E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2010, 07:11 PM   #1
toocontray91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: in space
Posts: 161
My Ride: mabey 06 330i i hope
Question sub to amp wiring? (after market)

I have a 4 ohm KIcker L5 and my amp is 2 channel and capable of 2 ohm load, but all the wiring diagrams show i can only wire the sub to a 4 ohm load (bridged) but if the amp were mono block then it can be 2 ohm load. dont make sence to me. whats the difference "mono or bridged"? the same isnt it (out put wise)? get wat im saying?? If you bridge an amp it is more less considered mono"ed" or what ever right. omg my head hurts now plz help!
toocontray91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 09-28-2010, 07:24 PM   #2
jinxie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: STL - PHX
Posts: 136
My Ride: 2000 BMW 323ci
if you wanted to run your amps at a 2-ohm load to draw more power from it.... you would need a 2-ohm speaker or multiple speakers that you could wire into 2-ohms. if you have a single 4-ohm speaker, you're pretty much limited to running it @ 4-ohms.

is it a single or dual voice-coil speaker?
jinxie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:54 AM   #3
toocontray91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: in space
Posts: 161
My Ride: mabey 06 330i i hope
It is a dvc kicker l5 1200 watt max 600rms. I hav found many wiring diagrams and it show if I had a mono amp the 4 ohm dvc sub can be wired at 2 ohm but it shows that on a two channel amp it can't be done by even bridging it. That's what don't make since to me. What is the difference between a bridged amp and a mono block amp?
toocontray91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:59 AM   #4
E46_330i_Stud
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 1,888
My Ride: 2004 330ci ZHP 6MT
Basically when you "bridge" an amp your wiring both or multiple channels together to help each other produce more power. So most amps are only capable down to 2 ohms per channel. If you were to bridge an amp down to 2 ohms, each channel would be running at 1 ohm and would probably burn it up. Your best bet I think would be to wire each 4 ohm voice coil to each channel. If you want more power I would suggest either buying a mono amp or getting a dual 2 ohm sub.
__________________


1995 325i 5mt ArcticGrey/Dove - SOLD
2004 330ci ZHP 6MT SilberGrau/Black - SOLD
2001 330i M-Sport 5MT StaulGrau/Grey - SOLD
1992 Accord LX Sedan 275k miles all original - DAILY
2002 Chevy Suburban LT Autoride - TOY HAULER
2005 GMC Sierra 2500HD SLT - RACE TRUCK!
E46_330i_Stud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 02:12 PM   #5
toocontray91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: in space
Posts: 161
My Ride: mabey 06 330i i hope
thanks
toocontray91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:18 PM   #6
jinxie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: STL - PHX
Posts: 136
My Ride: 2000 BMW 323ci
i think i may have misunderstood what you meant when i first read your post....
if you want to take your amp and bridge it into a 2-ohm load on a 4-ohm DVC sub, it's pretty simple, all you have to do is run the 2 voice coils in parallel, like this:
*see attachment*
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DVC_Parallel_1.gif
Views:	71
Size:	6.8 KB
ID:	377661  
jinxie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 11:58 AM   #7
toocontray91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: in space
Posts: 161
My Ride: mabey 06 330i i hope
See iv looked at a few wiring wizards/diagrams and you can wire a 2ohm sub with mono amp to a 4 or 1 ohm load and the 4 ohm subs can be wired to a 2 ohm load or 8 ohm (I think) but that's what I can't figure out. With my amp bridged it puts out a 2 ohm load but the wiring diagram ses with a two channel amp you only get 4 ohm (pushed to the sub)bridged.
Another question is how much difference is there in spl and sq between 2 ohm load and 4 ohm load. I know that when you have a lower ohm"age" or how ever you say that" you get more sound pressure level but how much more you get from a 2 ohm difference(I'm a spl guy)? Can't be too much can it? Jinxie I just blew a kicker l7 10 by wiring it that way that's why I'm asking about this. But that's the way it shows to get 2 ohm load with mono. So maby my amp does puxh one ohm but not stable enuff to keep from blowing the sub??? Hmm that's a thought.
toocontray91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 07:18 PM   #8
jinxie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: STL - PHX
Posts: 136
My Ride: 2000 BMW 323ci
mono or 2-channel bridged is irrelevant. if your amp is stable @2-ohms bridged, then you should be fine wiring it that way... as far as SPL increase, there's no way i could tell you that. the true spl that you'd get would be determined by a lot of different factors (box design, interior of your vehicle, amount of power your amp is really putting out, amount of current your amp is drawing,etc.)
if you really want to know, i would suggest seeing if a local shop near you has an spl meter that you can use to test it with.
jinxie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use