E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2016, 12:18 PM   #1
mido1311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: caernarfon,UK
Posts: 33
My Ride: E46 318Ci 2001 coupe
Radio problem ,, needs help

hi , I have e46 318 2001 , tried to install aftermarket kenwood cd player ,
but it didn't want to start or turn on , checked the fuses all ok .. after I gave up tried to put back the original radio but it didn't work at all checked all fuses again and I still don't know why its doesn't work both of them
mido1311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 04-10-2016, 12:19 PM   #2
mr ilia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Golden Horseshoe
Posts: 416
My Ride: 2004 BMW 325i 5spd
Have you had your ignition on when testing it out?
__________________
---- My Beemer history ----
2004 BMW 325i sedan - Schwarz II
1998 BMW 323i coupe - Lazurblau
2004 BMW 325ci - Sapphire Black
1991 BMW 318i sedan - Lazurblau
2001 BMW 330i sedan (Auto) - Japanrot

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/signaturepics/sigpic288773_1.gif
mr ilia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 12:23 PM   #3
mido1311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: caernarfon,UK
Posts: 33
My Ride: E46 318Ci 2001 coupe
yes
mido1311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 03:15 PM   #4
markusmarkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,579
My Ride: 2001 330Ci
Radio problem ,, needs help

Are you saying that you replaced the head unit in the dash?

If you are taking about the CD changer in the trunk, the one you bought won't work as it won't interface with the BMW head unit.

Last edited by markusmarkus; 04-10-2016 at 03:16 PM.
markusmarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 04:04 PM   #5
mido1311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: caernarfon,UK
Posts: 33
My Ride: E46 318Ci 2001 coupe
i'm not talking about the cd changer in the boot .. i'm talking about the car radio I wanted to replace it with kenwood one but it didn't work and I returned the oem one and it didn't work either , I checked the fuses and they are all ok .
I want to know why both of them didn't work please
mido1311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 02:20 AM   #6
mleindek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2003 325i
Did your work involve any wire cutting/ splicing?
__________________

www.theofficeradiousa.com Your music, everywhere!

Quote:
Originally Posted by orb View Post
performance starts with maintenance
mleindek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 02:37 AM   #7
TonyNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: new york
Posts: 194
My Ride: 325i M56
Ahhhh shh don't mess with factory's set up.
I don't think he messed with the wires cause there a wiring harness.
Was the Kenwood a GPS? Because usually thay come with an additional fuse harness that may have cause a ground fault.

I'll try an lookup , suggesting what I may stumble upon.

Last edited by TonyNY; 04-11-2016 at 02:50 AM.
TonyNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 03:16 AM   #8
TonyNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: new york
Posts: 194
My Ride: 325i M56
Considering the age of wires . during installation of moving and tucking wires back in you may have bent the remote and ground far to much.
Try stretching them back out ever so slightly or simply testing each from factory's harness.
TonyNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 06:11 AM   #9
mido1311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: caernarfon,UK
Posts: 33
My Ride: E46 318Ci 2001 coupe
I checked all the wires , they are all ok I even replaced the headunit fuse sstill doesn't work , driving me crazy can't find out why it stopped working
mido1311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 10:58 AM   #10
TonyNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: new york
Posts: 194
My Ride: 325i M56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mido1311 View Post
I checked all the wires , they are all ok I even replaced the headunit fuse sstill doesn't work , driving me crazy can't find out why it stopped working
This may shine some light.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=361401

Spend the $100 for a professional installation , usualy PC richards or best buy offer free install .
my $0.02 forth of information!

If your a costumer at Crutchfield I'm sure they would help!

Last edited by TonyNY; 04-11-2016 at 11:05 AM.
TonyNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 08:42 PM   #11
TonyNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: new york
Posts: 194
My Ride: 325i M56
Here ya go buddy , I found it!
I was right in a way , " blue/ White remote wire connected to power antenna solid blue " # 14
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=582702
I would advise you- factory amp might screw up!
Post some photos

I guess the factory's head unit won't work because its in protection mode.
Acuras are the same with a pin code , antenna disconnected!

Last edited by TonyNY; 04-11-2016 at 09:24 PM.
TonyNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 01:39 AM   #12
HOODY007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Boston, MA & Dunwoody, GA
Posts: 308
My Ride: '04 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyNY View Post
Here ya go buddy , I found it!
I was right in a way , " blue/ White remote wire connected to power antenna solid blue " # 14
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=582702
I would advise you- factory amp might screw up!
Post some photos

I guess the factory's head unit won't work because its in protection mode.
Acuras are the same with a pin code , antenna disconnected!
The E46 head unit does not have a radio code. It is authenticated by the car's iBus. OP, check your fuses and wiring. Does the radio light up when you turn the lights on?
HOODY007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 02:02 AM   #13
TonyNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: new york
Posts: 194
My Ride: 325i M56
Quote:
Originally Posted by HOODY007 View Post
The E46 head unit does not have a radio code. It is authenticated by the car's iBus. OP, check your fuses and wiring. Does the radio light up when you turn the lights on?
Thanks for the update.
I'm sure he has crinkled wires far to much... Would the factory's amplifier caused a circuit fault?

Last edited by TonyNY; 04-12-2016 at 02:06 AM.
TonyNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 03:37 AM   #14
mleindek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2003 325i
Let's wait for OP's response but I bet there was some wire cutting/ splicing during the surgery.
__________________

www.theofficeradiousa.com Your music, everywhere!

Quote:
Originally Posted by orb View Post
performance starts with maintenance
mleindek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 05:15 AM   #15
mido1311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: caernarfon,UK
Posts: 33
My Ride: E46 318Ci 2001 coupe
Yes the radio lights up when I turn the lights on ..
mido1311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 07:17 PM   #16
mido1311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: caernarfon,UK
Posts: 33
My Ride: E46 318Ci 2001 coupe
still can't find out what the problem is
mido1311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 07:43 PM   #17
Snowbird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 77
My Ride: 02 325i
You need tools. And start diagnosing what's wrong. In cases like this no one can tell you what is wrong. Common sense would tell you to buy a multimeter and start checking where the issue is
Snowbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 09:57 PM   #18
mleindek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2003 325i
OP, how did you swapped radios? With a plug and play adapter or by cutting wires from the harness? That makes a HUGE difference.
__________________

www.theofficeradiousa.com Your music, everywhere!

Quote:
Originally Posted by orb View Post
performance starts with maintenance
mleindek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 11:11 PM   #19
TonyNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: new york
Posts: 194
My Ride: 325i M56


He probably used the wrong harness and caused a circuit fault in the amp
This is never going to end , till we all hear it!

Last edited by TonyNY; 04-12-2016 at 11:43 PM.
TonyNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 04:23 AM   #20
mido1311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: caernarfon,UK
Posts: 33
My Ride: E46 318Ci 2001 coupe
I didn't use the wrong harness mate ..i used plug and play harness
mido1311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use