E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 4.67 average.
Old 10-10-2010, 02:55 PM   #281
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Yes, ive played around with a few different maps, some are better than others depending on their coverage in your area.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 03:00 PM   #282
JS330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,094
My Ride: '01 330Ci 3 Pedals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honro
Im with you jarryd, it seems you and i have the same setup.

We got the Non Nav monitor (16:9) and we didnt get the BM53 radio... Im hoping to god there is another way to wire it up because it doesnt seem like we have the same plugs as these guys

i havent opened up the boot (trunk) and looked at what radio is configured, i was just wondering if it possible for the setup in my car because im already saving up for this unit

is there a difference between the non nav and nav computer, apart from the gps and guidance system

do i even need the fakra cable considering there is only link to rear tv anetenna?
JS330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 05:07 PM   #283
WanderLustMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 34
My Ride: 05 M3 Mystic Blue
Quote:
Originally Posted by WanderLustMan View Post
posted in the wrong thread before

question for Darkoz or someone else. If I run WolfNCU on the Dynavin, can the MP3 player software read the USB drives that are attached to the USB extensions on the Dynavin or am I limited to playing music from the microSD card that I use to run all the other software?
I can't get this to work. In the windows explorer within WinCE there is no drive that corresponds to the USB drive. I have only StorageCard and NandFLASH which I imagine is the internal memory.
WanderLustMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 05:17 PM   #284
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
when you go to the ..."lowrider screen", then select entertainment, then music player, you should then see the sd card and a usb (if you have a usb connected) Are you using a flash drive or a hard drive?
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 05:42 PM   #285
WanderLustMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 34
My Ride: 05 M3 Mystic Blue
I'm using a flash drive connected to your flush mount USB extension. By lowrider screen you mean the screen that comes up when you first hit the hardware NAVI button. It has a button on the left for Navigation and then on the right a button for setup and entertainment. Is that it?
WanderLustMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 05:45 PM   #286
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
do you have the usb cable plugged into the DVD USB or the GPS USB....

the GPS USB is for the windows board, the DVD USB is for the radio board.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 05:48 PM   #287
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
Wander, did u plug the flush mount extension into the USB labeled "DVD" or the one labeled "Navi"?
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 05:49 PM   #288
WanderLustMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 34
My Ride: 05 M3 Mystic Blue
ah crap, to be honest I don't remember. There were two USB plugs in the back so I just plugged it into one of them. The music shows up when I go through the radio board and click on USB which makes me think I have it plugged into the incorrect one. dammit.
WanderLustMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 06:03 PM   #289
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Good times! Well, its 1000 times easier to pull the head unit out the second time....Ive pulled mine out so many times that Ive got it down to seconds...
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 07:17 PM   #290
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
That's the 1 I have mine plugged into. Any benefit to using the wince media player over the DVD one?
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 09:34 PM   #291
NY 05 330xi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 28
My Ride: 330xi
Got my Dynavin installed and working great! Thanks Jeff! Got my Satellite radio hooked up to the aux in, two flush mount usb's it looks great! I'll post up some pic's tomorrow!

One quick question though, maybe Jeff, Darkoz or someone else can help.....

I'm trying to upgrade the Navi software to IGO 8.3 and have been following all the directions from previous posts. I have everything on my microsd and I'm trying to run the autorun.exe that's in the 2577 folder and nothing happens

I've been working on this all day (reading posts getting the software ready) and I can't get it to run! I even tried copying the IGO8.exe from the original software and when I do that it says "could not load the loading.bmp from the IGO/480x240/folder"

Please someone help me out because It's really frustrating thinking you've got everything you need to run out to the car and have nothing happen

Thanks in Advance
NY 05 330xi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:10 AM   #292
JS330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,094
My Ride: '01 330Ci 3 Pedals
Jeff or anyone, do u know if the non nav television setup is the same as the nav ie needing the fakes cable or not?
JS330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:54 AM   #293
JS330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,094
My Ride: '01 330Ci 3 Pedals
Fakra***
JS330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 01:00 AM   #294
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
I dont know and i dont think we even had the option in the US...I defer to the overseas fanatics.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 01:50 AM   #295
BMWnAZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tucson
Posts: 17
My Ride: 2002 325I
NY '05 I am considering getting one of these units as well but was waiting to see if there was Sattelite radio capabilities. How is this working out for You?
__________________
BMWnAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 05:06 AM   #296
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by NY 05 330xi View Post
Got my Dynavin installed and working great! Thanks Jeff! Got my Satellite radio hooked up to the aux in, two flush mount usb's it looks great! I'll post up some pic's tomorrow!
Glad to see you got your Dynavin working well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NY 05 330xi View Post
I'm trying to upgrade the Navi software to IGO 8.3 and have been following all the directions from previous posts. I have everything on my microsd and I'm trying to run the autorun.exe that's in the 2577 folder and nothing happens
Now, that 2577 folder is only for installing and running nav on mobile PDAs/handheld devices so you don't need that folder at all, just delete it.
In the settings of the naviigation part of Dynavin you need to direct it to the iGO8.exe which should be in the main iGO8 folder on your SD card, note that depending on where you downloaded your iGO8.3 from if there is no iGO8.exe file in the main folder then you need to rename the application.dat file in the main folder to iGO8.exe
So your nav file path should be StorageCard/iGO8/iGO8.exe

Quote:
Originally Posted by NY 05 330xi View Post
I've been working on this all day (reading posts getting the software ready) and I can't get it to run! I even tried copying the IGO8.exe from the original software and when I do that it says "could not load the loading.bmp from the IGO/480x240/folder"
It's no use using the .exe from your origianl iGO as it's an older version and will not work with iGo8.3
__________________

Last edited by Darkoz; 10-11-2010 at 08:27 AM.
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:48 AM   #297
BMW Loe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,369
My Ride: is dirty
I have to ask this. Does the USB double as a charging device for those with phones that charge via usb?
__________________
E92 335i 6spd
BMS JB4 stg 3, BMS DCI, CM methanol injection
04 M3 sold
03 330Ci sold
BMW Loe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 10:58 AM   #298
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW Loe View Post
I have to ask this. Does the USB double as a charging device for those with phones that charge via usb?
With my iphone the"gps usb" will charge the phone and the "dvd usb" will not.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:52 PM   #299
BrutaL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: City Life
Posts: 228
My Ride: E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
Glad to see you got your Dynavin working well.


Now, that 2577 folder is only for installing and running nav on mobile PDAs/handheld devices so you don't need that folder at all, just delete it.
In the settings of the naviigation part of Dynavin you need to direct it to the iGO8.exe which should be in the main iGO8 folder on your SD card, note that depending on where you downloaded your iGO8.3 from if there is no iGO8.exe file in the main folder then you need to rename the application.dat file in the main folder to iGO8.exe
So your nav file path should be StorageCard/iGO8/iGO8.exe


It's no use using the .exe from your origianl iGO as it's an older version and will not work with iGo8.3
You nailed it.

Just wanna add a 2cent FYI regarding the loading.bmp. In igo the loading.bmp is in the branding.zip file. In primo it's in the data.zip.
Use winrar to open .zip or double click it.
BrutaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 01:49 PM   #300
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
In primo, you can actually change it without overwriting it. You create a new folder in the igoprimo folder called ui_igo9 then inside of that make a folder called 800_480 (if that is your resolution) and drop your custom loading.bmp in there, so \igoprimo\ui_igo9\800_480\loading.bmp. Primo will use that for your loading.bmp rather than the one in the data.zip
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use