E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2012, 10:40 PM   #41
willkenni05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Guttenberg, IA
Posts: 35
My Ride: '06 330xi
I just recently purchased the Dice Duo for my 02 325xi Business and I'm not impressed at all, the sound sounds cheap to me(for lack of a better term) if I turn the gain to 0 its clear but theres no highs and lows its basically like a flat eq but as I turn the gain up the music gets more distorted. I've tryed multiple resets and the fuses were pulled when I installed the device... Am I missing something?

-Willie
willkenni05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:14 AM   #42
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by willkenni05 View Post
I just recently purchased the Dice Duo for my 02 325xi Business and I'm not impressed at all, the sound sounds cheap to me(for lack of a better term) if I turn the gain to 0 its clear but theres no highs and lows its basically like a flat eq but as I turn the gain up the music gets more distorted. I've tryed multiple resets and the fuses were pulled when I installed the device... Am I missing something?

-Willie
Are you using an iPod or iPhone? Make sure the EQ settings are set to OFF.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:02 PM   #43
willkenni05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Guttenberg, IA
Posts: 35
My Ride: '06 330xi
IPod touch and the eq is set to off

Sent from my DROIDX using Bimmer
willkenni05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:10 PM   #44
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by willkenni05 View Post
IPod touch and the eq is set to off

Sent from my DROIDX using Bimmer
All seems well on your end. I would recommend contacting DICE to speak directly with a technician on your issue.

DICE can be contacted at 888.342.3999 or by email at http://diceelectronics.com/product-support.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:52 PM   #45
InTheBeams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sacramento California
Posts: 374
My Ride: 02 330i Sport Pkg.
Ive heard it disables the cd player.. is that the cd player in the trunk? (the multi disk one?) or the one in the dash. So if I get this will I still be able to play cd's through my main cd player up front?
__________________
InTheBeams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:29 AM   #46
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by InTheBeams View Post
Ive heard it disables the cd player.. is that the cd player in the trunk? (the multi disk one?) or the one in the dash. So if I get this will I still be able to play cd's through my main cd player up front?
This will take the place of a CD Changer, if equipped. In-dash CD player remains functional.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 12:52 PM   #47
trich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
My Ride: 05 M3 Vert 6-Spd
DICE MediaBridge Firmware Update

Hey All,

I recently bought a M3 E46 and shortly after installed the DICE MediaBridge. The module is great for the price and for the most part works as advertised. Its not 100% but what software is... The spirit of what they're trying to accomplish is 80-85% there and they're consistently advancing the products firmware.

They just release a pretty decent sized firmware update which the notes aren't yet posted on their site. This release addressed many of the issues I noticed in the product. Although the release notes aren't posted yet, the Update Manager should be able to pull down the most recent update once you plug it in.

Here are the release notes to the last couple updates:

Improvements
- Unit Now falls asleep properly.
- System now retains the HU type
- Saving Sirius presets was accidentally removed. It has now been restored.
- Radio now displays information from music streaming applications for iPods/iPhones that have iOS5
- Sirius Category Browsing now available
- Various Text Display Modes are now available and can be changed from the HU
- Sirius presets and certain Menu Options are always restored
- Removed the Menu Option for iPod Charge Delay as it could cause the system to never sleep and eventually drain the battery

Symptoms:
- System did not always go to sleep correctly
- presets and other settings were not saved properly.
- Could not save Sirius presents in BMW 16x9 Nav mode
- Streaming App. Music text is a new feature
- Sirius Category Browsing didn't work
- Sirius presets and certain Menu Options not always restored
- If iPod charge delay was used, MediaBridge may never go to sleep

-TR
trich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 11:32 AM   #48
IMOLAZHP06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 28
My Ride: 2006 330CI ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by trich View Post
Hey All,

I recently bought a M3 E46 and shortly after installed the DICE MediaBridge. The module is great for the price and for the most part works as advertised. Its not 100% but what software is... The spirit of what they're trying to accomplish is 80-85% there and they're consistently advancing the products firmware.

They just release a pretty decent sized firmware update which the notes aren't yet posted on their site. This release addressed many of the issues I noticed in the product. Although the release notes aren't posted yet, the Update Manager should be able to pull down the most recent update once you plug it in.

Here are the release notes to the last couple updates:

Improvements
- Unit Now falls asleep properly.
- System now retains the HU type
- Saving Sirius presets was accidentally removed. It has now been restored.
- Radio now displays information from music streaming applications for iPods/iPhones that have iOS5
- Sirius Category Browsing now available
- Various Text Display Modes are now available and can be changed from the HU
- Sirius presets and certain Menu Options are always restored
- Removed the Menu Option for iPod Charge Delay as it could cause the system to never sleep and eventually drain the battery

Symptoms:
- System did not always go to sleep correctly
- presets and other settings were not saved properly.
- Could not save Sirius presents in BMW 16x9 Nav mode
- Streaming App. Music text is a new feature
- Sirius Category Browsing didn't work
- Sirius presets and certain Menu Options not always restored
- If iPod charge delay was used, MediaBridge may never go to sleep

-TR

I bought the Dice Duo in November and everything that was bugging me about the product is now in this update. The main reason why I bought it was for the Sirius Category browsing and the whole thing with my presets just forgetting was so annoying. I hope this also fixes this issue about the slow boot up issue. Sometimes it would like 5 minutes for me to get the unit into Sirius or iPod mode. Also, I'm reading on their website they've updated the dip switch settings. The paper that came with it was not accurate by any means.
__________________
2013 BMW 335xi Alpine White Coupe

Mods:
Blinder M47 Extreme
Hardwired Escort 9500ix
20% Tint
Alpine Type X 12" Sub
Alpine PDX-1000 AMP
Glossy Kidney Grills
Painted bumper reflectors
IMOLAZHP06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 12:32 PM   #49
IMOLAZHP06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 28
My Ride: 2006 330CI ZHP
just updated. nothing has changed so far. I don't see how I can category browse. I called Dice Customer support and they had no idea what I was talking about. I want my satellite radio to be like this
__________________
2013 BMW 335xi Alpine White Coupe

Mods:
Blinder M47 Extreme
Hardwired Escort 9500ix
20% Tint
Alpine Type X 12" Sub
Alpine PDX-1000 AMP
Glossy Kidney Grills
Painted bumper reflectors
IMOLAZHP06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 06:27 PM   #50
slosvt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 223
My Ride: 00 328i
Send a message via AIM to slosvt
I have two questions...

First, I have the single CD business radio right now. How hard is it to update to a NAV unit? Is a NAV unit worth it or should I switch to an aftermarket unit?

Second, is there anyway for phone calls to come over the mediabridge (bluetooth) if I am listening to FM radio? It works perfectly if I am streaming Pandora on the phone, but does not seem to work if I am listening to FM radio.

Thank you,
slosvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:23 PM   #51
khyams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 16
My Ride: '03 325i Wagon
So I installed a Silverline Duo in my '03 325i wagon this morning. Business CD unit and I have the trunk kit. Firmware is up to date, and my iPod Touch has the most recent software update. I can play music, I can access the initial setting controls (volume/amp gain, enable scrolling text, etc), but that's it. I can't skip tracks, I can't browse albums and artists, I can't do ANYTHING. This happens in both Locked and Unlocked modes. If I try to skip tracks the screen either: goes blank or displays three asterisks. Also, if I plug in the iPod in Locked Mode, it will play for a couple of seconds and then stop. If I turn off the car then the iPod continues to play. What gives?

One other thing: I was observing my 6-pin connection, and it looks as if I only have 4 pins instead of 6. Could that be part of it?
khyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 08:44 PM   #52
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by khyams View Post
So I installed a Silverline Duo in my '03 325i wagon this morning. Business CD unit and I have the trunk kit. Firmware is up to date, and my iPod Touch has the most recent software update. I can play music, I can access the initial setting controls (volume/amp gain, enable scrolling text, etc), but that's it. I can't skip tracks, I can't browse albums and artists, I can't do ANYTHING. This happens in both Locked and Unlocked modes. If I try to skip tracks the screen either: goes blank or displays three asterisks. Also, if I plug in the iPod in Locked Mode, it will play for a couple of seconds and then stop. If I turn off the car then the iPod continues to play. What gives?

One other thing: I was observing my 6-pin connection, and it looks as if I only have 4 pins instead of 6. Could that be part of it?
6-pin connection is audio only, it has no bearing on function.

What are the DIP switches set to?
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 08:47 PM   #53
khyams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 16
My Ride: '03 325i Wagon
Both dip switches are set to off (switches are up), as recommended in the Dice installation guide.

While in use, the radio screen also displays "ATTACHED" and nothing else.
khyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:02 PM   #54
tmckinl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pine Bluff, AR, USA
Posts: 90
My Ride: Jet Black 1999 328i
Send a message via ICQ to tmckinl
mediabridge 1500 trouble

I've been trying to get my mediabridge 1500 to work for over a month. I installed it exactly per the instructions and when I activated it, the only sound coming from the system was a clicking or chirping sound that repeats every few seconds. The text display on my business radio works fine though. The car has HK and had the "BMW ipod" kit installed previously. I wounder if during that install they had to unhook something that this kit now needs. DICE support hasn't been helpful. When I post a question it takes over a week for a reply and so far they've been no help.

Last edited by tmckinl; 01-30-2012 at 06:06 PM.
tmckinl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 01:16 PM   #55
yappering
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 15
My Ride: 323i
Quick review and questions

First, I would like to thank the E46 community for the information it has provided me. The DIYs have been really useful and saved me time and money and made me really learn a lot about my car.

Now about the Mediabridge: Here are some observations and perhaps others can help.

I was able to get it to work with the trunk install method.

Text scrolling had to be turned off otherwise there is a chirp.

Right now I am using an ipod touch 3g and would characterize the sound quality as ok. I am going to try out a ipod classic and some other devices to see if I can improve the sound quality and will report back here.

Here is the main issue I have faced with the sound quality. When I turn the volume down on the Dice mediabridge to 0, there is a TERRIBLE squeal/chirp that others have described. This makes no sense why this would happen, but there is obviously a problem with the low end. It sounds like the sound is coming from my glovebox or passenger speaker.

When I turn the sound all the way up to 8, there is obvious clipping/distortion of the music. Particularly, on the deep bass, my subwoofer is muddy at times and not as crisp as with a CD.

Finally, my other issue with this device is I tried to use a flash drive 4gb formatted at FAT32 and the thing did not recognize it. Does anyone else have any experience with this?

Some of these complaints are a minor nuisance and obviously nothing will sound as good as an old fashioned CD, but I love the convenience of not having to change CDs.

Also I found the bluetooth on this thing is really good for phone calls. Most people don't even know they are on bluetooth and they sound great coming out of the speakers.

Also, some people have commented on grounding the device with a modification of the connection in the trunk. can anyone elaborate on their results and how to do this? The explanation I found on this website was a little confusing to me.

Can anyone give any more insight into this device?
yappering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:09 AM   #56
tmckinl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pine Bluff, AR, USA
Posts: 90
My Ride: Jet Black 1999 328i
Send a message via ICQ to tmckinl
Bump

Bump
tmckinl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:34 AM   #57
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmckinl View Post
I've been trying to get my mediabridge 1500 to work for over a month. I installed it exactly per the instructions and when I activated it, the only sound coming from the system was a clicking or chirping sound that repeats every few seconds. The text display on my business radio works fine though. The car has HK and had the "BMW ipod" kit installed previously. I wounder if during that install they had to unhook something that this kit now needs. DICE support hasn't been helpful. When I post a question it takes over a week for a reply and so far they've been no help.
Is this a radio or trunk interface?

If radio interface, make sure the 10-pin connector on the DICE harness is plugged int othe bottom left hand port (looking at the rear of the radio) with the green dot facing upwards.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 12:28 PM   #58
BIG EYE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 129
My Ride: 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by willkenni05 View Post
I just recently purchased the Dice Duo for my 02 325xi Business and I'm not impressed at all, the sound sounds cheap to me(for lack of a better term) if I turn the gain to 0 its clear but theres no highs and lows its basically like a flat eq but as I turn the gain up the music gets more distorted. I've tryed multiple resets and the fuses were pulled when I installed the device... Am I missing something?

-Willie
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Are you using an iPod or iPhone? Make sure the EQ settings are set to OFF.

I have the same issue with my DUO. I use an iPhone 4s, and it sound cruddy.
It is really bad with the EQ off, so I tried it with the various EQ settings on, and it sounds a very tiny bit better with the "bass reducer" setting, however still sounds cruddy...

Did you find a solution to this?
BIG EYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:34 PM   #59
tmckinl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pine Bluff, AR, USA
Posts: 90
My Ride: Jet Black 1999 328i
Send a message via ICQ to tmckinl
It's plugged into the cars harness in the trunk so I guess it's a trunk interface. The car had the BMW iPod adapter professionally installed it appears to have been done at the dealer. And the car has HK
tmckinl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 04:03 PM   #60
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmckinl View Post
It's plugged into the cars harness in the trunk so I guess it's a trunk interface. The car had the BMW iPod adapter professionally installed it appears to have been done at the dealer. And the car has HK
If the iPodyourBMW kit was previously installed, it's very likely the wiring was not returned to stock (audio pins within R17 Radio harness connector are relocated to the BMW iPod harness during the original installation) before the DICE was installed - which is the reason you have no audio.

Please inspect the wiring, I'm certain this is the reason.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use