E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 101 votes, 4.96 average.
Old 05-07-2011, 07:27 PM   #1721
Deltaboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
Posts: 10
My Ride: E46 330Ci Sport
V5 Droid

Hi all.

Have been in the shadows for some time, so I'd just like to say hi, I have a 330ci and am awaiting the arival of my v5 Dynavin, should have been delivered today but... mailman sucks. I have been sooooo excited but alas I saw one thread entitled Dynavin Android and its all gone south.

Has anyone else just purchased a v5 WinCe only to find its gonna outta date real quick because the v5 Android is out, short changed I think so!!!!

D
Deltaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 08:40 PM   #1722
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
well....the android unit is a totally different thing....it needs to be tethered for much of it to function. It is only what you make out of it so you need to be somewhat technically savvy to make the most of it.

The windows unit is much more conventional, plug it in, set some basic settings, and use it.

So while the android unit is a really cool addition to Dynavin's offerings and is fantastic for some of us, if you want a conventional CD/DVD/Bluetooth/ipod/Navigation system, the windows unit is still probably a better choice.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 05-07-2011 at 08:42 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 08:53 PM   #1723
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spd_legend View Post
So I'm trying to upgrade to iGO8.3 and I keep getting the following message: "Failed to load ui_igo8/800_480/loading.bmp" "Application will now exit" I've very computer literate and this is driving me absolutely crazy. I've obviously replaced the appropriate .bmp files in both branding.zip and data.zip, I'm thinking something is not right in my sys.txt configuration. Could somebody who is running 8.3 show me what their sys.txt looks like? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, thanks.

I tried deleting the contents of SAVE folder also, same thing happens.............
I think you'd be better off with iGO Primo, better functionality and easier to use.
Download link here, scroll down to post #424..........
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...797457&page=15
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 08:25 PM   #1724
TitanSilverE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 276
My Ride: 2001 318i & 325i
Interesting problem:-
My Dynavin was failing to respond to touchscreen commands ... switched off/on several times ... even got to the stage of pressing the reset pin in desperation (losing all my preset Radio channels of course ) and then I realised I had just fitted one of the anti-glare plastic strips that came with my unit. (BTW I had to cut 1mm from side and top so it would sit flat against the screen.)
So .... removed anti-glare screen and all touchscreen commands work again.
Anyone else noticed this?
__________________
TitanSilverE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 11:08 PM   #1725
tesko.pk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 330
My Ride: 2003 530i
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanSilverE46 View Post
Interesting problem:-
My Dynavin was failing to respond to touchscreen commands ... switched off/on several times ... even got to the stage of pressing the reset pin in desperation (losing all my preset Radio channels of course ) and then I realised I had just fitted one of the anti-glare plastic strips that came with my unit. (BTW I had to cut 1mm from side and top so it would sit flat against the screen.)
So .... removed anti-glare screen and all touchscreen commands work again.
Anyone else noticed this?
Yee, had the same thing happen to me this weekend when I installed my V5A. I can live without the anti-glare plastic
tesko.pk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 11:23 PM   #1726
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanSilverE46 View Post
Interesting problem:-
My Dynavin was failing to respond to touchscreen commands ... switched off/on several times ... even got to the stage of pressing the reset pin in desperation (losing all my preset Radio channels of course ) and then I realised I had just fitted one of the anti-glare plastic strips that came with my unit. (BTW I had to cut 1mm from side and top so it would sit flat against the screen.)
So .... removed anti-glare screen and all touchscreen commands work again.
Anyone else noticed this?
Has been known and discussed quite a few times......
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
typically when there are problems, they are the same over and over, and ive seen this screen protector one dozens of times, Ive not yet seen a touch screen fail. If he takes off the screen protector it will work fine.
__________________

Last edited by Darkoz; 05-08-2011 at 11:26 PM.
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 12:46 PM   #1727
BrutaL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: City Life
Posts: 228
My Ride: E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spd_legend View Post
So I'm trying to upgrade to iGO8.3 and I keep getting the following message: "Failed to load ui_igo8/800_480/loading.bmp" "Application will now exit" I've very computer literate and this is driving me absolutely crazy. I've obviously replaced the appropriate .bmp files in both branding.zip and data.zip, I'm thinking something is not right in my sys.txt configuration. Could somebody who is running 8.3 show me what their sys.txt looks like? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, thanks.

I tried deleting the contents of SAVE folder also, same thing happens.

Clip from my sys.txt (I have a folder named iGO8 on the root of my SD card, all the stuff is in there):

[project]
name="tw_pna"

[folders]
app="StorageCard/iGO8"

[interface]
skin="ui_igo8"
laneinfo_signpost_enabeled=1
maxzoom2d=6900000
show_exit=1
show_tmc_eventlist=1
resolution_dir="800_480"
show_zoombar=1
shutdown_time=0
exit_on_restart=0


[rawdisplay]
screen_x=800
screen_y=480
Vga=1
highres=0
class="landscape"
driver="GX"
rawdisplay=GX
gx_force_using_dll=1
1. typo?

fyi: im running primo 2.1 now. consider switching to primo.
BrutaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:48 AM   #1728
TitanSilverE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 276
My Ride: 2001 318i & 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanSilverE46 View Post
Yes, I followed the directions given me to use the IR remote, go into AUX and hold down "9" to go into the service? menu. At the bottom was "AMP" which I changed from "No" to "Yes".

Will do a drive around and see how it feels. At rest 4-5 is quite loud enough - maybe when driving a suitable higher level will be needed.

As "fadeaway" says, it could be from "Yes" to "No" so I will try both.

Cheers to all.
Tried both "Yes" and "No". On "Yes" a volume of 10 was equivalent to about 5 on "No" so there is definitely a drop in output as required.

Next newbie question
The manual shows a "Phone Book OSD" which I don't seem to be able to find. Bluetooth has paired up correctly and we can make and receive calls using the keypad and steering wheel button to answer ... but can't find where to store the numbers/contact list?

Anyone, please?
__________________
TitanSilverE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 03:49 AM   #1729
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanSilverE46 View Post
...........Next newbie question
The manual shows a "Phone Book OSD" which I don't seem to be able to find. Bluetooth has paired up correctly and we can make and receive calls using the keypad and steering wheel button to answer ... but can't find where to store the numbers/contact list?

Anyone, please?
Unfortunately no contact list on the screen with the Dynavin, a simple feature that has been ignored.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 04:35 AM   #1730
TitanSilverE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 276
My Ride: 2001 318i & 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
Unfortunately no contact list on the screen with the Dynavin, a simple feature that has been ignored.
Hmmmm! I wonder why the Dynavin User Manual on Page 15 has:-

Phone Book OSD:

(Picture of this screen)

This function can record the numbers you called, received call and missed call.
Interface Keys:
1. touch "CALLING" key lightly to check the calling numbers.
2. touch "RECEIVING" key lightly to check the received call.
3. touch "QUESTION" key lightly to check the missed all.
4. touch "RETURN" key lightly to return to the main menu.
5. touch "UP" key lightly to return the last catalogue.
__________________
TitanSilverE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 05:29 AM   #1731
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanSilverE46 View Post
Hmmmm! I wonder why the Dynavin User Manual on Page 15 has:-

Phone Book OSD:

(Picture of this screen)

This function can record the numbers you called, received call and missed call.
Interface Keys:
1. touch "CALLING" key lightly to check the calling numbers.
2. touch "RECEIVING" key lightly to check the received call.
3. touch "QUESTION" key lightly to check the missed all.
4. touch "RETURN" key lightly to return to the main menu.
5. touch "UP" key lightly to return the last catalogue.
It'll only show the missed and called numbers only but it won't display the contact name and even then it's not that good as most times the unit will lock up if you try and scroll through the numbers list.
What I'm talking about is that it will not display your phone's contact list on the screen, so unless you know the number from memory you still have to use your phone to make a call.
__________________

Last edited by Darkoz; 05-10-2011 at 05:32 AM.
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 06:35 AM   #1732
Deltaboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
Posts: 10
My Ride: E46 330Ci Sport
Difficult install and no backlight buttons

Hi all.

Just add some feedback re my recent install, had the day off all keyed up to crack on, removed old stereo, all fine, went to the boot and started to remove the old CD changer and radio unit then ran into a problem...

On the images of the DIY it shows a connector that is completely different to the one I had, image shows large boxy connector with flat pins, I have smaller connector with round pins.

In my Dynavin box I received three main cables the Fakra 5M cable with the flat pins, a small loom with flat pins for if you have the business unit and a small loom for business unit with round pins.

Contacted my supplier and they replied back to say I need to cut and shut the cables matching the colours for it to work, so much for plug and play!!! one trip to the Auto electrician I had one Fakra Loom out of two and it works but be aware in a small number of cases some E46's have round pin connectors...

Spliced the Red and Orange Fakra cables to get backlit buttons but is there anyway to make them dim with the dash lights..

All help appreciated.

Last edited by Deltaboy; 05-10-2011 at 05:08 PM.
Deltaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 11:09 AM   #1733
Screamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
My Ride: 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanSilverE46 View Post
(I do like the BMW screen)
How do I upload(?) / get a BMW logo at start up?
Screamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:28 PM   #1734
currenssy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 4
My Ride: 2001 BMW 330CI
I really hope someones still on here! I got OEM NAV so i have the fakra cable, but the female end to it in the trunk looks like the female end in this unit in the dash using rounder pegs to fit in. Is this something abnormal? My Fakra looks like the one in the DIY below for factory NAV but the female end looks different! I really need help on how to rectify this! Thanks.

Last edited by currenssy; 05-21-2011 at 02:24 PM. Reason: Sorry about quoting the original post. Thought i deleted that out and i havent been on here since so i didnt get to delete
currenssy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:31 PM   #1735
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
Some cars have the round pin connector in the trunk, in these cases you need to cut then end off the Fakra cable and splice on the round pin connector from the "other" harness that came with your unit. No big deal, look at them and figure it out in advance, it will make sense if you lay the cables side by side and understand what each wire does.

By the way....you probably shouldn't quote a post of that size.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:36 PM   #1736
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by currenssy View Post
I really hope someones still on here! I got OEM NAV so i have the fakra cable, but the female end to it in the trunk looks like the female end in this unit in the dash using rounder pegs to fit in. Is this something abnormal? My Fakra looks like the one in the DIY below for factory NAV but the female end looks different! I really need help on how to rectify this! Thanks.
Jeez man, no need to quote a million pics.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:50 PM   #1737
Jall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Melbourne, AUS
Posts: 988
My Ride: 328Ci
Like Jeff said, its a splice job. You'll Also need to splice the Orange Dynavin wire into the red/grey wire found in the blue connector behind the headunit for illumination.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Bimmer App
__________________
Jall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 11:17 AM   #1738
2000_328CI
DK Jack Sparrow
 
2000_328CI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Isla de Muerta | DC/VA
Posts: 29,023
My Ride: 328Ci | Range Rover
Send a message via AIM to 2000_328CI Send a message via MSN to 2000_328CI
For those looking to upgrade to Primo, iGo8.3, and Wolf, shoot me a PM
__________________

Everything you need to know on muffler deletes : http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=745244
2000_328CI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:55 PM   #1739
opey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: long island
Posts: 589
My Ride: 04 M3 coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by currenssy View Post
I really hope someones still on here! I got OEM NAV so i have the fakra cable, but the female end to it in the trunk looks like the female end in this unit in the dash using rounder pegs to fit in. Is this something abnormal? My Fakra looks like the one in the DIY below for factory NAV but the female end looks different! I really need help on how to rectify this! Thanks.
WHYY would you quote that whole huge post???
__________________

IR/IR 6 speed
opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 07:50 PM   #1740
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Yes, currenssy would you mind deleting that huge quote please.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use