
Send a message via Yahoo to Amoeba
Rent a mobile hotspot. I rented one for $3/day at Korea and worked great. Battery lasts for 8 hrs and provided nonstop wifi anywhere I went via 3G/LTE in the backend. Japan was more expensive at $10/day but I shared it between 4 people. No unlocking necessary.

Otherwise get a SIM card at the country you're going to. Most offer data-only option for ~$25. It's more expensive if you have multiple phones but you'll be able to call each other without needing to be in close proximity.
__________________
Amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 04:35 PM   #14
Amoeba
Registered User
 
Amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 1,147
My Ride: his: zhp hers: 325ci
Send a message via Yahoo to Amoeba
XCom for Chile: $15/day
http://www.xcomglobal.com/international-wifi/chile

Cellomobile: $99/week, $10/day after
http://www******omobile.com/mifiCountries/Chile.aspx
__________________
Amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 04:39 PM   #15
camrydriver111
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 161
My Ride: 05 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by yousharenow View Post
I want data and text though.

Is there a marketplace for this kinda thing, or do you guys just buy them in the airport?
Unlock phone.

Buy SIM card in Chile.

There should be stores for each cell phone carrier and they should have pre-paid plans where you buy a SIM card. You can buy extra minutes, text, data, etc.

It's a good idea to check the specific country regulations. In Turkey, for example, a foreign phone will only work for 2 weeks and after that it will be blocked. Although that's rare and in most countries an unlocked phone will work without problems.

Last edited by camrydriver111; 08-20-2014 at 04:43 PM.
camrydriver111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 05:00 PM   #16
rohde88
Registered User
 
rohde88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 853
My Ride: S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by k2pilot View Post
There was that recent bill that requires all carriers to unlock your phone, so the cheapest way if you're going to be there for a while is to swap sims. If you do data roaming, you'll be paying a lot more per Mb than you otherwise would. AT&T charges an additional $60 for 300MB, for instance.
Peasant money. I just use ATT international roaming when I travel, but my company pays for it all...
__________________
-Ron
rohde88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:40 PM   #17
yousharenow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ATL
Posts: 215
My Ride: E46 ZHP
Send a message via AIM to yousharenow
Quote:
Originally Posted by casino is no lie View Post
Why?
I want data so I can use my phone for maps and looking things up.

I want text to keep in touch with travel partner when we do separate things - no one back in the states as they can use FB.

Most data usage will be on WiFi, but I want data access while roaming around.

I do like the mobile hotspot option, but I was hoping for cheaper data rates on one of their SIM's.

Last edited by yousharenow; Yesterday at 12:53 PM.
yousharenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:52 PM   #18
rohde88
Registered User
 
rohde88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 853
My Ride: S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by yousharenow View Post
I want data so I can use my phone for maps and looking things up.
.
I won't comment on your texting needs, but your GPS will still work. Just load the map for the area on wifi ahead of time, then you can use GPS.
__________________
-Ron
rohde88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:54 PM   #19
yousharenow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ATL
Posts: 215
My Ride: E46 ZHP
Send a message via AIM to yousharenow
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohde88 View Post
I won't comment on your texting needs, but your GPS will still work. Just load the map for the area on wifi ahead of time, then you can use GPS.
GPS needs the internet on the backend to search for things.

In a perfect world: I could buy a SIM with X amount of text and data. Does this exist?
yousharenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:49 PM   #20
TIHZ TA3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 19
My Ride: Elise SC
Just use the phone like an adult. Download Line or WeChat
__________________
http://i1050.photobucket.com/albums/s408/optionlessm/42cd2cd2-d91a-436a-b27f-8e970662def4_zps0b7a91a1.jpg
TIHZ TA3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use