E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 356 votes, 4.98 average.
Old 10-09-2011, 10:36 PM   #2081
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,307
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Good job jrgutierr, looks great.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 08:50 AM   #2082
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
Can anyone confirm the rumor of the dealer having trouble programing keys once the factory radio is removed?

Deciding if I should have a key made as a back up before Dynavin is installed.

Last edited by ChiTownTrav; 10-10-2011 at 08:51 AM. Reason: Adding more to message
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 03:21 PM   #2083
singry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STONY POINT, NY
Posts: 174
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
Is co pilot premium the latest co pilot? And if so where do I get? Also how does Netflix work on your unit, any issues? On another note I must say since this last update I've had no FC issues.
__________________
MR. 325i
singry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 03:42 PM   #2084
opey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: long island
Posts: 589
My Ride: 04 M3 coupe
still have my android music issues with the new firmware.
__________________

IR/IR 6 speed
opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 03:54 PM   #2085
Halston@BSW
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,900
My Ride: E30 X5 TJ
Good info and such in here. Can't wait to get the X5 one in my wife's X5 and start to play with it!
__________________
Halston Pitman
rhp@bavsound.com | ext. 104

BSW | Audio Solutions for YOUR BMW
www.bavsound.com | 404-963-8857



iPod Integration | Plug & Play Speakers | Subwoofer Solutions | Satellite Radio | HD Radio | Bluetooth
Halston@BSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 05:08 PM   #2086
geko29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: IL
Posts: 63
My Ride: 2000 323i
Ok, I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on one of these puppies, and yes I HAVE read all 105 pages of the thread, so I have a general idea of what I'm getting myself into--and a VERY clear determination of who I'll be buying from.

I just wanted to find out if most current owners feel that the majority of the major issues (Force Close, slow playback, etc) were resolved in the latest release. Then I was wondering if anybody'd had luck with aftermarket player apps that can save location in a track. One of the things I do quite regularly is listen to 4 hour MP3s of radio shows. It'd be a pain in the ass to have to scrub to my last location every time I start the car.
geko29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 06:47 PM   #2087
jrgutierr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Posts: 33
My Ride: 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by singry View Post
Is co pilot premium the latest co pilot? And if so where do I get? Also how does Netflix work on your unit, any issues? On another note I must say since this last update I've had no FC issues.
Co Pilot Premium is on the App market. It cost $25, but it has a lot features and after spending $700+ on a unit, what's another $25.

Netflix is a little slow but it's useable.
jrgutierr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:39 PM   #2088
natered
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: canada
Posts: 125
My Ride: 325i
Does co pilot work as an offline gps app? Does it work Canada?
natered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 11:48 AM   #2089
mzeed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North NJ
Posts: 46
My Ride: 05 M3 ZCP no sunroof
Thinking about one of these units.......Has anyone tried Radardroid or Trapster on their Android units???
mzeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:30 AM   #2090
crristic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Romania
Posts: 31
My Ride: e46 320i
Hi everyone,

I've been browsing this entire thread and unfortunately I have no clear idea regarding Dynavin's bluetooth capability on the android side.

My unit is a DVN-E46 D95 and one of the features that would be great to have is OBD support for apps such as torque.

So my question is: can I hope that bluetooth will be enabled in a future firmware update or the issue is hardware related?


As an alternative I've noticed WLAN adapters can be found (http://www.obdkey.com/wifi/index.asp) but haven't seen any that would work with android...

Last edited by crristic; 10-12-2011 at 03:31 AM.
crristic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 04:27 PM   #2091
opey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: long island
Posts: 589
My Ride: 04 M3 coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by crristic View Post
Hi everyone,

I've been browsing this entire thread and unfortunately I have no clear idea regarding Dynavin's bluetooth capability on the android side.

My unit is a DVN-E46 D95 and one of the features that would be great to have is OBD support for apps such as torque.

So my question is: can I hope that bluetooth will be enabled in a future firmware update or the issue is hardware related?


As an alternative I've noticed WLAN adapters can be found (http://www.obdkey.com/wifi/index.asp) but haven't seen any that would work with android...
there is no bluetooth on the android side, i believe it is hardware related since it seems there are 2 separate circuit boards. so just assume there will be no BT on android. if im wrong and its updated in the future, then its a bonus
__________________

IR/IR 6 speed
opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 08:01 PM   #2092
claudio13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ireland
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46
well i received mt v6 android unit and installed it already.
my observations so far
ipod playlists and the way its displayed on the screen is not good

i have an iphone 4 and the ad2p is not steady and freezes up
i have the unit connected to wifi at my house and it works great in android mode etc to download apps etc etc. so i figured i would use "MYWI" to create a hotspot so dynavin would pick it up and its does not see it.so going to try a ne hotspot from a phone company here and hopefully it will see that
has anyone tethered the iphone this way or any other way without issues.
i also tried plugging in my mobile broadband dongle in dynavins usb port but cant seem to set it up
other issues i have noticed is hissing and cracling sounds when the unit is idle.

i hope to try and resolve some of these issues soon, i will take out the un it to fit the aux input and properly flush mount the usb cable from jeff so i will have some pics and more info, hopefully in the meantime someone might have solution for these
thank you

Last edited by claudio13; 10-12-2011 at 08:33 PM.
claudio13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:00 AM   #2093
jrgutierr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Posts: 33
My Ride: 325i
I just want to re-confirm that the Droid X will not work. I tried every hack I could find online, including changing the Droid's radio NVRAM with no success. I suggest others don't waste time on it.

I was able to get the Dynavin to work with a CradlePoint PHS300 Personal WiFi Hotspot and my USB broadband dongle. Here's the link for the product:

http://www.cradlepoint.com/products/...l-wifi-hotspot

I drove around yesterday with the Dynavin WiFi connected to the cradle point hot spot. The precession and accuracy of Google Nav with the Dynavin the GPS was awesome.

On another note, I gave up on Co-Pilot premium. The maps are really out of date. I asked for a refund.

The Sygic offline GPS app has maps that are more current.
jrgutierr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 08:28 AM   #2094
geko29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: IL
Posts: 63
My Ride: 2000 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by claudio13 View Post
i have an iphone 4 and the ad2p is not steady and freezes up
iOS' implementation of A2DP, and bluetooth in general, leaves a lot to be desired. I have tons of problems with bluetooth losing connection or refusing to reconnect, AVRCP commands having to be repeated multiple times or not working at all, audio stopping for no reason or playing silently, etc. This is based on experience with 3 iPhones, 1 iPod Touch, and an iPad, paired with two Jabra Cruisers, Sony bluetooth headphones, the factory headunit in a 2011 Murano, and an AT&T cordless phone system (not all at the same time, obviously).

I think the blame lies with Apple, not Dynavin, on this particular issue.
geko29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 08:41 AM   #2095
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,718
My Ride: BMW
Claudio,

Your iPhone needs to be running iOS 4.3 or higher AND have the newest version of mywi that includes infrastructure wifi. I personally am using the "legit" hotspot feature from ATT and it works fine.

It sounds like your iPhone is having Bluetooth issues, a full restore or even a simple reboot usully straightens them out.

If you are having any noise issues you need to change the "amp" settings in the hidden factory settings menu. Select AUX as the source, hold down 9 on the remote, change the AMP setting to "common".
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-13-2011 at 08:43 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 11:44 AM   #2096
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
Does this look right Jeff?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1318524293.013286.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	110.6 KB
ID:	420766  
__________________
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 01:04 PM   #2097
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,718
My Ride: BMW
yes, that is the correct plug.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 01:05 PM   #2098
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
Do I do anything with the "amp con" wire?

Probably in your walk thru that i have sitting next to me. Ha
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 01:28 PM   #2099
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
I also have the privilege of correcting the hack job BestBuy did when they installed a Sirius unit for the previous owner.
__________________
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 05:34 PM   #2100
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
Is this a dead connection now or do I need to connect this to something?
__________________
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use