E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 16 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-15-2011, 08:38 PM   #41
cmpcpro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 932
My Ride: 2000 Mercedes S430
8: Do I need anything else?
You might want USB extensions so that you can easily access the USB plugs on the back of the unit once it is installed. There is a mini usb plug on the front that is tied internaly to one of the rear USBs and can be used to play music files and apply firmware updates but most people dont want a cord hanging off the dashboard and prefer to either use flush panel mount usbs or run the extensions to the glovebox. The dynavin also has an auxiliary audio video input, there are a number of cables that can be used with the aux in and which cord you might use depends on what you want to connect. The ipod video cord is the most common as it allows video to be played (the dynavins built in ipod cord is audio only)

I just ran a USB extension to my DVD-USB out my dash and under my steering wheel console because I thought I couldn't upgrade the V5 with the front mini USB.. thats not true?
cmpcpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:42 PM   #42
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
The front mini usb and the DVD USB are internally connected......same input.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 10:03 PM   #43
TRBOVNM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 436
My Ride: 04 330 CI/04 Cobra
Send a message via AIM to TRBOVNM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
The front mini usb and the DVD USB are internally connected......same input.
Thanks for the info Jeff. I wasn't sure if you posted this before. Glad I read this. I didn't even know that was a USB port on the front of the unit. I thought USB ports were more long and just rectangular looking.
TRBOVNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 10:21 PM   #44
cmpcpro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 932
My Ride: 2000 Mercedes S430
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
The front mini usb and the DVD USB are internally connected......same input.
Awesome so I ran it for nothing! Thanks again Jeff I read somewhere someone wasn't getting their unit to upgrade and they said it was solved by using the back cable.. Oh well..
cmpcpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 10:31 PM   #45
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmpcpro View Post
Awesome so I ran it for nothing! Thanks again Jeff I read somewhere someone wasn't getting their unit to upgrade and they said it was solved by using the back cable.. Oh well..
I saw that too but that is not proper operation, they could have been using a sketchy adapter cable or something....

who knows, too many variables.

you didnt run it for nothing.....if you ever want to try music off the USB this is how you would want to do it, I doubt you would want some adapter cable hanging off the front of your dynavin.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 01-15-2011 at 10:32 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:02 PM   #46
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
bump....because everyone considering a dynavin needs to read the OP...
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 06:56 AM   #47
Yossy11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 15
My Ride: 2002 M3 SMG2
sorry for a few same question for different theread.

I Just intalled dynavin V5 for my e46 M3 2002***65292;I have a few question to complete it.

1. In the boot, there is Fricka? plug has " Reverse, Parking and Amp con" connection, where are they connect it.
I going to install rear view camera soon, it will neseccery to connect properly I think

2. I got 3G USB modem. which USB terminal should I connect to Dynavin unit?
Dynavin ha 3 USB plug "DVD, GPS and front of Dynavin Uint"

3. Did you know how to set up the HSCP/ 3G modem with iPhone 3GS?
If you know any web link to "How to set it up", pls let me know.

4. I play ipod and FM radio on Dynavin, I found lots of noise.
How Can I connect noise filter come with Dynavin unit?


Please help it to perfect installation, thanks
Yossy11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:04 PM   #48
bimmerman11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 378
My Ride: 2005 330Xi
Send a message via AIM to bimmerman11
Does the new Dynavin work with the Intravee II to play my Ipod?
bimmerman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 07:52 PM   #49
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossy11 View Post
sorry for a few same question for different theread.

I Just intalled dynavin V5 for my e46 M3 2002***65292;I have a few question to complete it.

1. In the boot, there is Fricka? plug has " Reverse, Parking and Amp con" connection, where are they connect it.
I going to install rear view camera soon, it will neseccery to connect properly I think

2. I got 3G USB modem. which USB terminal should I connect to Dynavin unit?
Dynavin ha 3 USB plug "DVD, GPS and front of Dynavin Uint"

3. Did you know how to set up the HSCP/ 3G modem with iPhone 3GS?
If you know any web link to "How to set it up", pls let me know.

4. I play ipod and FM radio on Dynavin, I found lots of noise.
How Can I connect noise filter come with Dynavin unit?


Please help it to perfect installation, thanks
1. For the standard install you wont connect those to anything. If you install the camera you will connect the power wire on the camera to the reverse light circuit and the "reverse" wire on the dynavin.

2. GPS USB

3. Go to dynavin's website and follow your nose...

4. You need the LOCs, they go inline on the speaker wires on the dynavin harness, contact your dealer to get them.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 02:23 AM   #50
aar0n_91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 2,331
My Ride: 05 BMW325CI///MSport
in the post above it says you need LOC's to reduce noise. i thought these were built into V5. do i need to purchase additional items??
__________________

BMW 325 CI ///M-SPORT INDIVIDUAL
aar0n_91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 06:05 AM   #51
Flybot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: KY, USA
Posts: 154
My Ride: E39 528
They are not built in. They come with.
Flybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 06:58 AM   #52
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by aar0n_91 View Post
in the post above it says you need LOC's to reduce noise. i thought these were built into V5. do i need to purchase additional items??
This being the Dynavin FAQ Thread and all it's amazing what you can find out by reading it........
Quote:
13: What are these boxes with all the white/grey/green/purple wires hanging out?
The Line Output Converters, they reduce the output of the Dynavin to better match the factory amplifier, reducing and eliminating unwanted noise, if your car has an amp in the back corner of the trunk you should use them. All US cars have the amp, euro and asian cars can come either way. Installing them is easy, they go inline in the factory harness, just unplug all the bullet connectors in the factory harness and plug the LOCs into their corresponding color coded wires.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 12:10 AM   #53
aar0n_91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 2,331
My Ride: 05 BMW325CI///MSport
thanx guys.

so those are helpful with regards to factory amps. if im running one 760rms 4 channel and one 1300rms monblock aftermarkets. i dont need these do I??
__________________

BMW 325 CI ///M-SPORT INDIVIDUAL
aar0n_91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 05:32 AM   #54
elsexx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ny
Posts: 18
My Ride: e46
Hi guys i have a question I have an aftermarket TPMS (tire pressure monitor system) system that comes with a a nice little display showing the car and all the individual tire pressures I was wondering if its possible to have this incorporated into the Dynavin unit ie just have that displayed on the units screen and eliminating the need for that second display?

Here is an example of a unit that I am talking about http://store.mp3car.com/USB_TPMS_Ver..._p/com-090.htm

Last edited by elsexx; 02-26-2011 at 07:36 AM.
elsexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 12:34 AM   #55
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
^^ As mentioned in two of the other four threads you posted the same question in, no not possible.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 03:24 AM   #56
p0kerface
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 202
My Ride: 02 CB 6MT M3
read the whole FAQ, great stuff! Will this work with aftermarket component speakers and an aftermarket subwoofer? If so someone's gonna get a PM about a Dynavin order =)
p0kerface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 09:16 AM   #57
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by p0kerface View Post
read the whole FAQ, great stuff! Will this work with aftermarket component speakers and an aftermarket subwoofer? If so someone's gonna get a PM about a Dynavin order =)
Sure does, thats the setup I have in my car, the dynavin has a full set of RCA outputs, the only thing that is odd is that it has a single RCA cable for the sub so you need a Y cable or a mono amp for your sub.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 12:31 PM   #58
p0kerface
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 202
My Ride: 02 CB 6MT M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Sure does, thats the setup I have in my car, the dynavin has a full set of RCA outputs, the only thing that is odd is that it has a single RCA cable for the sub so you need a Y cable or a mono amp for your sub.
i read in another post that you used a seperate pioneer unit and EQ for your setup, is that an old setup or do you have something really crazy going on? =P
p0kerface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 01:07 PM   #59
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
yes it is kind of crazy.....I have the dynavins RCA outputs fed into the AUX IN on a trunk mounted pioneer 9800BT head unit that I am using as an EQ, crossover and time alignment processor, then the pioneer feeds my amp. The 9800 makes a pretty decent preamp plus I had one laying around from a previous install....

I had this setup before I had the dynavin using the stock headunit, I also used it in my Audi. It allowed me to get a lot more adjustability in my system that the stock head unit couldn't provide, when I got the dynavin I switched over to using RCAs instead of the factory wiring in the trunk with great results.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 02-27-2011 at 01:09 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 01:26 AM   #60
stevo_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 5
My Ride: Bmw 1999 323i
Anyone know if Dynavin works with the spec.dock?

Last edited by stevo_; 03-06-2011 at 01:38 AM.
stevo_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use