E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2015, 12:29 PM   #1
mikeekim89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: uk
Posts: 4
My Ride: e46 323ci
my stereo won't work...

Hi guys.. New here but stuck. I've had my e46 for near a year now and a couple of months ago I put my battery on backwards.. Killed my alternator and a couple of fuses Plus window relays.

Now I've fixed the fuses and alternator and windows are going in for a gm5 recode unless I find another repair.

But my problem is my radio. It's the Philips nav obc radio. The one with the small screen. Tape deck and orange screen.

Basically before I put my battery on backwards it worked perfectly and now it's dead. No noise at all but my obc and nav works perfectly. The audio button doesn't go anywhere but take me too a menu saying autostore and Rds I replaced the fuse on the back of the Cd changer and it checks cds now but still no noise.. No fuse invite back of the radio either so no idea what too do. Unplugged it all and plugged it in. All fuses in the glovebox are perfect and the one in the Cd changer too.. Any ideas would be appreciated as it plays nothing. No control of it going into service mode too as I don't know how too get it there..


It's the model picture. I'll get a pic of mine in a minute for you too see.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	$_1.JPG
Views:	29
Size:	5.0 KB
ID:	590050  
mikeekim89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-12-2015, 01:02 PM   #2
mikeekim89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: uk
Posts: 4
My Ride: e46 323ci
Mine.. It's got a 12 pin blue connector too..no fuse. It does sometimes say audio too..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150212_183823.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	113.7 KB
ID:	590058   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150212_183833.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	590059   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150212_183844.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	590060  
mikeekim89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 01:12 PM   #3
mikeekim89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: uk
Posts: 4
My Ride: e46 323ci
.....

Last edited by mikeekim89; 02-12-2015 at 01:12 PM. Reason: double post
mikeekim89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 08:34 AM   #4
markusmarkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,403
My Ride: 2001 330Ci
Check the fuses for the head unit. There may be an internal fuse in the head unit. It may be chicken, as in "fried" chicken!
markusmarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 09:33 AM   #5
mikeekim89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: uk
Posts: 4
My Ride: e46 323ci
I'll try opening the unit up.. But if it was fused would it not kill the screen too? Because it intermittently says audio.. Just no noise.
mikeekim89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 09:58 AM   #6
markusmarkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,403
My Ride: 2001 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeekim89 View Post
I'll try opening the unit up.. But if it was fused would it not kill the screen too? Because it intermittently says audio.. Just no noise.
Perhaps. Check it anyway.
markusmarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use