E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2011, 02:26 PM   #1
The-Traveler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 245
My Ride: 2004 330Ci ZHP
Fix - You did the NAV retrofit but the wheel sensor read 0

I did the Navigation retrofit (without the retrofit loom) last month. I bought the wiring harness out of a 2005 M3 coupe and put it into my 2004 ZHP Coupe.

That part of the procedure is well documented on the net so I won't mention it here.

Unfortunately I noticed that while my navigation system was functioning, it was skipping a little. By skipping I mean that as I was driving, it wasn't smooth.

So, after getting into the secret menu and doing a sensor check (goto settings, then press and hold the menu button for 10 seconds until a new menu appears, then select sensor check), the Wheel Sensor always read 0.

Turns out that you need to run a speed sensor wire from the black instrument cluster plug, all the way to the trunk and plug it into the violet connector on the MK4 (or earlier) unit.

**First disconnect the battery. **

What you can do instead is disconnect the HK amp connector and find the two little clips on the side of this connector, that allow you to take the connector apart. Then do the same for the violet plug that goes in the nav computer.

Now you will notice that on the gray piece of the amp plug, pin 20 has a black wire with a white stripe. Press in the little metal clip to remove this wire from the plug and then connect a new piece of wire to it, and push it back into the connector.

Take the other end of this new wire and do the same to pin 10 on the purple violet connector.

Plug in everything, mount the nav computer back where it belongs, then plug the battery in. The gps computer must be securely mounted before you plug the battery back in or your GYRO will be mis-calibrated.

Viola.. your gps system will now read the vehicle speed properly and will be buttery smooth while driving.

Sorry for the all text DIY, but I literally just completed this and wanted to share, but didn't take any pictures.


Last edited by The-Traveler; 01-22-2011 at 02:28 PM.
The-Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 04-12-2011, 11:57 PM   #2
The-Traveler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 245
My Ride: 2004 330Ci ZHP
Forgot to mention that this doesn't work in reverse. The reverse wire is also needed, I'll update when I fix that in a few months.
The-Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:33 PM   #3
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mountain Top
Posts: 5,939
My Ride: 2005 M3 Coupe
You sure there wasn't a speed cable you could tap into from one of the harness in the trunk? IIRC there are a couple pins in the bluetooth harness that carry a speed signal.
__________________
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use