E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 395 votes, 4.98 average.
Old 10-13-2011, 06:37 PM   #2101
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
I guess it would help if I attached the picture
So dead hook up now?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1318545418.476760.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	136.1 KB
ID:	420800  
__________________

Last edited by ChiTownTrav; 10-13-2011 at 06:39 PM.
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:57 PM   #2102
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
that is the plug for stuff that is no longer being used (CD changer, aux in, etc...)
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:53 PM   #2103
geko29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: IL
Posts: 63
My Ride: 2000 323i
Just ordered (from Jeff, natch), now anxiously awaiting....
geko29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 11:12 PM   #2104
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
Is there a specific way to download applications to the SD card? I can not move applications I downloaded to SD card either.

Suggestions???
__________________
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 11:26 PM   #2105
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
computer....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:06 AM   #2106
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrgutierr View Post
I just want to re-confirm that the Droid X will not work. I tried every hack I could find online, including changing the Droid's radio NVRAM with no success. I suggest others don't waste time on it.

I was able to get the Dynavin to work with a CradlePoint PHS300 Personal WiFi Hotspot and my USB broadband dongle. Here's the link for the product:

http://www.cradlepoint.com/products/...l-wifi-hotspot

I drove around yesterday with the Dynavin WiFi connected to the cradle point hot spot. The precession and accuracy of Google Nav with the Dynavin the GPS was awesome.

On another note, I gave up on Co-Pilot premium. The maps are really out of date. I asked for a refund.

The Sygic offline GPS app has maps that are more current.
I kinda disagree with this, I can tether with my Droid X and even when I'm driving my wife connects her laptop to my phone and I can connect the dynavin...so Idk what types of issues u have here.
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 04:54 AM   #2107
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,307
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
computer....
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 04:55 AM   #2108
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,307
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiTownTrav View Post
Is there a specific way to download applications to the SD card? I can not move applications I downloaded to SD card either.

Suggestions???
Huh?? do you own a computer, seriously do you?
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 06:59 AM   #2109
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
This all should be able to be done from the Dynavin unit. Computer should not be necessary.

At least last time I checked thats the way Android hardware & software works.
__________________

Last edited by ChiTownTrav; 10-14-2011 at 08:01 AM.
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:14 AM   #2110
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
I think it depends on what you are trying to download....you didnt say.

If I recall the copilot and sygic automatically installed to the card, the igo links that darkoz posted I think i used my computer and then put the files on the card.....I didnt really ever try to put them in a specific place but it seems to me that most of my apk files ended up on the card anyway....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:44 AM   #2111
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
Downloaded Sygic along with 6 other apps.
None downloaded to the card.
I tried transfering to the card on no dice. Said could no transfer.
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 11:20 AM   #2112
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Where did the sygic maps go? They are too big to go in the internal memory...

I'm going to let the other guys answer this one, I'm no android expert so I'll leave it to those who are.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 11:53 AM   #2113
mhilas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 12
My Ride: E46 N42
Need HELP.
I have Force Close Loop on Launcher Pro at the android start-up.
Previously everything was working fine, and suddenly it's happened today. So, now I'm practically can't get into any android functions.
Any way to reset the android and put it back to original launcher / home ............ HELP, please .....
Thank's in advance
mhilas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 12:22 PM   #2114
ChiTownTrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325CI
Send a message via AIM to ChiTownTrav Send a message via Yahoo to ChiTownTrav
Sygic map program loaded onto internal memory just fine cause its a small app. From there you have to download the map packages which are quite large and obviously won't fit on internal memory.

One of the reasons I'm trying to figure out a way to re-direct the downloads to the SD Card.
__________________
ChiTownTrav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 02:06 PM   #2115
Danoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 475
My Ride: '04 330i ZSP
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhilas View Post
Need HELP.
I have Force Close Loop on Launcher Pro at the android start-up.
Previously everything was working fine, and suddenly it's happened today. So, now I'm practically can't get into any android functions.
Any way to reset the android and put it back to original launcher / home ............ HELP, please .....
Thank's in advance
Yup,

Go to the android market webpage (using your computer), find any app that changes the default launcher (like Homesmack, or launcher switcher, or even launcher pro itself). Tell it to install on the "Unknown" device (the Dynavin unit registered with your google profile). Let dynavin android boot up with access to the internet and you should see the app install in the background (even while force close is in the foreground). After it's finished installing, punch through forced close messages should get you to a "which launcher would you like to use" screen. You could also restart the system to get it to ask that question (instead of punching through the FC messages). Select the standard launcher and you should be good.

Only one problem, you'll keep getting forced close messages periodically and will eventually decide that you should just reinstall the firmware. So I'd skip everything I wrote above and just reinstall the firmware. That's how you recover it though, if you want to try.

Last edited by Danoff; 10-14-2011 at 02:07 PM.
Danoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 03:53 PM   #2116
crristic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Romania
Posts: 31
My Ride: e46 320i
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by opey View Post
there is no bluetooth on the android side, i believe it is hardware related since it seems there are 2 separate circuit boards. so just assume there will be no BT on android. if im wrong and its updated in the future, then its a bonus
thanks opey, that's too bad, would have been a nice feature. my dealer advertised that this android D95 version would support torque but anyway, for the amount of features you get for the money I really can live without it (at least for now )

anyway folks, looks like I got another issue - don't really know what happened. I am attaching a pic with the message I get when trying to start igo

Any ideea what went wrong? I've added a music folder on the SD card that came with the unit for testing purposes. Could this be the reason?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.JPG
Views:	125
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	420942  
crristic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:47 PM   #2117
mhilas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 12
My Ride: E46 N42
Dan, thank's for the tips.
The problem is I having this problem while setting up the 3G connection to dynavin android, and I switched off the WiFi connection.
So, I'm practically off the internet at the android start-up and keep force closing the Launcher Pro. And I can't to get into the "Settings" menu.

I think your advice to reinstall the firmware is the best solution.
Before got this force close loop problem, I already try to update the firmware, but not success.
What is the kernel version, if we update the android using the 9-15 update from dynavin website ?
I already copy all the files to the root of the SD card, and put it into the Dynavin unit, but no update process happenned when I start the android.
Any step I missed ?

TIA.
mhilas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:56 PM   #2118
euromini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 3
My Ride: numerous
I just finished installing my v6 d95 android unit in my 2001 330ci. Im having a few problems with it. can any1 confirm or denied if the navigation is wifi dependent ? the navigation just sits at the "waiting for location" screen forever. I have yet to get the unit tethered to my android phone, but I have it connected to my home wifi network (its got a weak signal in the garage though). My other problems are the voice search (voice commands) app force closes upon launching it & my phone buttons on my steering wheel dont work also im guessing the wifi dongle that came with the unit plugs in to the gps side usb port ?

thanks for any info.
euromini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 11:02 PM   #2119
Mulatto325
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Key Largo
Posts: 978
My Ride: 325ci convertible
Hey Jeff. Just been reading through a few pages of this stuff. ( I bought your used original v3 unit, still works great BTW). Just let me know when the iDynavin comes out then I might think of up grading. I am no apple fan by any means. I use a pc but use a iPhone for a mobil device. Apple just has the whole phone Internet thing done right. I know the iDynavin will never happen and if something happens to my v3 I'll be sure to get a unit with out android if I can. Just saying.
__________________


My tops down, its upset.
>>>Mulatto325<<< Build thread
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...087&highlight=
Mulatto325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 11:09 PM   #2120
opey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: long island
Posts: 589
My Ride: 04 M3 coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by euromini View Post
I just finished installing my v6 d95 android unit in my 2001 330ci. Im having a few problems with it. can any1 confirm or denied if the navigation is wifi dependent ? the navigation just sits at the "waiting for location" screen forever. I have yet to get the unit tethered to my android phone, but I have it connected to my home wifi network (its got a weak signal in the garage though). My other problems are the voice search (voice commands) app force closes upon launching it & my phone buttons on my steering wheel dont work also im guessing the wifi dongle that came with the unit plugs in to the gps side usb port ?

thanks for any info.
yes the navigation needs internet access. if you did ANY research you would have known that. i dont think the phone button on the wheel does anything. u just press bluetooth on the main menu. and yes the dongle goes to the gps usb
__________________

IR/IR 6 speed
opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use