E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2011, 10:26 AM   #1
FreddyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 66
My Ride: M3
Garage Door opener

I recently bought a 2006 BMW M3 with a sunroof. I don't have the universal garage door opener. I had a garage opener in my previous car and I really miss it. Could someone please tell me what options are available? Do I have to buy a new mirror with the buttons since I have a sunroof? And if I buy it are the wires/connectors somewhere already in my car? Any help appreciated.
FreddyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 12-30-2011, 11:39 AM   #2
Bostonbeast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 239
My Ride: 2000 328i
You could get an e9x mirror that has compass and homelink or you could just get the homelink piece that fits in between the OEM mic location and sunroof opener.

I know delmarco has some DIYs on both of these options. I would search for those.
Bostonbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 11:47 AM   #3
COBYATCH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 362
My Ride: 03 325i
I'm sure your car is prewired for the homelink system, but just in case check your trunk and see if the badge that says it is prewired is there.

Homelink systems are available on eBay, just make sure you find the one with rolling code technology support (Should have white numbered buttons). Here's one I found:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-e38-e39-...3#ht_500wt_971

Here's a DIY install:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=396312
COBYATCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 11:55 AM   #4
FreddyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 66
My Ride: M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by COBYATCH View Post
I'm sure your car is prewired for the homelink system, but just in case check your trunk and see if the badge that says it is prewired is there.

Homelink systems are available on eBay, just make sure you find the one with rolling code technology support (Should have white numbered buttons). Here's one I found:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-e38-e39-...3#ht_500wt_971

Here's a DIY install:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=396312

THANKS!!!! Exactly the information I needed!!!!!
FreddyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 11:10 AM   #5
FreddyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 66
My Ride: M3
[QUOTE=COBYATCH;13934332]I'm sure your car is prewired for the homelink system, but just in case check your trunk and see if the badge that says it is prewired is there.

Where in the trunk is this badge?
FreddyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:27 PM   #6
jasonbimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 5,686
My Ride: 2001 BMW 330xi
[QUOTE=FreddyM3;13938291]
Quote:
Originally Posted by COBYATCH View Post
I'm sure your car is prewired for the homelink system, but just in case check your trunk and see if the badge that says it is prewired is there.

Where in the trunk is this badge?
on the trunk lid on the left side bottom.
__________________
2009 Mazda RX-8 R3
2013 Toyota FJ Cruiser
2008 YAMAHA YZF-R6
jasonbimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:14 PM   #7
ed330x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 28
My Ride: 2005 330xi
Anyone know if a homelink unit from a 05 X5 will fit a 05 330xi? looks the same to me
ed330x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:26 PM   #8
Big Rick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Maryland - Land of Taxes!
Posts: 1,410
My Ride: 325Xi
Have a picture?
__________________
NWS and Advertising Removed.
Big Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:31 PM   #9
ed330x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 28
My Ride: 2005 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Rick View Post
Have a picture?
heres a link, http://www.ebay.com/itm/110740736693...84.m1423.l2649
ed330x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:38 PM   #10
Big Rick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Maryland - Land of Taxes!
Posts: 1,410
My Ride: 325Xi
Here's the one I just installed....

__________________
NWS and Advertising Removed.
Big Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:40 PM   #11
Big Rick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Maryland - Land of Taxes!
Posts: 1,410
My Ride: 325Xi
Here's one for cheaper... They are all the same unit.

EBAY HOMELINK
__________________
NWS and Advertising Removed.
Big Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:45 PM   #12
ed330x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 28
My Ride: 2005 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Rick View Post
Here's the one I just installed....

Nice! Is that OEM BMW? (plug and play?) for an e-46? Rolling codes?
I have the homelink in my Volvo S-60... and miss it in the BMW...
ed330x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:50 PM   #13
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,895
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
What is rolling code?

I have a small removable pocket (rectangular, looks nothing like Big Rick's - I have no sunroof), would the ebay units posted here be plug and play?
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:52 PM   #14
Big Rick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Maryland - Land of Taxes!
Posts: 1,410
My Ride: 325Xi
Nope... Not OEM... Any Homelink will work... It's just that the stock (OEM) Homelink is plug and play for the most part. There are a few DIY threads on that around here. I always install one of these into cars I own that don't have them... Or were part of a package I didn't want. Easy to do... Just +12v and ground. You are prewired for the OEM so I would go with that. It is a little outdated looking but the 1-2-3 light up at night... I wasn't even thinking about that.

I just mooched power off the OEM homelink line... I can take the power taps off if I decide to go back to OEM... But I would need a new cover to put it into...
__________________
NWS and Advertising Removed.
Big Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:56 PM   #15
Big Rick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Maryland - Land of Taxes!
Posts: 1,410
My Ride: 325Xi
Rolling code garage doors make sure that nobody can steal your code from your Homelink unit... The codes change every time you open and close and send a little signal back to the controller wth the new code. (Or something like that.)

Look up "Homelink" on ebay.. If you can fit the larger piece of the homelink behind something (Like I was able to) al you then need is 12V and you are set.

Or you could just disassemble the transmitter you have now and attach the switch to you highbeam switch... Wanna get in? Hit your highbeams... I've done that before too. Homelink is better as you can program it once installed without pulling out your homebuilt rig and reprogramming it.
__________________
NWS and Advertising Removed.
Big Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 04:43 PM   #16
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,895
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Rick View Post
Rolling code garage doors make sure that nobody can steal your code from your Homelink unit... The codes change every time you open and close and send a little signal back to the controller wth the new code. (Or something like that.)

Look up "Homelink" on ebay.. If you can fit the larger piece of the homelink behind something (Like I was able to) al you then need is 12V and you are set.

Or you could just disassemble the transmitter you have now and attach the switch to you highbeam switch... Wanna get in? Hit your highbeams... I've done that before too. Homelink is better as you can program it once installed without pulling out your homebuilt rig and reprogramming it.
That would be a great idea if my original transmitter didn't have such terrible range. I'm looking for the OEM homelink for the non-sunroof E46.. is there one?





My roof cover looks like this, and yes the car is prewired.




I've seen the DIY retrofit with the Ebay items listed on this page, but the final product is definitely not OEM.


ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 04:50 PM   #17
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,895
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Never mind, this is the OEM part


ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 05:23 PM   #18
Big Rick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Maryland - Land of Taxes!
Posts: 1,410
My Ride: 325Xi
Now that one isn't as bad as the one for mine. Plus it has the numbers light up at night. (Not that you can't find mine) but it loks a lot smaller. I wonder if it uses the same pre-wire as mine... I'd bet so.
__________________
NWS and Advertising Removed.
Big Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:21 AM   #19
FreddyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 66
My Ride: M3
Installed the UGDO thanks to everyone's help! While I was in there I installed the hardwire for my radar detector too. Great DIY on this site. Save me lots of money. Found the OEM UGDo opener on ebay for $65. Works perfectly and as mentioned before the wire with plug was inside next to the sunroof wiring.
FreddyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use