E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 375 votes, 4.98 average.
Old 06-06-2011, 12:18 PM   #1101
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 120
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
WRT the iPod resume, the Hualingan E46 unit has this feature. I thought there were some physical similarities (PCBs etc) between the Dyna and Hualingan?
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 12:25 PM   #1102
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,745
My Ride: BMW
no, not much at all.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 12:28 PM   #1103
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 120
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
no, not much at all.
It could have been a Hualingan Seller who told me there were similarities
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 01:29 PM   #1104
jmejiaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 305
My Ride: 2002 M3
Yea an older Chinese unit I had resumed the iPod..
__________________
jmejiaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 01:38 PM   #1105
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,745
My Ride: BMW
lets stay on topic guys and keep this thread about android, on the android unit a nice size SD card and your choice of media player makes the ipod obsolete.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 01:42 PM   #1106
jmejiaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 305
My Ride: 2002 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
lets stay on topic guys and keep this thread about android, on the android unit a nice size SD card and your choice of media player makes the ipod obsolete.
I agree, I've been using power amp on my phone and I think I will be happy with it. Does power amp auto resume on start up? When I pulled the battery while playing music, it kept going right after.

Also, can you make it so the unit starts to the android side right away? Or do you always need to start the unit, go to android side, open media player. etc etc?
__________________
jmejiaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 01:58 PM   #1107
Danoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 475
My Ride: '04 330i ZSP
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmejiaa View Post
I agree, I've been using power amp on my phone and I think I will be happy with it. Does power amp auto resume on start up? When I pulled the battery while playing music, it kept going right after.

Also, can you make it so the unit starts to the android side right away? Or do you always need to start the unit, go to android side, open media player. etc etc?
If android was the last thing you used, it is what the unit will come up with. You could use an app like taskr to start something immediately on boot.
Danoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:00 PM   #1108
jmejiaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 305
My Ride: 2002 M3
Nice, thanks guys. Sorry if I'm filling the thread with such little and possible annoying questions, I just keep coming up with more and more
__________________
jmejiaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:18 PM   #1109
Danoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 475
My Ride: '04 330i ZSP
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmejiaa View Post
Nice, thanks guys. Sorry if I'm filling the thread with such little and possible annoying questions, I just keep coming up with more and more
It's ok, I think that's what this thread is supposed to be about - how to make android operation as smooth and unintrusive as possible. Right now I'm using doubletwist for music, but it is hit and miss whether it remembers where you were when you stopped the car (ok, almost always miss). I may try power amp to see if it notices my doubletwist playlists. I love how easy it is to maintain playlists and keep the appropriate music on the SD card using doubletwist.
Danoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:47 PM   #1110
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 120
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
...on the android unit a nice size SD card and your choice of media player makes the ipod obsolete.
Is the processor powerful enough to multitask running Poweramp and a GPS program?

And would any GPS voice commands lower the music volume?
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 03:07 PM   #1111
jmejiaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 305
My Ride: 2002 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post
Is the processor powerful enough to multitask running Poweramp and a GPS program?

And would any GPS voice commands lower the music volume?
Google maps lowers the volume of the stock app, I know that because I've done it on my phone.
__________________
jmejiaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 03:24 PM   #1112
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,745
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmejiaa View Post
Nice, thanks guys. Sorry if I'm filling the thread with such little and possible annoying questions, I just keep coming up with more and more
As long as its about android ask as many questions as you want

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danoff View Post
It's ok, I think that's what this thread is supposed to be about - how to make android operation as smooth and unintrusive as possible.
Exactly, we had a bit too much troubleshooting and install questions at the beginning but now that everyone has their units up and running we are getting into some good stuff.....only took 50 pages...

Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post
Is the processor powerful enough to multitask running Poweramp and a GPS program?

And would any GPS voice commands lower the music volume?
From what I understand Poweramp is resource intensive if you use the EQ extensively but it seemed to run ok when I was messing around with it. I didn't really care for its appearance however and went back to doubletwist and the android media player. I do sometimes get a few audio hiccups right after startup as the unit is still booting but after that it seems to work fine.

The different GPS programs interact with the media player differently so you will just have to play around with them, I seem to recall that Google, copilot, and sygic interupt the music while igo talks over it??? I think????
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-06-2011 at 03:27 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:18 PM   #1113
singry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STONY POINT, NY
Posts: 174
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
iGo interrupts it as well.

I was wondering if it can just lower the music instead of cutting it out every time it speaks. Is it possible?
__________________
MR. 325i

Last edited by singry; 06-06-2011 at 04:20 PM.
singry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:31 PM   #1114
jmejiaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 305
My Ride: 2002 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by singry View Post
iGo interrupts it as well.

I was wondering if it can just lower the music instead of cutting it out every time it speaks. Is it possible?
Do you mean the music on Radio side or Android side?

If Android, I'm assuming it would be app specific.
__________________
jmejiaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:43 PM   #1115
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,745
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by singry View Post
iGo interrupts it as well.

I was wondering if it can just lower the music instead of cutting it out every time it speaks. Is it possible?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmejiaa View Post
Do you mean the music on Radio side or Android side?

If Android, I'm assuming it would be app specific.
I was specifically talking about android, The nav programs will ALWAYS interrupt the audio on the radio side of the unit. If you are playing android based media it will be app specific.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:46 PM   #1116
AVG-recline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 12
My Ride: none
You have internet. Is that wifi or actual connection using like a cellphone service

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Bimmer App
AVG-recline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:58 PM   #1117
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,745
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVG-recline View Post
You have internet. Is that wifi or actual connection using like a cellphone service

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Bimmer App
wifi, we are all using cell phones with wifi hotspots, so the dynavin is wifi tethered to smartphones.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 06:22 PM   #1118
josh142
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 34
My Ride: 2002 BMW 325i
I run copilot and the android media player. The music cuts out while directions are givin. I havent yet figured out how to make android media player pick up where it left off but I honestly havent tried real hard.

I was also curious if anyone else has had there unit "lock up" on them? Mine just totally stopped on me one day. It was very hot out (like 95 deg.) and car had been parked outside for a few hours in the sun. I started the car and activated media player and copilot and about 2 minutes in it just froze up. Touch screen wouldn't work at all. I powered down the unit and turned it right back on and worked fine. Only did this once and I wrote it off as a heat issue?

Overall I love it and am very happy with it..
josh142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 06:28 PM   #1119
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,745
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by josh142 View Post
I run copilot and the android media player. The music cuts out while directions are givin. I havent yet figured out how to make android media player pick up where it left off but I honestly havent tried real hard.

I was also curious if anyone else has had there unit "lock up" on them? Mine just totally stopped on me one day. It was very hot out (like 95 deg.) and car had been parked outside for a few hours in the sun. I started the car and activated media player and copilot and about 2 minutes in it just froze up. Touch screen wouldn't work at all. I powered down the unit and turned it right back on and worked fine. Only did this once and I wrote it off as a heat issue?

Overall I love it and am very happy with it..
probably not heat, it just froze, just like computers or your phone does sometimes. Ive seen it happen once on my unit, dont think it means anything.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 06:28 PM   #1120
singry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STONY POINT, NY
Posts: 174
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
Yes this happend to me as well....once. I thought it was because i was messing around with everything. I mean i was really making this thing go to work. I figured it is just like a phone and can freeze if there is alot going on at the same time. No biggy to me.....
__________________
MR. 325i
singry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use