E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 127 votes, 4.97 average.
Old 12-07-2010, 11:57 AM   #821
headhunter1994
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 5
My Ride: 2001 X5 4.4
How long would you say it takes the GPS to pick up a satellite from when the NAV powers up? I would say on AVG it takes 1-2mins...seems abnormally long, no? Is this normal or could it be a placement issue of transmitter? I had a buddy install it and waiting to hearing back from him as to where exactly it is, but it is not visable.

Any thoughts?

BTW - I have a 2001 X5

Last edited by headhunter1994; 12-07-2010 at 11:58 AM.
headhunter1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 12:56 PM   #822
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
yeah, it should take about 20 seconds, not minutes. Relocate the GPS antenna.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 12:59 PM   #823
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddkageals View Post
Ok. So I cut the orange wire on the Fakra? Then attach the orange to a red on the car? Anyone got a pic or diagram of this? I guess this means the buttons will illuminate all the time, not just when the headlights are on? Seems like they could have fixed this by now.

Cut the orange in the fakra harness and splice it to the red in the fakra harness, that way when the red wire is hot, your lights will turn on. You can also cut the orange and attach it to any lighting wire. Most guys prefer the orange to red splice as it is VERY easy and can be done entirely in the Fakra harness. The fakra is used on MANY differnt vehicles and the illumination wire is not always present in the factory trunk plug so thats why you have to do this little mod to the harness.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 12-07-2010 at 01:00 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 01:46 PM   #824
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Just a heads up for you E90 owners......

Dynavin is introducing a new model for the E9X. Yes, the first pic is a photoshop but there are soon to be "real" pics as the E9X community starts to get these navigation systems installed. Guinea Pigs needed, Email or PM me for details.





Same as the E46 it offers the following basic functionality:

DVD/CD/MP3 etc...
iPod
USB audio/Video
SD Card Audio/Video
Bluetooth phone
Bluetooth Audio Streaming
AM/FM Radio
Navigation
Auxiliary Audio/Video input
Audio/Video outputs
Optional Digital TV


plus more possibilities including car internet with accessory products and/or hacks....

It should be pretty much plug and play on most non-idrive E9Xs using the oem plugs, no cutting or splicing required and will retain the steering wheel controls. Until a lot of them get installed we wont know exactly what different vehicle configurations are out there however so the picture will become more clear as time goes on.


UPDATE:

Here are a couple REAL pics of the units I got in the other day....I apologize for the somewhat obscure pics but dynavin asked that I keep a few trades secrets......secret....until the product sees wider release.




.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 12-07-2010 at 03:32 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 02:07 PM   #825
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
Jeff,

I just sent a pic of that unit yesterday to my e90 friend. He wants one badly. What do you need in the way of Guinea Pigs?
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 03:16 PM   #826
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
I would prefer local but Im not getting much interest yet so ill take what I can get!

I just need a guy who is capable of doing the install and reporting back his experience. The unit itself is pretty much the same as the E46 so I dont need a review, I just need somebody who can handle the install. Its a little more involved than the E46 install but its not rocket science. I have a PDF from dynavin that will guide you through. You guys want to give it a go? Ill need a pic of his dash first though to confirm compatibility......there will be a guinea pig discount
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 12-07-2010 at 03:34 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 03:36 PM   #827
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
I will be doing the install for him, I am more than capable. What kind of discount are we talking?
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:15 PM   #828
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
email me for details. You guys would be a good candidate since I know you know your way around the dynavin....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:33 PM   #829
belezaman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2000 328Ci
Need help adjusting JL Slash 500/1 v2 Amp
ok so this is my setup... i have a new Dynavin V5, a BSW stage 1, a JL 12W6v2, a JL Slash 500/1v2 and i don't know how to tune my Amp. (i know, i know.. lol) i wanted some of your opinions on how i should set up the settings on the amp...



just tell me what should be where...
incase your wondering i want it loud and thumping... but not distorted
(i posted this on the Soundwerks Thread and got no responses)

Thank You

Last edited by belezaman; 12-07-2010 at 04:34 PM.
belezaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 06:39 PM   #830
toddkageals
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Roanoke
Posts: 779
My Ride: 2008 335i sport/prem
Got another question. Does the Dynavin have an auto dim feature? The NAV. Display was awfully bright tonight! Also, no text to speech? Last.....the top of the display screen is slightly obscured by the bezel, and adjustment available for this?

Thanks for the help guys.
toddkageals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:40 PM   #831
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddkageals View Post
Got another question. Does the Dynavin have an auto dim feature? The NAV. Display was awfully bright tonight! Also, no text to speech? Last.....the top of the display screen is slightly obscured by the bezel, and adjustment available for this?

Thanks for the help guys.
Only the buttons and knobs can auto dim with your lights, not the screen itself.
You can set the nav to automatically use a night theme so it's not bright like the day theme, look through the settings.
Yes iGO/Primo does support text to speech (TTS), check out the iGO Priomo thread for how to set it up.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 09:15 PM   #832
toddkageals
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Roanoke
Posts: 779
My Ride: 2008 335i sport/prem
OK....I'm going to get Primo for sure. Finished wiring tonight and found another issue. I have a v5 Dynavin and 4th gen. Ipod touch. They do NOT play well together. Sometimes it works, sometimes it refuses to do anything. Sometimes a menu bar with arrows to control the selection will appear, sometimes not. There is a distinct buzz/popping noise through the speakers when the Ipod is selected (on audible at relatively soft volumes but still). There's not even an icon that appears to get back to the source selection screen. Also NOT a fan of that source selection screen. Would have much prefered some colorful icons instead of having to touch the text on the wheel (that's a minor thing though). Am I doing something wrong on the Ipod? Maybe the V5 Dynavin and V4 Ipod touch are not compatible? Sorta disappointed with this feature as it exists right now and with the interface too. Forgot to mention that even the text at the top of the screen when the ipod is selected is screwed up. It's like the words are laying on top of one another and even a character or two is replaced by some sort of oriental character! I waited until V5......feeling like I should have waited for V7!

Last edited by toddkageals; 12-07-2010 at 09:18 PM.
toddkageals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 09:21 PM   #833
toddkageals
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Roanoke
Posts: 779
My Ride: 2008 335i sport/prem
They SHOULD have put a light sensor in the thing that would dim the screen when it's dark in the car. Even my portable GPS systems did this.
toddkageals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 09:24 PM   #834
belezaman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2000 328Ci
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by belezaman View Post
Need help adjusting JL Slash 500/1 v2 Amp
ok so this is my setup... i have a new Dynavin V5, a BSW stage 1, a JL 12W6v2, a JL Slash 500/1v2 and i don't know how to tune my Amp. (i know, i know.. lol) i wanted some of your opinions on how i should set up the settings on the amp...



just tell me what should be where...
incase your wondering i want it loud and thumping... but not distorted
(i posted this on the Soundwerks Thread and got no responses)

Thank You
atleast send me in the right direction for adjusting JL amps... i don't even know where the gain is... to me this is gibberish...
belezaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 09:38 PM   #835
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddkageals View Post
They SHOULD have put a light sensor in the thing that would dim the screen when it's dark in the car. Even my portable GPS systems did this.
No offence but if you had researched enough before purchasing anything then you should know what you're buying and the features it has, so if you don't like something or it hasn't got the features you want then you simply don't buy it, it's no use buying something first and then complaining that it hasn't got this or it doesn't do that.
Like any product, Dynavin is offered with the features it has, it's not custom made to suit every customer's individual request or preference.
It is what it is, you either like it and buy it or you don't.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 09:39 PM   #836
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
email me for details. You guys would be a good candidate since I know you know your way around the dynavin....
Emailed you
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 11:21 PM   #837
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddkageals View Post
OK....I'm going to get Primo for sure. Finished wiring tonight and found another issue. I have a v5 Dynavin and 4th gen. Ipod touch. They do NOT play well together. Sometimes it works, sometimes it refuses to do anything. Sometimes a menu bar with arrows to control the selection will appear, sometimes not. There is a distinct buzz/popping noise through the speakers when the Ipod is selected (on audible at relatively soft volumes but still). There's not even an icon that appears to get back to the source selection screen. Also NOT a fan of that source selection screen. Would have much prefered some colorful icons instead of having to touch the text on the wheel (that's a minor thing though). Am I doing something wrong on the Ipod? Maybe the V5 Dynavin and V4 Ipod touch are not compatible? Sorta disappointed with this feature as it exists right now and with the interface too. Forgot to mention that even the text at the top of the screen when the ipod is selected is screwed up. It's like the words are laying on top of one another and even a character or two is replaced by some sort of oriental character! I waited until V5......feeling like I should have waited for V7!
you shouldnt get any popping.....if you are there might be something wrong with your cable.....but first do a restore on your ipod...99% of the ipod issues I have heard about are solved by a restore....the touch works fine with the dynavin so it is something specific to your setup.

As I said in the my write up and my FAQ, the ipod pop up menu touch screen stuff isnt very good, use the remote or the steering wheel controls for much easier ipod navigation.

you can change the screen brightness by pressing the volume knob a few times until you get to the brightness and contrast controls.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 11:27 PM   #838
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by belezaman View Post
atleast send me in the right direction for adjusting JL amps... i don't even know where the gain is... to me this is gibberish...
no can do my friend.....if you are going to be installing and owning an amp you really need to learn this stuff, there are no "right" settings, thats why you arent getting any responses, there are only settings that are correct for your car and your equipment.

start by googling: GAIN, CROSSOVER,

then your head will explode.....

....but.....

teach a man to fish.......
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 06:31 AM   #839
TRBOVNM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 436
My Ride: 04 330 CI/04 Cobra
Send a message via AIM to TRBOVNM
and if you don't want to learn or get too frustrated, go to a local stereo shop and pay them and watch what they do and ask questions.

Last edited by TRBOVNM; 12-08-2010 at 06:34 AM.
TRBOVNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 06:59 AM   #840
Dan Rodriguez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Korea
Posts: 54
My Ride: 02 SMG M3 Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddkageals View Post
OK....I'm going to get Primo for sure. Finished wiring tonight and found another issue. I have a v5 Dynavin and 4th gen. Ipod touch. They do NOT play well together. Sometimes it works, sometimes it refuses to do anything. Sometimes a menu bar with arrows to control the selection will appear, sometimes not. There is a distinct buzz/popping noise through the speakers when the Ipod is selected (on audible at relatively soft volumes but still). There's not even an icon that appears to get back to the source selection screen. Also NOT a fan of that source selection screen. Would have much prefered some colorful icons instead of having to touch the text on the wheel (that's a minor thing though). Am I doing something wrong on the Ipod? Maybe the V5 Dynavin and V4 Ipod touch are not compatible? Sorta disappointed with this feature as it exists right now and with the interface too. Forgot to mention that even the text at the top of the screen when the ipod is selected is screwed up. It's like the words are laying on top of one another and even a character or two is replaced by some sort of oriental character! I waited until V5......feeling like I should have waited for V7!
I also get the buzzing only when I have the Ipod selected (5th gen Nano). Hopefully it is not a problem with the cable like Jeff suggested. I was kind of wondering that myself actually. I will try the Ipod restore and see if it works.

The Ipod interface is definitely the area that has the most room for improvement with the Dynavin. Apparently they are working on the "resume" feature so you don't have to set up your Ipod every time you restart the car. I also hope they bring back the feature where the arrows on the steering wheel advance/replay tracks. I have not updated my firmware because of this. I'd also like to see them make it so that the "random" button on the Dynavin menu/remote activates the "shuffle" feature of the Ipod.
Dan Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use