E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 395 votes, 4.98 average.
Old 08-03-2011, 03:03 PM   #1701
johndddd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: st. petersburg, fl
Posts: 506
My Ride: 02 m-3
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndddd View Post
Is there anyone running SLINGBOX app from the ANDROID market place? If so are you on the Verizon 3g network and or have an Iphone 4.
just asking again,
johndddd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 06:22 AM   #1702
m3evolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 265
My Ride: M3
Has there been any updates or ETA from TXROB about the new firmware he is working on with Dynavin?
m3evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 08:52 AM   #1703
Mattbuyshouses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2004 330i
^^^^
Now that I've gotten my unit installed and completely functional, (Thanks Jeff! ) I'd like to know the same. I now see what everyone was talking about with the IPod controls and searching for music, that -is- definitely a pain.

I'm setup with Pandora but I'm looking for suggestions on an MP3 player to run music off the flush-mounted USB drive. What's everyone's best suggestions that works bug-free so far?

Anyway, so glad I'm now finally part of the revolution. I'm merrily thumping down the street now, just need to 'pretty' everything up and build the box for the trunk to house the sub and amps.
__________________

Mattbuyshouses
Mattbuyshouses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 09:12 AM   #1704
m3evolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 265
My Ride: M3
For those that are having lots of FC problems and have Pandora installed try disabling the bluetooth option in the Pandora app. The bluetooth option being on in the Pandora app has been known to cause lots of problems.
m3evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 09:28 AM   #1705
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Matt, all of us with android units can use the android music player. Just get a big micro sd card and copy your iTunes library to it. No more iPod!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 09:30 AM   #1706
Dictato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 30
My Ride: 318d
This thing is driving me mad. Contacted Dynavin about the update. They send me instructions to reformat the provided sd and update the unit. At first it didn't work, but once I disconnected the unit from power and reconnected it. It started to update. When it was finished I got a message like:'ok, dail out the sd and reboot'. Did that more than 10 times, but still the same message and no android or anything else. It's not going away. Anyone fimiliar with this?

Btw my front speakers also stopped working. Checked cables behind the unit, but couldn't find anything broken.
Dictato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 11:34 AM   #1707
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
sooo......did you take out the sd card, turn the car off for a few seconds and then turn it back on? The front speakers stopped working because android currently is trying to use them....fix issue number one and issue number two will fix itself.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:36 PM   #1708
Dictato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 30
My Ride: 318d
Ok, I opened it all up again. Disconnected the wires and reconnected it. Now I put the SD in and start the car. I get a message like: "Updating system, Reading image". Waited more than 20 mins nothing happend, still the same message. Turned the car off and on , still nothing. Turned the car off and removed SD. Then turned back on again and now just turned the unit off. Put SD in and start unit again. Still nothing, same message. Tried these several times, but didn't work. I will try it again and this time wait for as long as it takes, see what happens.

Btw. thnx for the replay!
Dictato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 03:10 PM   #1709
Mattbuyshouses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2004 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Matt, all of us with android units can use the android music player. Just get a big micro sd card and copy your iTunes library to it. No more iPod!
I'll do that!

Tried hooking my phone into the flush mounted USB today, waited 30 minutes and it was only about 35% complete. How long does it take to scan your SD card for your music and how many files do you have on it? I'll start with a 4GB card that I have and put a few hundred songs on it from my collection. Even if I have to "rotate" music now and again, it is so clean and beautiful it's 100% worth moving music around.

I am so digging this unit!
__________________

Mattbuyshouses
Mattbuyshouses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 03:36 PM   #1710
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattbuyshouses View Post
I'll do that!

Tried hooking my phone into the flush mounted USB today, waited 30 minutes and it was only about 35% complete. How long does it take to scan your SD card for your music and how many files do you have on it? I'll start with a 4GB card that I have and put a few hundred songs on it from my collection. Even if I have to "rotate" music now and again, it is so clean and beautiful it's 100% worth moving music around.

I am so digging this unit!
I dont know of anyone using the android usb for music but i suppose its possible, 4GB is OK for the SD card but Im using a 32GB. IT takes a little while to scan and index everything the first time...maybe 5 minutes...but after that there is no load time for the SD card as it only loads changes after that.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 07:00 PM   #1711
Dictato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 30
My Ride: 318d
Thanks jeff !! I've managed to update my unit. Front speakers work again and I've a feeling that the android side has better sound now. Front speakers are 100rms 200 watts, but still it deforms alot if I go above 20 in the volume scale.
Dictato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 09:57 PM   #1712
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
For best results make sure that the android volume is set around 2/3 on the media volume setting (press the little speaker icons on the android status bar)
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:42 AM   #1713
fixjets
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Valrico, FL
Posts: 16
My Ride: 02 325Ci, 08 650i
WTF? So I try to start up IGO yesterday and get the "cannot load because you suck" message, along with a Gmail error message. So based on what I read here before (and no, I am not going to spend time to find it again) I am looking forward to reloading Android? Why why why? This is unacceptable.
fixjets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:27 AM   #1714
fixjets
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Valrico, FL
Posts: 16
My Ride: 02 325Ci, 08 650i
ttt

Last edited by fixjets; 08-22-2011 at 02:45 PM.
fixjets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 10:11 AM   #1715
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by fixjets View Post

Maybe someone should come up with some kind of central FAQ that one can actually find a solution quickly instead of wasting hours searching hundreds of posts.
I did, its on my website. Android stuff is at the bottom of the page.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 11:38 AM   #1716
fixjets
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Valrico, FL
Posts: 16
My Ride: 02 325Ci, 08 650i
Opey, Yes, I had an idea about what I had to do, and yes, I do know the issues. I have reloaded the system (3rd time in the past month) and it is solved, but it gets old. I was venting out loud and hoping someone might have come up with a different solution that was not posted. And yes, my description was not really accurate, but blame that on frustration.

Hopefully Dynavin will soon get us an update to prevent this kind of problem.

Last edited by fixjets; 08-06-2011 at 11:41 AM.
fixjets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 04:50 PM   #1717
singry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STONY POINT, NY
Posts: 174
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
So I got this yesterday with no apps installed. (the application google services framework (process.comgoogle.process.gapps) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.)

Then below that it says force close.

I have no apps installed.
__________________
MR. 325i
singry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:00 PM   #1718
fixjets
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Valrico, FL
Posts: 16
My Ride: 02 325Ci, 08 650i
Singry, I see you had the same problem with Igo that I did. For the record, I got the same Igo error you has in your photo, along with "Sorry, The application Gmail has stopped unexpectedly". It gets frustrating, doesn't it?

It appears that the OS somehow gets corrupted. Each time, I had to reinstall the OS to get it working properly. 3rd time this morning. Posts here were talking about how it could be from the shutdown process. That is where I think the problem is. Is Dynavin listening?

I know others are working on a new ROM and hope it helps this out.
fixjets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:08 PM   #1719
Mattbuyshouses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2004 330i
I wonder if anyone who has/is experiencing this issue could try the 'fix' that's been suggested on multiple phone/android forums:

Go to "Settings", select "Manage Applications", select "Google Apps" then Clear all Data. The same actions should then be performed for GMail and any other Google applications that experiences the same issue. Upon the completion of the above steps, you will likely need to re-enter your account information for those services but should now sync without error.

Of course, if you get this error and aren't currently connected to WiFi, I'm not sure of the results.

If anyone tries this I'd be very interested in the results. I've yet to get this error on the system I just installed, but then, I'm always connected to my Evo hotspot as soon as the car is turned on. So far, so good. ---> knocking on wood
__________________

Mattbuyshouses
Mattbuyshouses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 12:14 AM   #1720
grain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ft myers
Posts: 31
My Ride: 03 330Cic
im curious how everyone has all these problems.

Ive been running the dynavin for a good 2 months now, and have not once gotten a force close message. im running the igo and i might have pandora installed. that's it. i have my mp3s that i play with the android player.

i just don't know why everyone is having problems with theirs.
grain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use