E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > E46 Convertible

E46 Convertible
The E46 vert forum. Talk about dropping your E46 top here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2016, 11:46 AM   #1
chris wynn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upholland
Posts: 14
My Ride: V class
Roof not working at all

Hi guys, last post before the car goes to the dealers.
The roof does not move at all, I get a shadow code reading 112 low voltage at clamp 30 (less than 8v)
The battery voltage is good, battery tested good, all the fuses are good, voltages in and out of the fuses are good. The roof switches are good. The pump is good (inc relay)
On the CVM there are 4 wires in the centre the red with grey trace has 12v.
On the diagnostics, there are no fault codes apart from the 112.
On pressing roof lower button the top light turns constant red.

Does anyone have any pointers where to go next?
chris wynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 05-22-2016, 01:37 PM   #2
All2kool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 162
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris wynn View Post
Hi guys, last post before the car goes to the dealers.
The roof does not move at all, I get a shadow code reading 112 low voltage at clamp 30 (less than 8v)
The battery voltage is good, battery tested good, all the fuses are good, voltages in and out of the fuses are good. The roof switches are good. The pump is good (inc relay)
On the CVM there are 4 wires in the centre the red with grey trace has 12v.
On the diagnostics, there are no fault codes apart from the 112.
On pressing roof lower button the top light turns constant red.

Does anyone have any pointers where to go next?
Open the harness at the bend point above the driver's seat. A broken GREEN wire will produce your exact issue. You do know how to open the roof manually?
All2kool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 03:02 PM   #3
chris wynn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upholland
Posts: 14
My Ride: V class
Quote:
Originally Posted by All2kool View Post
Open the harness at the bend point above the driver's seat. A broken GREEN wire will produce your exact issue. You do know how to open the roof manually?
Hi many thanks for your reply, I certainly do know how to open the roof manually. Could I ask you what does the green wire do?
chris wynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 05:04 PM   #4
All2kool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 162
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris wynn View Post
Hi many thanks for your reply, I certainly do know how to open the roof manually. Could I ask you what does the green wire do?
Couldn't say but mine was broken and the top did the same as yours - nothing - no open, no flashing. From what I have come to learn, a broken wire in the harness is 90% of the cause of failure for us.
All2kool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 09:30 PM   #5
The Thomas J
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 592
My Ride: 2002 325Cic
Reach into the top and play around with the loom sheathing. while pressing the top open button. This may allow enough contact so the roof can at least unlatch itself than you can fold the top back and make it easier for you to see exactly where the loom bends and where to open it.
__________________
The Thomas J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 09:07 AM   #6
All2kool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 162
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Thomas J View Post
Reach into the top and play around with the loom sheathing. while pressing the top open button. This may allow enough contact so the roof can at least unlatch itself than you can fold the top back and make it easier for you to see exactly where the loom bends and where to open it.
Excellent suggestion.
All2kool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 12:45 PM   #7
chris wynn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upholland
Posts: 14
My Ride: V class
Hi I cut back the wiring insulation, no broken wires gave them all a good tug too. Still no joy,,,,tomorrow I will have a go with a short circuit tester and test the roof loom.
chris wynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 12:59 PM   #8
All2kool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 162
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris wynn View Post
Hi I cut back the wiring insulation, no broken wires gave them all a good tug too. Still no joy,,,,tomorrow I will have a go with a short circuit tester and test the roof loom.
Curious: Once you have manually released the Top - does it then function?
All2kool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 01:02 PM   #9
chris wynn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upholland
Posts: 14
My Ride: V class
No movement at all.
chris wynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 01:05 PM   #10
chris wynn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upholland
Posts: 14
My Ride: V class
I'm still certain the fault is KL 30 at the cvm which is missing. I just can't find what colour the wire is at the cvm or where it comes from.

Last edited by chris wynn; 05-23-2016 at 01:06 PM.
chris wynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 01:24 PM   #11
All2kool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 162
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris wynn View Post
I'm still certain the fault is KL 30 at the cvm which is missing. I just can't find what colour the wire is at the cvm or where it comes from.
The part number for the CVM provided by RealOEM.com indicates the the CVM is standard for all E46 years. That part number is 54347025592. Start searching EBay and other places. The dealer/parts stores can also get one but you'll pay more than $1400. Pick-N-Pull is also an option maybe. Having your CVM rebuilt HERE is also an option.

Last edited by All2kool; 05-23-2016 at 01:40 PM.
All2kool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 01:46 PM   #12
chris wynn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upholland
Posts: 14
My Ride: V class
Hi are you thinking the cvm is receiving power from kl30 at the multi plug on the cvm but the power is not present inside the cvm indicating that it has failed?
chris wynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 02:48 PM   #13
All2kool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 162
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris wynn View Post
Hi are you thinking the cvm is receiving power from kl30 at the multi plug on the cvm but the power is not present inside the cvm indicating that it has failed?
I really have no idea. I spent years as tech for Dell so my troubleshooting stems from the 'unplug it, try again or put a different one in'. The CVM appears to be a Plug-N-Play module. Replace it with a known good one to confirm yours isn't or is the issue. Someone with electrical or engineering skills can give a better response.
All2kool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 03:14 PM   #14
chris wynn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upholland
Posts: 14
My Ride: V class
Hi many thanks for your honest reply, I do work in the motor trade, the only thing I'm struggling with here is information, knowing the cvm pin out data would help me nail the fault, but no matter how deep I dig on here I cannot find cvm data. I will nail it but boy it's going to be hard without cvm data
chris wynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 03:19 PM   #15
All2kool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 162
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris wynn View Post
Hi many thanks for your honest reply, I do work in the motor trade, the only thing I'm struggling with here is information, knowing the cvm pin out data would help me nail the fault, but no matter how deep I dig on here I cannot find cvm data. I will nail it but boy it's going to be hard without cvm data
Maybe this PDF FIle can be of some help.
All2kool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 03:23 PM   #16
chris wynn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Upholland
Posts: 14
My Ride: V class
In the diagram for the cvm it shows kl30 and klr, it does not tell us the PIN number or the colour of the wire. Or where these 2 wires originate from,,,
And that is the data I need.
chris wynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 03:29 PM   #17
All2kool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 162
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris wynn View Post
In the diagram for the cvm it shows kl30 and klr, it does not tell us the PIN number or the colour of the wire. Or where these 2 wires originate from,,,
And that is the data I need.
I think this went unanswered about two years ago.
All2kool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:29 PM   #18
taylor192
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Best Place on Earth
Posts: 2,306
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
Try this and let us know the result:
1. Manually open the top to the point of resting the storage lid on the folded top. Press the open button. Does the lid lock down?

2. From whatever position ended step 1, press the close button. What happens?
__________________
taylor192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use