E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2010, 03:31 PM   #1
TaZaM3
Psshhhht M3
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cali
Posts: 5,940
My Ride: E46 M3
Tech Q: Where to get gear position input from?

Anyone know where to get the gear position input from for a manual E46 M3? I need to wire up the AMS 1000 boost controller and im going to do gear based boost control. I know where the gear position sensor is on the back of the tranny but there has to be an easier wire to connect to. Anyone know?
TaZaM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-06-2010, 08:37 PM   #2
InDiGlOM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Copperas Cove
Posts: 1,502
My Ride: HPF M3 stg 2.5
Send a message via AIM to InDiGlOM3 Send a message via Yahoo to InDiGlOM3
Its a wire inside the factory DME, but dont know which one lol Ill try to find out and post up tomorrow if someone else dont beat me to it.

Maybe you could try to be more percise with it and do speed base boost control like the hpf tc
__________________

Last edited by InDiGlOM3; 10-06-2010 at 08:39 PM.
InDiGlOM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:09 PM   #3
TaZaM3
Psshhhht M3
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cali
Posts: 5,940
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by InDiGlOM3 View Post
Its a wire inside the factory DME, but dont know which one lol Ill try to find out and post up tomorrow if someone else dont beat me to it.

Maybe you could try to be more percise with it and do speed base boost control like the hpf tc
Thanks for the help! The wire at the ecu would be perfect.

The AMS 1000 is considered the best boost controller on the market. It doesn't have speed based control but it has time and gear. I definitely want gear based. I have good traction now but I want to prep for the 1/4 mile and play with boost.

Also I can play with ramp rates in each gear which would be awesome. There's also a launch mode I will be using with the 2 step anti lag I'm enabling in the AEM.
TaZaM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:43 PM   #4
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,864
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Sounds like a good plan taza! Looking forward to seeing some vids!
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:53 PM   #5
BadBoostedBmwM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Louisville
Posts: 911
My Ride: 323i & e36 Turbo M3
Antilag and gear based boost control...

Can we say 160mph traps and the first 10 second e46 m3.
__________________
This is my signature....
BadBoostedBmwM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 01:49 AM   #6
TaZaM3
Psshhhht M3
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cali
Posts: 5,940
My Ride: E46 M3
I wish 160! Not with this turbo (not without nitrous ). I can see 154 mph happening but not much more (at a good track).
TaZaM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:02 AM   #7
PEI330Ci
58mm of Bliss
 
PEI330Ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: PEI,Canada
Posts: 4,018
My Ride: 330i, 330Ci
Vic,

If you're not able to get this signal from the DME, most higher end stand alone ECUs do this no problem. You would be able to swap out the AEM for a Vi-Pec V88, or Cosworth SQ6 for example, and they both can do everything the AEM can do in addition to using an ABS sensor signal in combination with RPM to calculate gear position. As an example, the gear position you see on Mert's dash display comes from the SQ6.

I'm familiar with the AMS1000, and think you've made a very good choice.
PEI330Ci is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:58 AM   #8
bobm3
Senior Eurowerkz Member
 
bobm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: bklyn
Posts: 12,731
My Ride: 2003m3smg
good luck to you taz hope you are the first to break 11 seconds

hope very thing works out for you.... and it is funny because when i saw your tread and you mention nos. the first person i thought of for input was adam
and the next thing i saw was his post.... have to say adam you are fast lolllll.. but anyway happy you finally have traction with your ride....

but i want to ask you taz are you going to put on slicks or the race radials on your ride when you shoot for the sub 11 seconds 1/4 mile time......??????
but i hope for the best for you and hope you don't break anything in your runs....
bob
__________________
bobm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:50 AM   #9
ZiMMie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 103
My Ride: S54E36.
there is a sensor for a Gear Identification switch.But not a Gear position signal. I don't know what type of sensor or signal this is sending to the DME.
One thing i know it does on the MSS50 (S50B32) its raises idle when the clutch is depress so the car doesn't get stalled. Ive also notice the same thing on the MSS54.
All it may be doing is just detection clutch input/output or it may be a hall type sensor that detects gear position..

Ive never looked into this so let me know your findings.

The pin u are looking for is Pin 20 on the 24pin connector on the ECU. Measure what type of signal its is before taping into it.

Good Luck.
__________________

Last edited by ZiMMie; 10-07-2010 at 08:52 AM.
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:01 AM   #10
bluejeansonfire
ninja editor
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: florida
Posts: 2,185
My Ride: shaken, not stirred
Send a message via AIM to bluejeansonfire
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaZaM3 View Post
Anyone know where to get the gear position input from for a manual E46 M3? I need to wire up the AMS 1000 boost controller and im going to do gear based boost control. I know where the gear position sensor is on the back of the tranny but there has to be an easier wire to connect to. Anyone know?
maybe im just uninformed, but as far as i know, the only connector on the tranny is for reverse... gear would need to be calculated from rpm and speed.
__________________

__________________
2001 330ci TT turbo
e46nonm.com | TechniqueTuning.com | Precision-Sport.com
bluejeansonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:05 AM   #11
ZiMMie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 103
My Ride: S54E36.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluejeansonfire View Post
maybe im just uninformed, but as far as i know, the only connector on the tranny is for reverse... gear would need to be calculated from rpm and speed.
maybe, there is 2 switches on the S6S 420G. 1 for reverse the other is for Gear Identification.
__________________
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:41 AM   #12
TaZaM3
Psshhhht M3
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cali
Posts: 5,940
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZiMMie View Post
there is a sensor for a Gear Identification switch.But not a Gear position signal. I don't know what type of sensor or signal this is sending to the DME.
One thing i know it does on the MSS50 (S50B32) its raises idle when the clutch is depress so the car doesn't get stalled. Ive also notice the same thing on the MSS54.
All it may be doing is just detection clutch input/output or it may be a hall type sensor that detects gear position..

Ive never looked into this so let me know your findings.

The pin u are looking for is Pin 20 on the 24pin connector on the ECU. Measure what type of signal its is before taping into it.

Good Luck.
Thanks for the help, the gear identification input is exactly what i need. The AMS 1000 also has an input that can identify gears by voltage change. 0-5 volts, if each gear creates different voltage in a wire then i can set the gears in the AMS, so maybe I can use that instead. But again thanks, I will check this out!
TaZaM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:43 AM   #13
TaZaM3
Psshhhht M3
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cali
Posts: 5,940
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluejeansonfire View Post
maybe im just uninformed, but as far as i know, the only connector on the tranny is for reverse... gear would need to be calculated from rpm and speed.
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...98&hg=23&fg=10

#2 in the picture, gear identification switch. It is mounted on the back of the transmission. Pretty sure it should be for all gears, not sure if SMG has a different connector but SMG definitely reads you the gear position.
TaZaM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:50 AM   #14
bluejeansonfire
ninja editor
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: florida
Posts: 2,185
My Ride: shaken, not stirred
Send a message via AIM to bluejeansonfire
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaZaM3 View Post
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...98&hg=23&fg=10

#2 in the picture, gear identification switch. It is mounted on the back of the transmission. Pretty sure it should be for all gears, not sure if SMG has a different connector but SMG definitely reads you the gear position.
that's not the transmission, that's the SMG "shifter" assembly, that's where the shifter goes in a six speed. I mean, SMG displays gear on the dash, calculations have to be made for rev-matching.... maybe there's something else for manual shift?

#18 is what I was addressing as a device that would be able to read gear position, in the tranny.
__________________

__________________
2001 330ci TT turbo
e46nonm.com | TechniqueTuning.com | Precision-Sport.com
bluejeansonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:59 AM   #15
TaZaM3
Psshhhht M3
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cali
Posts: 5,940
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluejeansonfire View Post
that's not the transmission, that's the SMG "shifter" assembly, that's where the shifter goes in a six speed. I mean, SMG displays gear on the dash, calculations have to be made for rev-matching.... maybe there's something else for manual shift?

#18 is what I was addressing as a device that would be able to read gear position, in the tranny.
You are right, that is for SMG. M3F had a thread about this and it appears that they are wrong.

But #18 is only a reverse light input, that would do me no good. If i can at least find a location that creates different voltage for each gear then I can use that as well.
TaZaM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 11:03 AM   #16
bluejeansonfire
ninja editor
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: florida
Posts: 2,185
My Ride: shaken, not stirred
Send a message via AIM to bluejeansonfire
I think a very simple device has to be made by someone out there that can read wheel speed sensors and rpm and should be able to calibrate voltages to any car and derive gear based on user input... it's very, very simple math.
__________________

__________________
2001 330ci TT turbo
e46nonm.com | TechniqueTuning.com | Precision-Sport.com
bluejeansonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:27 PM   #17
ZiMMie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 103
My Ride: S54E36.
^ it doesn't show on realoem but Non-SMG has a similar sensor as well.
__________________
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:19 PM   #18
Fuerza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 244
My Ride: XXX
Awesome plan, good luck!
Fuerza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use