E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2010, 01:08 PM   #1
zaharias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece/Chios
Posts: 956
My Ride: Now has a 3lt :P
Audio upgrade (DIY) for non HK and no oem amp sound system...

Hi guys..

Iam from Greece and i have an E46 coupe with the stock (no amp at the trunk, no HK system) sound sytem, 2 speakers front with twitters + 2 speakers rear..

I decided to go with Alpine PDX-5 amp (4x75rms+1x300 @ 4ohm) and as for the speakers i think iam going to buy some 6.5 rainbow's for front and maybe for the rear aslo, if i don't find anything else good at a reasonable price..
I know that all the stuff must 4 ohm..

I haven't decided which sub to buy yet..

My aim is to get good sound quality and not just bass with huge boxes and etc...

I will definately need a lot of help because i don't know sh*t about wirings..
My battery is 1 year old (Bosch new) and is at the right back side of my trunk.. (i mention that cause some E46s have it front)

The only thing i ve added to my stock system is a Dension Getaway 300 usb interface..

What wires should i buy?
Where should i run the wires to avoid having noise problems from the speakers?

I want to keep the stock head unit..

Pics of my trunk and the place that i plan to put the amp

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/attachm...1&d=1288737074
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/attachm...2&d=1288737092

Pics of my oem BMW business r/cd
http://img171.imageshack.us/i/dsc00481o.jpg/
http://img819.imageshack.us/i/dsc00480rh.jpg/
http://img232.imageshack.us/i/dsc00479a.jpg/

The wiring here is the one that goes to Dension http://img404.imageshack.us/i/dsc00478cn.jpg/

My car is 10/2001, so the cd is not playing mp3, that's why i added the Dension...

I didn't find any DIY for the non amp and non HK cars...

Thank you!!!
__________________
zaharias is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 11-19-2010, 12:59 AM   #2
Bjorn8781
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta
Posts: 99
My Ride: BMW 320Cd 2005
I need help with this exact idea. I need to install an amplifier. Bit I have no idea which wires I should take from the HU to the amp. My system is non HK as well.
Bjorn8781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 05:46 AM   #3
Grande D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 3,311
My Ride: Whiiiite BMW!
I think this is a universal wiring diagram. Can you please look behind your driver side trunk carpet to see if you have an amp? All US E46s did but I'm not so sure about E46s from other countries.

Here is the diagram for (factory) amped systems


Quote:
Originally Posted by muleskinner View Post
After doing lengthy searches here and other boards, I had a hell of a hard time finding this, so thought I'd post it here for future reference.


Grey of connector
Pin # 13 / Tweeter Rear Right door + * Yellow Pin # 21 / Tweeter Rear Right door - *Blue / yellow
Pin # 12 / Tweeter Front Right - Blue / Brown Pin #20 / no connection
Pin # 11 / Tweeter Front Right + Blue / black Pin #19 / no connection
Pin # 10 / Switched +12v remote turn on White Pin #18 / no connection
Pin # 9 / Head unit output Front Right + Blue / red Pin #17 / Head unit output Front Right - Brown / orange
Pin # 8 / Head unit output Rear Right + Blue / black Pin #16 / Head unit output Rear Right - Brown / orange
Pin # 7 / no connection Pin #15 / no connection
Pin # 6 / no connection Pin #14 / no connection
Pin # 5 / +12v factory amp +12v supply *Red / green
Pin # 4 / Woofer Front Left +Blue / white
Pin # 3 / Woofer Front Left -Blue / brown
Pin # 2 / Woofer Rear Left +Yellow
Pin # 1 / Woofer Rear Left -Brown

Black of connector
Pin # 34 / Tweeter Front Left - Yellow / brown Pin # 42 / Mid Front Right door + *Green
Pin # 33 / Tweeter Front Left + Yellow / red Pin #41 / Mid Front Right door - *Blue / green
Pin # 32 / Tweeter Rear left door - * Yellow / brown Pin #40 / Mid Front left door + *White
Pin # 31 / Tweeter Rear Left door + * Yellow / black Pin #39 / Mid Front left door - *Blue / white
Pin # 30 / Head output Front left - Brown / orange Pin #38 / Head output Front Left + Yellow / red
Pin # 29 / Head output Rear Left - Brown / orange Pin #37 / Head output Rear Left + Yellow / black
Pin # 28 / no connection Pin #36 / no connection
Pin # 27 / no connection Pin #35 / no connection
Pin # 26 / DC ground factory ampBrown
Pin # 25 / Woofer Rear Right +Blue
Pin # 24 / Woofer Rear Right -Brown
Pin # 23 / Woofer Front Right +Blue / Red
Pin # 22 / Woofer Front Right -Blue / Brown

Have fun with your stereo upgrade!
Grande D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 06:01 AM   #4
Bjorn8781
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta
Posts: 99
My Ride: BMW 320Cd 2005
We don't have an amp no.... European don't have amps.... So how can we connect an aftermarket amp with the HU?
Bjorn8781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 06:03 AM   #5
Bjorn8781
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta
Posts: 99
My Ride: BMW 320Cd 2005
In the trunk we don't have the 1/2 connectors you mentioned
Bjorn8781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 06:23 AM   #6
zaharias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece/Chios
Posts: 956
My Ride: Now has a 3lt :P
My car (you can see the photos at the first post) doesn't have any audio harness or oem amp at the back (trunk)..
__________________
zaharias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 06:36 PM   #7
Grande D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 3,311
My Ride: Whiiiite BMW!
Do you have two brown orange and a yellow/red and yellow/black wire on the back of your head unit cable? I'd look to see if any of the wiring outputs from my chart correspond to wires at your head unit.
Grande D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 11:17 PM   #8
zaharias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece/Chios
Posts: 956
My Ride: Now has a 3lt :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhp43867 View Post
Do you have two brown orange and a yellow/red and yellow/black wire on the back of your head unit cable? I'd look to see if any of the wiring outputs from my chart correspond to wires at your head unit.
My car is 10/2001 model and has the 17 pin plug..

I think that this chart will guide me http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showpos...70&postcount=2

Here is the back of my HU..

[IMG][/IMG]

Thank you!!
__________________
zaharias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 04:40 AM   #9
Bjorn8781
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta
Posts: 99
My Ride: BMW 320Cd 2005
Mine looks the same as in this picture. Can we connect an amplifier to the HU? If so how?
Bjorn8781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 06:14 AM   #10
zaharias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece/Chios
Posts: 956
My Ride: Now has a 3lt :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjorn8781 View Post
Mine looks the same as in this picture. Can we connect an amplifier to the HU? If so how?
If someone knows and can help...

I also want to know...

Thanks guys...
__________________
zaharias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:03 AM   #11
Grande D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 3,311
My Ride: Whiiiite BMW!
You're going to need a Line Out Converter or LOC, I am just trying to help determine for you which wires to attach the LOC to. You have Front Right, Front Left, Rear Right, Rear Left Speakers.

Buy two two channel LOCs if you want "4 Channel" input, which I recommend. You then connect each pair (front and rear) speakers to the two LOCs. That will give you RCAs to run into your amplifier.

Last edited by Grande D; 11-20-2010 at 08:05 AM.
Grande D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:23 AM   #12
zaharias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece/Chios
Posts: 956
My Ride: Now has a 3lt :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhp43867 View Post
You're going to need a Line Out Converter or LOC, I am just trying to help determine for you which wires to attach the LOC to. You have Front Right, Front Left, Rear Right, Rear Left Speakers.

Buy two two channel LOCs if you want "4 Channel" input, which I recommend. You then connect each pair (front and rear) speakers to the two LOCs. That will give you RCAs to run into your amplifier.
Thank you for your time & help..

I think that the LOC is n't necessairy if the amp supports balanced inputs.. (like the Alpine PDX-5 for example that i want)..

Correct me if im wrong..
__________________
zaharias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 09:39 AM   #13
Bjorn8781
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta
Posts: 99
My Ride: BMW 320Cd 2005
My amplifier is the Rockford Fosgate. Is it possible to amplify the 4 speakers in the car, and ALSO connect another amplifier for a subwoofer? Thus having 2 amplifiers? Or is it more convenient to connect one amplifier for a sub only? And leave the 4 car speakers connected with the HU?

Meaning, how can I get to the amplifier from the HU? for use for the amp and sub?
Bjorn8781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 09:43 AM   #14
Bjorn8781
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta
Posts: 99
My Ride: BMW 320Cd 2005
How do you know if the AMP supports balanced inputs? Does mine support that? Hence do I need the LOC?... And if I need LOC's which LOC's do you suggest? If I'm not mistaken my AMP is Rockford Fosgate 100 x 4.
Bjorn8781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:33 PM   #15
zaharias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece/Chios
Posts: 956
My Ride: Now has a 3lt :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjorn8781 View Post
How do you know if the AMP supports balanced inputs? Does mine support that? Hence do I need the LOC?... And if I need LOC's which LOC's do you suggest? If I'm not mistaken my AMP is Rockford Fosgate 100 x 4.
Specify which Rockford amp model you have..
__________________
zaharias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:34 PM   #16
zaharias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece/Chios
Posts: 956
My Ride: Now has a 3lt :P
If i go with the 5 channel Alpine do i have to use this type of cable..??

http://www.connectionaudison.com/pro...ts/bt6_500.htm
__________________
zaharias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 04:30 AM   #17
Bjorn8781
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta
Posts: 99
My Ride: BMW 320Cd 2005
Rockford Fosagate T4004
Bjorn8781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 04:57 AM   #18
zaharias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece/Chios
Posts: 956
My Ride: Now has a 3lt :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjorn8781 View Post
Rockford Fosagate T4004
I think it doesn't support balanced inputs..

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/produ...3&locale=en_US
__________________
zaharias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 04:59 AM   #19
Bjorn8781
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Malta
Posts: 99
My Ride: BMW 320Cd 2005
What does it mean please? So what do I have to do.

By any chance did you manage to connect the HU with the amp, if so how? And how in my case? Thanks
Bjorn8781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 01:42 PM   #20
zaharias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece/Chios
Posts: 956
My Ride: Now has a 3lt :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjorn8781 View Post
What does it mean please? So what do I have to do.

By any chance did you manage to connect the HU with the amp, if so how? And how in my case? Thanks
It means that you have to buy a LOC.. As i can see from many members in here the AudioControl LC6i is a good solution..

No, i did n't find anything yet..
__________________
zaharias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use