E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 390 votes, 4.98 average.
Old 05-09-2011, 01:34 PM   #281
Danoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 475
My Ride: '04 330i ZSP
I just trying to figure out what's different about your home wifi and your phone hotspot. There can't really be that many things different. Maybe it's some sort of protocol issue? Your phone should be pumping out wireless g, which is what the dynavin wifi dongle says its uses... should be good.

Last edited by Danoff; 05-09-2011 at 01:36 PM.
Danoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:35 PM   #282
m3evolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 265
My Ride: M3
I have the HTC Evo and use wifi tether v2.07 and it works fine. Make sure you only have one password and wifi ssid associated to your phone in Dynavin and no other wifi router/hotspot such as your houses wifi etc. That should work. When I had my phones wifi saved and my house router saved at the same time it wouldnt connect to either one like it was confused which one to choose and gave up and stopped.

Quote:
Originally Posted by live2ride090 View Post
Anyone been able to get there Android phone tethered to their Dynavin yet? I have tried multiple apps and the 3g mobile hot spot that is on my phone, no luck yet. The Dynavin will see my phone on the wifi set up screen using the mobile hot spot but will not connect to it (I have a Droid X by the way). I have tried all the channels on the my phone and with all the different security levels and no security password, still no luck. I have read through all these pages but it looks like most everyone has an iPhone. Kind of weird that I cant get my Droid phone to work with a Droid unit. The unit connects fine to my wifi at my house but the phone will not work.

Also, I cannot get the Aura offline Nav to work yet but it takes like over an hour to download the CA map, I was just trying to not have to remove and re-download it but that looks like the way I will have to go. I will also try some other ones that were listed on the past pages hopefully get something to work.

Any suggestions would be great. Thank you.
m3evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:37 PM   #283
Danoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 475
My Ride: '04 330i ZSP
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3evolution View Post
I have the HTC Evo and use wifi tether v2.07 and it works fine. Make sure you only have one password and wifi ssid associated to your phone in Dynavin and no other wifi router/hotspot such as your houses wifi etc. That should work. When I had my phones wifi saved and my house router saved at the same time it wouldnt connect to either one like it was confused which one to choose and gave up and stopped.
Oh that's not good.
Danoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:48 PM   #284
live2ride090
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 66
My Ride: 2002 M3 E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3evolution View Post
I have the HTC Evo and use wifi tether v2.07 and it works fine. Make sure you only have one password and wifi ssid associated to your phone in Dynavin and no other wifi router/hotspot such as your houses wifi etc. That should work. When I had my phones wifi saved and my house router saved at the same time it wouldnt connect to either one like it was confused which one to choose and gave up and stopped.
To use the wifi tether you need to root your phone correct?
live2ride090 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:48 PM   #285
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
every wifi setup is going to be a little different but it should all work....on my setup I have the dynavin connected to my house and my iphone, it has no problem connecting to one or the other with both active....although I havent done it with both enough times to determine what criteria it uses to choose between them...
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 05-09-2011 at 01:50 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 05:20 PM   #286
singry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STONY POINT, NY
Posts: 174
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
Ok finally. I got everything hooked up and working. Just have to figure out the wifi part. I broke something that appears to be a antenna connection... Will post a pic of it soon.






Here is a pic of what I broke.
That piece sticking out at the end broke off a wire that's attached to the car....
__________________
MR. 325i
singry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 05:48 PM   #287
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
if you have an 2001 you shouldnt even be using that ^^^ antenna connection....you car has 2 antenna wires, the one you need to use is the other larger plug with the short little adapter....I assume you used that one instead?
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 06:47 PM   #288
TrickTizzle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis/Milwaukee
Posts: 3,117
My Ride: 325i
Send a message via AIM to TrickTizzle
installing mine now....
how does the gps antenna connect to dynavin?
cant find the pic that explained it..

Last edited by TrickTizzle; 05-09-2011 at 06:54 PM.
TrickTizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 06:56 PM   #289
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
screw on connector on the back, I see our friends at UPS finally came through.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 07:06 PM   #290
singry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STONY POINT, NY
Posts: 174
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
if you have an 2001 you shouldnt even be using that ^^^ antenna connection....you car has 2 antenna wires, the one you need to use is the other larger plug with the short little adapter....I assume you used that one instead?
Oh yes i did. Any idea what that other one is for?
__________________
MR. 325i
singry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 07:42 PM   #291
singry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STONY POINT, NY
Posts: 174
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
Questions

hey

If i'm gonna be using USB 3G data do i still need the GPS i connected to the unit? or will it work with my network? I already have a data USB using when i'm up and about with my laptop. And also where do plug the USB data?


Also when i'm on the android side with the radio playing, when i touch a icon i get a mute in the sound as if i'm suppose to hear something. Any idea anyone. I know this might have been addressed before... I'm sorry if it did but i read through this section and maybe i missed it.

If it is anywhere in here can someone point me to it plz.........
__________________
MR. 325i

Last edited by singry; 05-09-2011 at 07:52 PM.
singry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 07:54 PM   #292
mtromszc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 26
My Ride: NY
Got mine today....Thanks Jeff
How long does the install usually take? I figured about 2 hours for the unit and another 90 min for reverse cam? I would hate to to be cought in the dark with my pants down...
mtromszc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 07:57 PM   #293
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
2 hours for the head unit is about right but that reverse cam could take you quite awhile.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:00 PM   #294
TrickTizzle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis/Milwaukee
Posts: 3,117
My Ride: 325i
Send a message via AIM to TrickTizzle
Quote:
Originally Posted by singry View Post
hey

If i'm gonna be using USB 3G data do i still need the GPS i connected to the unit? or will it work with my network? I already have a data USB using when i'm up and about with my laptop. And also where do plug the USB data?


Also when i'm on the android side with the radio playing, when i touch a icon i get a mute in the sound as if i'm suppose to hear something. Any idea anyone. I know this might have been addressed before... I'm sorry if it did but i read through this section and maybe i missed it.

If it is anywhere in here can someone point me to it plz.........
You should still plug in GPS because its way more accurate than your network. When you get location off of network it estimates based on your signal, etc. Won't be really good for navigation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtromszc View Post
Got mine today....Thanks Jeff
How long does the install usually take? I figured about 2 hours for the unit and another 90 min for reverse cam? I would hate to to be cought in the dark with my pants down...
Took me 2 hours. Go slow, and you'll be fine. If you start to rush you won't get anywhere.



My turn...

Ok, so when my ipod is playing on the dynavin, I only get sound out of the passenger side speakers, but radio plays fine through all speakers. Also I am unable to navigate through playlist/music/artist/etc of ipod via dynavin.
Steering wheel controls don't work with the ipod either...
TrickTizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:54 PM   #295
singry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STONY POINT, NY
Posts: 174
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrickTizzle View Post
You should still plug in GPS because its way more accurate than your network. When you get location off of network it estimates based on your signal, etc. Won't be really good for navigation.



Took me 2 hours. Go slow, and you'll be fine. If you start to rush you won't get anywhere.



My turn...

Ok, so when my ipod is playing on the dynavin, I only get sound out of the passenger side speakers, but radio plays fine through all speakers. Also I am unable to navigate through playlist/music/artist/etc of ipod via dynavin.
Steering wheel controls don't work with the ipod either...


I'm using my iphone 4 and it works sometimes. I just now got an error message saying {time out 354}...not sure what that is about.... but i use bluetooth to play music from my iphone.

I'm now realizing when i turn on the unit i hear music from front and back speakers for about 5 sec.... then i only hear it in from the rear ..........wierd.
__________________
MR. 325i
singry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:07 PM   #296
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrickTizzle View Post
You should still plug in GPS because its way more accurate than your network. When you get location off of network it estimates based on your signal, etc. Won't be really good for navigation.
the GPS antenna MUST be plugged in.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TrickTizzle View Post
Ok, so when my ipod is playing on the dynavin, I only get sound out of the passenger side speakers, but radio plays fine through all speakers. Also I am unable to navigate through playlist/music/artist/etc of ipod via dynavin.
Steering wheel controls don't work with the ipod either...
you ipod cable's plug is probably loose, it is a friction fit and it can come loose during the install.

Quote:
Originally Posted by singry View Post

I'm now realizing when i turn on the unit i hear music from front and back speakers for about 5 sec.... then i only hear it in from the rear ..........wierd.
uncheck "Navi Sound" in the radio menu. If you plug an ipod in and your name doesnt pop up in the upper left, press the right side knob (or TEL button on some models) to activate blutooth and then the "back" button in the lower right, this resets the connection and only takes a second.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 05-09-2011 at 09:11 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:28 PM   #297
TrickTizzle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis/Milwaukee
Posts: 3,117
My Ride: 325i
Send a message via AIM to TrickTizzle
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post


you ipod cable's plug is probably loose, it is a friction fit and it can come loose during the install.
So, I gotta remove the dynavin again?...arghh...
TrickTizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:32 PM   #298
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
depends on where your cable ended up, I always try to keep the plugs above or below the dynavin so I can reach them by pulling the vents or pulling the HVAC control, then I dont have to pull the dynavin out.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:35 PM   #299
singry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STONY POINT, NY
Posts: 174
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
the GPS antenna MUST be plugged in.




you ipod cable's plug is probably loose, it is a friction fit and it can come loose during the install.



uncheck "Navi Sound" in the radio menu. If you plug an ipod in and your name doesnt pop up in the upper left, press the right side knob (or TEL button on some models) to activate blutooth and then the "back" button in the lower right, this resets the connection and only takes a second.
Tanks mon.....smh. taking it for a spin now, even tho i haven't figured out the wifi/internet part yet. Think i had enuff for one day....tomorrow i will be playing around with it again.


__________________
MR. 325i
singry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:24 PM   #300
DropTopKingM3
OEM ///Member
 
DropTopKingM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 8,575
My Ride: All German
Can someone post a picture of what the wifi antenna looks like? I searched the entire box and the area where I worked on my car and I cant seem to find it. All i remember was the GPS antenna. Thanks in advance.
__________________
..George..
..Is now Alpine White/Cinnamon...

^Don't say my car is topless, say the t!tties is out^
DropTopKingM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use