E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 337 votes, 4.98 average.
Old 02-16-2012, 07:34 AM   #2641
MaximumWalrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 133
My Ride: E39 530i
How do you guys find the white taskbar at night? Is it distracting?
MaximumWalrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:55 AM   #2642
Danoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 471
My Ride: '04 330i ZSP
Yes. If you put the power widget on one of your screens you can turn the brightness down by tapping the brightness button. This helps, but a bigger help would be gingerbread.

Danoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:31 PM   #2643
BMWPower06
Registered User
 
BMWPower06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DC Area Want: TX
Posts: 21,531
My Ride: ///M5 & VW Group Car
Send a message via AIM to BMWPower06
Are these still being sold? How does everyone like it?
__________________


Sold: ACS 330Ci :(
BMWPower06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 04:48 PM   #2644
sahiilseth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 12
My Ride: BMW 325i
Terrible issue: display suddenly has inverted !

I am having this terrible problem with the system.
The display has inverted, mode menu, settings, android all of them show a display turned upside down!
Touch screen still seems to locate the "buttons" where they were supposed to be.

So in summary the display has inverted but the touch sensitivity is aligned to the grid of the screen normally.

I have tried turning it of using the left knob. Turning the car off multiple times, but with no help.
sahiilseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:01 PM   #2645
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
first press the reset button.....

If that doesnt work, disconnect power from the unit overnight by either unplugging it or disconnecting the battery forcing a hard reset.

If that doesnt work let me know and we will take care of it.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:05 PM   #2646
sahiilseth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 12
My Ride: BMW 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
first press the reset button.....

If that doesnt work, disconnect power from the unit overnight by either unplugging it or disconnecting the battery forcing a hard reset.

If that doesnt work let me know and we will take care of it.
I think the new D99 Android do not have a reset button in the front anymore, correct me if I am wrong.

I just looked somewhere (google..) that long press left knob, turns if off (soft reset types..)

Thanks for the email jeff, hope the hard reset works.
sahiilseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:13 PM   #2647
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
correct, left knob is just an on/off....soft reset.

Do a 12 hour, no power, hard reset, and let me know what happens.

Thats a new one by the way, never seen that problem before so no promises!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 03:00 AM   #2648
col panic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: austin
Posts: 18
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by col panic View Post
Another thing I've been thinking about. I know this came up before but I don't think it went anywhere. I wonder if it would be possible to hard-wire constant 12v power to the Android side only and let it run all the time? You obviously wouldn't want to do that with the whole unit to protect the battery but I bet the Android side would not draw much power if it could be wired independently. Right now every time we turn off the car it force crashes Android and that can't be good for the file system. Hopefully there is a better way.
Anybody tried this?
col panic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 07:44 AM   #2649
listermint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 125
My Ride: E46 M3 '02
Quote:
Originally Posted by col panic View Post
Anybody tried this?
give it a go....

With yours.
listermint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 05:10 PM   #2650
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,996
My Ride: '02 M3 Vert
do these units support sdhc for storing music and videos on the right microsd slot?
__________________
daron

Last edited by w0w; 02-21-2012 at 11:02 PM.
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 11:01 PM   #2651
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,996
My Ride: '02 M3 Vert
just to confirm i mean the android side
__________________
daron
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 02:53 AM   #2652
listermint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 125
My Ride: E46 M3 '02
Quote:
Originally Posted by w0w View Post
just to confirm i mean the android side
Android is the LEFT hand side SD slot, And i havent had much joy with HC cards.

(just to clarify this is for the D99)
listermint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 08:38 AM   #2653
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
? I use a 32gb card all the time in android...
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 08:54 AM   #2654
listermint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 125
My Ride: E46 M3 '02
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
? I use a 32gb card all the time in android...
Is it SDHC or just SD ?
listermint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:25 AM   #2655
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
Sandisk 32GB SDHC. Formatted FAT32 with Windows 7. Bought it at a big box store and it was expensive.

Ive had people ask about this before when they couldn't get the card to work and it ususally ended up being a knock off card that was the issue.....buyers beware. Consumer reports had an article on it a few months back comparing genuine cards with phonies, I dont remember the stats but there was a crazy about of knock off SD cards out there....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 08:32 AM   #2656
geko29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: IL
Posts: 63
My Ride: 2000 323i
I've run into the strangest thing...I've had to rebuild my Dynavin 3 times in the past 6 weeks, and I finally have a problem statement: Whenever the car is driven with the Dynavin totally off, Android gets fuxored, with 3-5 Force Closes at startup, and another Force Close any time an app is opened. This occurs regardless of how long the Dynavin was running prior to being turned off (In one case I turned it off at the end of a 90-minute drive, so it would alredy be off when my wife drove it the following morning).

It's not the end of the world, but it is annoying to have to suddenly have to spend an hour reloading and re-configuring the unit, especially when I discover its condition at the start of a drive. Anybody else run into this?
geko29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 11:25 AM   #2657
Danoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 471
My Ride: '04 330i ZSP
Quote:
Originally Posted by geko29 View Post
I've run into the strangest thing...I've had to rebuild my Dynavin 3 times in the past 6 weeks, and I finally have a problem statement: Whenever the car is driven with the Dynavin totally off, Android gets fuxored, with 3-5 Force Closes at startup, and another Force Close any time an app is opened.
Fascinating. I actually might try this when I'm ready to re-install. My current Dynavin install was done back in August and I'm still running without force closes - but I'm getting behind.

I'm confident that this is not the ONLY thing that has ever caused FC errors, since I've seen them without ever driving the car with the unit turned off. I was just about to post and ask if people are still getting FC errors or if others are finding, like I have, that they are gone.
Danoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 11:46 AM   #2658
Ninety-9 SE-L
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 58
My Ride: 2001 M3, 3.5L Sentra
Yay, tax rebate came in and Dynavin is the first thing on my list. It's a necessity, in my car, I'm sick of FM radio!!!!

I NEED some input, please! I've been following this thread for several months now, I've read through hundreds of posts (not all 133 pages, but still). I am definitely purchasing a D99 for my 2001 M3 as soon as possible.

First thing's first. I have a 2001 M3 with HK and Navigation, I'm pretty familiar with the setup I have and I know I need the Fakra cable. Because my car is 2001, I have the old-style Connector, round pins, which go into the current Alpine radio receiver. Is this setup supported?

Second part is specific to Android. I love Android OS, I use it, I have a rooted phone running a custom ROM and WiFi Tethering. I'm still not fully convinced that the Android version of the D99 is the best option. Although I can tether my phone through Wifi, I don't plan to do this every time. The headunit will be offline, most of the time, especially when I'm driving in an area with low reception. Obviously, that makes navigation a pain, among other things that put Android at an advantage. I'm also not sure about the stability, speed, upgradability, let alone how a 600Mhz Android device is going to feel in 4-5 years. Any opinions from current users?

For the record, are there people making custom ROMs and Kernels for the D99?
Ninety-9 SE-L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 11:58 AM   #2659
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninety-9 SE-L View Post
Yay, tax rebate came in and Dynavin is the first thing on my list. It's a necessity, in my car, I'm sick of FM radio!!!!

I NEED some input, please! I've been following this thread for several months now, I've read through hundreds of posts (not all 133 pages, but still). I am definitely purchasing a D99 for my 2001 M3 as soon as possible.

First thing's first. I have a 2001 M3 with HK and Navigation, I'm pretty familiar with the setup I have and I know I need the Fakra cable. Because my car is 2001, I have the old-style Connector, round pins, which go into the current Alpine radio receiver. Is this setup supported?
If you have the old round pin plug you will need to swap out the plug on the Fakra, its number 3 in my FAQ: http://jandtdistributing.com/dynavin...ons/faq-links/

Its not rocket science but its not plug and play either.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 01:14 PM   #2660
Ninety-9 SE-L
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 58
My Ride: 2001 M3, 3.5L Sentra
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
If you have the old round pin plug you will need to swap out the plug on the Fakra, its number 3 in my FAQ: http://jandtdistributing.com/dynavin...ons/faq-links/

Its not rocket science but its not plug and play either.
Thanks. Definitely something I could handle, but good to know.

I'm still debating back and forth on the Android vs. WindowsCE. I know there are plenty of good offline navigation programs for Android, I just wonder about how well Android is going to age with the car. 600MHz is already pretty obsolete when most phones are running dual core 1-1.2GHz. What about future Android versions, or even custom Roms?
Ninety-9 SE-L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use