E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 168 votes, 4.98 average.
Old 10-04-2010, 02:19 PM   #181
lfhdez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Corona CA
Posts: 377
My Ride: 2004 BMW 325i
Send a message via AIM to lfhdez Send a message via Yahoo to lfhdez
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
service costs money my friend, Im not going to say anything about a fellow sponsor but why dont you email Dynavin and see what they have to say about that link.

Also, that isnt including shipping, no install guide, etc...so in the end the prices aren't much different.
Yeah, I guess I just thought I'd ask... don't worry. I'm still more than happy to buy from you. Level of customer service is worth it.
__________________
~Lu

Transmitido en espaņol por SAP
lfhdez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:38 PM   #182
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 04:17 PM   #183
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,307
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Unbelievable...........
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 06:43 PM   #184
lfhdez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Corona CA
Posts: 377
My Ride: 2004 BMW 325i
Send a message via AIM to lfhdez Send a message via Yahoo to lfhdez
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
Unbelievable...........
???
__________________
~Lu

Transmitido en espaņol por SAP
lfhdez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:24 PM   #185
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfhdez View Post
Yeah, I guess I just thought I'd ask... don't worry. I'm still more than happy to buy from you. Level of customer service is worth it.
They charge 35 for shipping, so the prices are almost the same. Plus, if u need a fakra or flush mount USB, or antenna adaptor, they don't sell those, so now u have to source those elsewhere and pay shipping again.
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:36 AM   #186
Quenotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 58
My Ride: E46
Hi,

Does Dynavin V5 features automatic volume adjustment based on car speed like OEM unit?

Thanks!
Quenotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:55 PM   #187
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
I could be wrong, but I think that may be controlled by the factory HK amp. If that is the case, it should still do it. But again, I could be wrong about that.
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:18 PM   #188
newspec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nz
Posts: 78
My Ride: Mspec 325i 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quenotte View Post
Hi,

Does Dynavin V5 features automatic volume adjustment based on car speed like OEM unit?

Thanks!
Easy and short answer is no just like the v1 - v4
newspec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:49 PM   #189
TRBOVNM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 436
My Ride: 04 330 CI/04 Cobra
Send a message via AIM to TRBOVNM
man, thursday can't get here soon enough. although I need to see if someone will be here to sign.
TRBOVNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:25 PM   #190
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRBOVNM View Post
man, thursday can't get here soon enough. although I need to see if someone will be here to sign.
yeah, sorry about the UPS signature requirement thing but Paypal requires that I do signatures on sales over a certain dollar amount if we want the buyer and seller protections to be in effect....Besides, I dont think you want the UPS man leaving your dynavin on your doorstep all day.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:26 PM   #191
loginfailed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 361
My Ride: My buddies 350hp
I used to be into carPC's and spent endless hours installing, tweaking, etc. I wish something like the Dynavin was around back then. Would have saved me a lot of time & money. This unit is definitely on my mod list.
__________________
loginfailed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:45 PM   #192
TRBOVNM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 436
My Ride: 04 330 CI/04 Cobra
Send a message via AIM to TRBOVNM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
yeah, sorry about the UPS signature requirement thing but Paypal requires that I do signatures on sales over a certain dollar amount if we want the buyer and seller protections to be in effect....Besides, I dont think you want the UPS man leaving your dynavin on your doorstep all day.
actually Jeff, where I live it is fine. I have had $6000 turbo kits sitting on the porch all day. lets just say, I live out in the boonies. lol

no biggie, I understand. I think the wife has off. if not, I pass ups on my way home from work.
TRBOVNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 11:49 PM   #193
lfhdez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Corona CA
Posts: 377
My Ride: 2004 BMW 325i
Send a message via AIM to lfhdez Send a message via Yahoo to lfhdez
Quote:
Originally Posted by Str8down View Post
I could be wrong, but I think that may be controlled by the factory HK amp. If that is the case, it should still do it. But again, I could be wrong about that.
It's not the HK amp. It's the head unit
I don't have the HK amp but it still does it on mine. That's one feature I guess I'm gonna miss from the stock unit.
__________________
~Lu

Transmitido en espaņol por SAP
lfhdez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 12:06 AM   #194
mcpath
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 54
My Ride: 03 M3 / 02 A4
how tough if the install for Nav equiped car?
__________________
mcpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 02:05 AM   #195
Quenotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 58
My Ride: E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfhdez View Post
It's not the HK amp. It's the head unit
I don't have the HK amp but it still does it on mine. That's one feature I guess I'm gonna miss from the stock unit.
It's a very important feature for me also.

Would it be possible to ask Dynavin if they plan to modify the steering wheel interface to add this feature? Or to modify their headunit?

Best way for us would be an integrated ibus controller in Dynavin headunit that may allow more features (integrated clock with car, obc like with stock nav, volume linked to speed with different curves (GAL 1-5),...) instead of this large external interface
Quenotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 02:13 AM   #196
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Is the fan in this thing still audible whirring away?
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 05:04 AM   #197
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,307
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZen330 View Post
Is the fan in this thing still audible whirring away?
I don't know about anyone else but that is the one thing that annoys me as the fan on my unit is always on while the unit is powered up, whether it's supposed to or not I don't know but I'd like to hear if others do the same.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:02 AM   #198
spngr311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Posts: 272
My Ride: 2001 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcpath View Post
how tough if the install for Nav equiped car?
Here's what I had to do:

http://spngr311.wordpress.com/2010/0...ynavin-wiring/
__________________
spngr311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:21 AM   #199
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by spngr311 View Post
While I admire your ingenuity I dont think that really answered his question!


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcpath View Post
how tough if the install for Nav equiped car?
Installing the Fakra harness is the same as doing any other dash to trunk run like installing an amp or an ipod interface...pull up the doorsills, loosen a couple trunk panels, maybe a lower dash panel.

The rest of the install is the same.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:25 AM   #200
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quenotte View Post
It's a very important feature for me also.

Would it be possible to ask Dynavin if they plan to modify the steering wheel interface to add this feature? Or to modify their headunit?

Best way for us would be an integrated ibus controller in Dynavin headunit that may allow more features (integrated clock with car, obc like with stock nav, volume linked to speed with different curves (GAL 1-5),...) instead of this large external interface
while this isnt a bad idea, keep in mind that dynavin uses this basic platform on multiple models for Audi, Mercedes, VW, Opel, etc.... They need to keep the interfaces external in order to keep the units the same (and thus the cost down)

Im actually surprised how many people like the speed sensitive volume....I despised that feature, even at its lowest setting I found it super annoying, I guess maybe im a bit too much of a control freak....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
I don't know about anyone else but that is the one thing that annoys me as the fan on my unit is always on while the unit is powered up, whether it's supposed to or not I don't know but I'd like to hear if others do the same.
I remember you complaining about that a long time ago and you are the only one that I have heard with this complaint, makes me think something might be amiss with your unit. The fan is temp dependent as far as I can tell, I wonder if yours has a bad or stuck thermostat? Mine makes no fan noise except for after extended use in very hot temps....BUT....since I have aftermarket amps I am using the RCAs instead of the speaker wiring so the dynavins internal amp is not being used and maybe that keeps my temps down.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-06-2010 at 08:33 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use