E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2010, 09:17 AM   #1
add805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 10
My Ride: 2004 330cic
Replace original nav unit with kenwood touch

Hey All....has any one ever replace their oriainal nav unit with a kenwood double din ? I'm concerned about the wiring hook up. Is there a "wiring harness" I could buy or do I have to splice the wires. Does it hook up in the trunk or at the original nav unit in the dash ?
Any info would be great ! Thanks..... add805
add805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 09-01-2010, 09:48 AM   #2
G-Hots
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 991
My Ride: ///M3 & 328ci & X3
Send a message via AIM to G-Hots Send a message via MSN to G-Hots
Bust Buy have them around 20 bucks. As with all the aftermarket setups, you are going to have to splice and connect wires together.
Also you are going to have to cut into your floor vent air ducts and that is going to leave you with an option of either having them on all the time or off forever.
If you really want to use an aftermarket double din, I would recommend using Dynavin. It sure is not better than OEM BMW NAv but it has its positives and negatives.

you might wanna use search or check out this thread http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=359575
good luck
G-Hots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 01:20 PM   #3
add805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 10
My Ride: 2004 330cic
Thanks for the reply.
Yea, that's the thread i'm going to work off of. But it looks like he went from a single din to the double din.
I am going from the original Nav screen (double din) to a Kenwood (double din).
On the original EQ Navi (double din) the connection to the nav unit is diffrent than the single din.
I know the "radio" is mounted in the trunk. Do I hook up there in the trunk or
can I hook up at the dash where the cable plugs in to the original Nav screen ?

Tks Again
add805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 05:36 PM   #4
vcrmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 17
My Ride: 2005 320i
Keep in mind your factory Nav unit takes up the double DIN slot but it is in fact only a single din unit. Then face plate is large but when you remove it you will find that the guts look just like any normal single DIN stereo. That is why the rest of the unit is in the trunk.
vcrmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 05:47 PM   #5
add805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 10
My Ride: 2004 330cic
Yes, I've pulled it out and the conncetion to the Nav unit is a diffrent type of connection than the single din unit.
Where does the hook up for the new Kenwood come from and is their
a connector/cable for this ????

add805
add805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 05:56 PM   #6
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
If you are not into splicing wires I suggest you either look elsewhere or have someone else do the job for you.....the project you are looking at is a BIG project, requires most of your wiring to be run to the trunk, cutting into the airbox and fabricating AC and dash parts.....its possible but not for beginners.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:11 PM   #7
add805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 10
My Ride: 2004 330cic
Jeff Thanks for the reply !

I'm all ready for the install.
Got the install kit and everything for the plastic HACV.
I just need some info on wiring up the new unit.

add805
add805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 12:42 AM   #8
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
On the dynavins we use the "5M Fakra cable" to install on cars with oem nav, it is a long harness that connects the radio plugs in the trunk to the dash location, it would simplify your wiring greatly, just cut off the dynavin plug and splice on the kenwood plug, the wire colors should match and should get everyhing you need into the right place. PM me for details on how to to get one.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:39 PM   #9
add805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 10
My Ride: 2004 330cic
Jeff,
I just completed my install and it worked great with the 5M Fakra cable.

And the info you provided was also great !!

Thanks for your help !

ADD805
add805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:56 PM   #10
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
great! glad I could help.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use