E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2016, 12:24 AM   #1
pecanshooter223
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: north Texas
Posts: 34
My Ride: 01' 325i ///M-Sort
Anyone good with Windows XP?

Trying to get my new (to me) toughbook setup for INPA/vag-com. It's got service pack 2, and will not connect to my home WiFi. I can see the full 5 bars of connection but gives me "connection may be out of range". It works great on starbucks' connection (WEP), but I THINK I need SP3 to run my home WAP2. Anyway I can download SP3 into a USB from my mac book and put it on my toughbook? Looks like microsoft doesn't offer the download on their site anymore, which is making this even more difficult. Please help!!! Lol

-99 F-250 sold
-01 330ci mostly stock
-01 325i sport w/mods
-74 C10 SCSB w/LS3
pecanshooter223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 01:11 AM   #2
BreakfastBurrito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 319
My Ride: ///GT3 RSR
Do you pix of the Chevy?
__________________
BreakfastBurrito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 01:43 AM   #3
pecanshooter223
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: north Texas
Posts: 34
My Ride: 01' 325i ///M-Sort
LS on the left. Its an exact copy of the GMPP LS515. It's a 5 yr work in progress with my old man. Still needs to be wired and the fuel system finished.

-99 F-250 sold
-01 330ci mostly stock
-01 325i sport w/mods
-74 C10 SCSB w/LS3

Last edited by pecanshooter223; 04-26-2016 at 01:46 AM.
pecanshooter223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 02:37 AM   #4
MorganFreeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: i hate cats
Posts: 78
My Ride: bacon
Vag.com?
__________________
MorganFreeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 03:32 AM   #5
peytonracer4
:D
 
peytonracer4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Posts: 7,439
My Ride: '00 328i
You should be able to find SP3 from a third party (be careful with this) connect your computer to the Ethernet or go to Starbucks and find it.
peytonracer4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 09:42 AM   #6
SuperFan86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 38
My Ride: '14 Jeep GC
you might be dealing with unsupported drivers on your wireless card in addition to XP having problems.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRIFFIN
I was stayign at this one girls ass for what felt like 5 mins. My gil sadi what the fvck are you looking at. I said just thnking about how beautiful she was goign to look in her wedding dress. Road head for the win.
SuperFan86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 10:08 AM   #7
BreakfastBurrito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 319
My Ride: ///GT3 RSR
Nice, throw some centerline smoothies on it.

__________________
BreakfastBurrito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 10:09 AM   #8
Zell
Registered User
 
Zell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: such united many state
Posts: 5,886
My Ride: so turbo wow
Just change your router security settings to WPA/WPA2 Mixed compatibility mode.
__________________

Last edited by Zell; 04-26-2016 at 10:11 AM.
Zell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 10:29 AM   #9
BKMrSteel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ga
Posts: 290
My Ride: 99 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFan86 View Post
you might be dealing with unsupported drivers on your wireless card in addition to XP having problems.
If you don't know, going directly to the card manufacture for drivers is the best. If you don't know the card, you can look in Computer Management under Network Devices to see the card information.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zell View Post
Just change your router security settings to WPA/WPA2 Mixed compatibility mode.
If it is working in starbux, but not at home, this is likely the easiest answer. Any WPA encryption is plenty secure for home use. Much easier ways to hack your wifi
BKMrSteel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 12:04 PM   #10
camrydriver111
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 726
My Ride: 05 325i
If your Windows Update is working you should be able to update to SP3.
camrydriver111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 01:24 PM   #11
pecanshooter223
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: north Texas
Posts: 34
My Ride: 01' 325i ///M-Sort
Quote:
Originally Posted by BreakfastBurrito View Post
Nice, throw some centerline smoothies on it.

I'm big on the rallies, but that may change later on down the road. If i do, it'll probably some sort of 3-piece setup or the billet rallies painted to look OG.

-99 F-250 sold
-01 330ci mostly stock
-01 325i sport w/mods
-74 C10 SCSB w/LS3
pecanshooter223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 01:25 PM   #12
pecanshooter223
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: north Texas
Posts: 34
My Ride: 01' 325i ///M-Sort
Got XP going! It had sp2 on it which doesn't accept WAP2. Updated it and it's perfect. Thanks!

-99 F-250 sold
-01 330ci mostly stock
-01 325i sport w/mods
-74 C10 SCSB w/LS3
pecanshooter223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 03:23 PM   #13
budman
-not a mod-
 
budman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Flo Rida
Posts: 31,616
My Ride: ..
Quote:
Originally Posted by pecanshooter223 View Post
Got XP going! It had sp2 on it which doesn't accept WAP2. Updated it and it's perfect. Thanks!

-99 F-250 sold
-01 330ci mostly stock
-01 325i sport w/mods
-74 C10 SCSB w/LS3
Are listing your cars in every post? Try making a signature...
__________________
-Gunnar
budman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 03:25 PM   #14
pecanshooter223
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: north Texas
Posts: 34
My Ride: 01' 325i ///M-Sort
Quote:
Originally Posted by budman View Post
Are listing your cars in every post? Try making a signature...
According to tapatalk, that is my signature. Lol

-99 F-250 sold
-01 330ci mostly stock
-01 325i sport w/mods
-74 C10 SCSB w/LS3
pecanshooter223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 04:23 PM   #15
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 11,509
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
Quote:
Originally Posted by pecanshooter223 View Post
Trying to get my new (to me) toughbook setup for INPA/vag-com. It's got service pack 2, and will not connect to my home WiFi. I can see the full 5 bars of connection but gives me "connection may be out of range". It works great on starbucks' connection (WEP), but I THINK I need SP3 to run my home WAP2. Anyway I can download SP3 into a USB from my mac book and put it on my toughbook? Looks like microsoft doesn't offer the download on their site anymore, which is making this even more difficult. Please help!!! Lol

-99 F-250 sold
-01 330ci mostly stock
-01 325i sport w/mods
-74 C10 SCSB w/LS3
Get a service pack 3 image from a torrent site and use that. I DLed one yesterday in 30 minutes to run a virtual machine for BMW TIS and WDS. Burn the image to a disk (pretty sure that's a native feature for Win 7) and reinstall windows on the toughbook with that.
__________________

I have a dream that one day our children will live in a
nation where they will not be judged by the color of
their skin but by the color of their coolant.
WDE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 04:24 PM   #16
pecanshooter223
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: north Texas
Posts: 34
My Ride: 01' 325i ///M-Sort
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDE46 View Post
Get a service pack 3 image from a torrent site and use that. I DLed one yesterday in 30 minutes to run a virtual machine for BMW TIS and WDS. Burn the image to a disk (pretty sure that's a native feature for Win 7) and reinstall windows on the toughbook with that.
I got it working using a WEP hotspot on my phone then downloaded SP3, works perfect now.

-99 F-250 sold
-01 330ci mostly stock
-01 325i sport w/mods
-74 C10 SCSB w/LS3
pecanshooter223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use