E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 16 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 06:40 AM   #61
scostu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: fl
Posts: 2
My Ride: 2011 e90 328i
Post Dynavin and Satellite radio

My wife just got a 2011 328i sedan. I'm sold on the Dynavin head unit. All I could find wrt sat radio is ....

Q/A put together by Blue442 (from the TR_MS3 thread) and edited by jeffb325

...Q: Does Satelite Radio work?
A: If you have a tuner that uses RCA and you can pluig it into the AUX in.

How can I make this work with the Dynavin unit????
scostu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:49 AM   #62
scostu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: fl
Posts: 2
My Ride: 2011 e90 328i
The new 328i we bought already has factory sat receiver and is functioning now via sirius.
scostu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:44 PM   #63
Scubasteve2365
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Louisville
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2007 328xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by scostu View Post
The new 328i we bought already has factory sat receiver and is functioning now via sirius.
the Dynavin will not be able to control the existing satellite radio receiver. The Dynavin has RCA level input, so any device with those outputs can be used to get signal into the Dynavin however you will be unable to control such a device with the Dynavin. You would have to get a new satellite receiver and be willing to control that receiver directly with it's own controls (which means no hiding it in the trunk or glovebox)

Most people that preferred satellite radio that ended up with a Dynavin use the satellite radio apps on iPhone (maybe other platforms) and then connect their phones to the Dynavin.
Scubasteve2365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 10:07 AM   #64
ttflier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 7
My Ride: 2004 330i Cabrio
I apologize if this has been asked elsewhere, I just can't seem to find the answer: Does the Dynavin E46 unit support A2DP bluetooth and can I pair this unit to my iphone to stream Pandora radio and other apps?
ttflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 11:38 AM   #65
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,672
My Ride: BMW
Yes.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 10:31 AM   #66
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,672
My Ride: BMW
BUMP (because people are not reading/seeing this before asking questions)
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:10 PM   #67
Monte330i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calabash
Posts: 144
My Ride: 01 330i
Any new Unit purchased from you (Jeff) would be the V5, right? I'm sold on this. Is there an all in one package through you for the AC relocation kit and V5? I did see the older posts where you suggested a few places to find them but it looked to be a few years old.
!
Also, and I researched but would like a recap, what is included in the box... Are the TV and GPS hardware included? Is the NAV software an extra purchase? Besides custom cords and cables for USB stuff will i need anything else to get up and runnning?

Please understand, YOU SOLD ME on this unit, now I have to sell it to the wife!

Lastly, none until mid April?! WTF!!

Thanks in advance, your customer service alone is keeping me from shopping around any further.
Monte330i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 10:08 PM   #68
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,672
My Ride: BMW
Hi monte, V5 is the current version. I dont sell the relocation part, maybe soon, but im not there yet, check out forum sponsors Tischer, EAS, etc...

There is no TV solution for the US, only DVB T for overseas, GPS and nav is included. Everything is in the box for basic functionality, if you want to use the aux in you would probably want one of the cords off of my website.

I just sold the last of my stock and dynavin is producing more E46 units currently so it will be a couple weeks until they are shipped over here and are back in stock.... What are you complaining about, you are going to need a couple weeks to talk the wife into it anyway!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 01:09 PM   #69
Screamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
My Ride: 330ci
Quote:
13: What are these boxes with all the white/grey/green/purple wires hanging out?
The Line Output Converters, they reduce the output of the Dynavin to better match the factory amplifier, reducing and eliminating unwanted noise, if your car has an amp in the back corner of the trunk you should use them. All US cars have the amp, euro and asian cars can come either way. Installing them is easy, they go inline in the factory harness, just unplug all the bullet connectors in the factory harness and plug the LOCs into their corresponding color coded wires.
I would like to see a video of this.

Last edited by Screamin; 05-03-2011 at 01:11 PM.
Screamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 03:37 PM   #70
Dave
Moderator
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,172
My Ride: 323,330,M3,M3,M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scubasteve2365 View Post
the Dynavin will not be able to control the existing satellite radio receiver. The Dynavin has RCA level input, so any device with those outputs can be used to get signal into the Dynavin however you will be unable to control such a device with the Dynavin. You would have to get a new satellite receiver and be willing to control that receiver directly with it's own controls (which means no hiding it in the trunk or glovebox)

Most people that preferred satellite radio that ended up with a Dynavin use the satellite radio apps on iPhone (maybe other platforms) and then connect their phones to the Dynavin.
Well that kind of sucks. Any plans to allow satellite control in V6? I can wait.

(In the meantime, are the Sirius/XM apps on the iPhones any good? I can't imagine they'd be any more reliable than regular AT+T service... which is to say, it'd be terrible.)
__________________
Perhaps you think multi-million dollar ad campaigns make a beer taste better. Perhaps you're mouthing your words as you read this.
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 04:46 PM   #71
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,672
My Ride: BMW
My sirius app is way more solid than my ATT phone service.....from what I understand ATTs data service is much better than their voice service
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 04:48 PM   #72
Dave
Moderator
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,172
My Ride: 323,330,M3,M3,M3
I have found the opposite to be true, at least around here.

So it receives it via 3G? Or is it something you can plug in directly to your sirius antenna? Seems like something like that, especially if it could be plugged in via the jack on the bottom like the way the iPod connectors are, would be ideal. Never any risk of signal issues, and you could hide the phone in the euro tray.
__________________
Perhaps you think multi-million dollar ad campaigns make a beer taste better. Perhaps you're mouthing your words as you read this.
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 02:32 PM   #73
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,672
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post

So it receives it via 3G? Or is it something you can plug in directly to your sirius antenna? Seems like something like that, especially if it could be plugged in via the jack on the bottom like the way the iPod connectors are, would be ideal. Never any risk of signal issues, and you could hide the phone in the euro tray.
there is such a device, it is called XM skydock: http://reviews.cnet.com/mp3-player-a...-33770261.html
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:42 AM   #74
uncompiled
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 125
My Ride: G37xS & 330Ci ZHP
Everyone, I know it's hard to track all of the threads, so I just wanted to announce that the Dynavin FAQ, as well, as all of the informative posts regarding the Dynavin have been aggregated into a single Wiki site located at http://dynavin.uncompiled.org.

I plan to update this site as much as possible, but if you ever find anything out of date or missing, feel free to shoot me a PM.
uncompiled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:57 AM   #75
opey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: long island
Posts: 589
My Ride: 04 M3 coupe
set amp to YES in the hidden menu, no difference..
__________________

IR/IR 6 speed
opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 10:35 PM   #76
camcr01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2
My Ride: 323 Ci
Hi Jeff, Listen I been reading about upgrating my firmware, but How Do I know witch Version I have on my unit? since It only works for V5 as far as I understand, thank you.
camcr01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 10:40 PM   #77
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,672
My Ride: BMW
just look at the pics in my dynavin info threads, the V4 and older from last year have a predominantly red interface, while the V5 is predominantly orange.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 11:31 PM   #78
ALMSBMW
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 91
My Ride: 2001 330CI convertib
The only two issues I have noticed with my unit, and maybe I am blind and could not figure it out through the threads or manual is.
1. there is no way to dim the unit for night driving, I tried the brightness control and it did dim it down but it also made the screen look distorted or just not normal.
2. A way to view the pictures on my USB stick and listen to music at the same time.

Like I said maybe I just overlooked something in the threads. Hopefully somebody has the answers I need
ALMSBMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 02:42 PM   #79
MaverickM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Savannah
Posts: 74
My Ride: gets badge
Is there a way to have a front mount camera and a reverse mount camera? Obviously not working at the same time.

Also when is the android version set to come out?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
MaverickM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 05:29 PM   #80
hobbesdaboba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 73
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
When I installed the Dynavin, I disconnected the battery, and now my dashboard time says --:--. Since I used to set the time from my OEM navigation, how do I set my dashboard time? Is it supposed to sync with the Dynavin unit?
__________________
hobbesdaboba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use