Would Cam position sensor keep your car from starting? - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.60 average. Display Modes
Old 09-02-2011, 08:03 PM   #1
bmw East N Bull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: EstNbull
Posts: 45
My Ride: Bmw
Would Cam position sensor keep your car from starting?

After reading the codes, i got 2 Misfires and cam position sensor, would that keep my car from starting, My car is still sitting in my drive way and hasnt started for a week noww?
bmw East N Bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 09-02-2011, 08:04 PM   #2
hi its me alec
Registered User
 
hi its me alec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 15,222
My Ride: BMWs + 1988 Pathy
Send a message via AIM to hi its me alec Send a message via MSN to hi its me alec
Yes, of course it would.
__________________
hi its me alec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:08 PM   #3
Solidjake
Zero. Leaks.
 
Solidjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 31,100
My Ride: '02 330i 6MT
Yup. Which sensor is it? The DIY is easy by the way and you can get the OEM (ONLY OEM) sensor from ecstuning.com
__________________
Solidjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:10 PM   #4
bmw East N Bull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: EstNbull
Posts: 45
My Ride: Bmw
Its coming up as Cam position sensor
bmw East N Bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:12 PM   #5
Solidjake
Zero. Leaks.
 
Solidjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 31,100
My Ride: '02 330i 6MT
But it should say like sensor a or b or something like that.
__________________
Solidjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:16 PM   #6
bmw East N Bull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: EstNbull
Posts: 45
My Ride: Bmw
i will check it tommorow first thing, Im not really farmilliar with the sensors but is there a difference with Camshaft and crankshaft sensor??? where is the crankshaft located

thanks
bmw East N Bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:18 PM   #7
Solidjake
Zero. Leaks.
 
Solidjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 31,100
My Ride: '02 330i 6MT
Well I'm saying there is an intake sensor and an exhaust sensor. Get back to us when you can.
__________________
Solidjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:18 PM   #8
hi its me alec
Registered User
 
hi its me alec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 15,222
My Ride: BMWs + 1988 Pathy
Send a message via AIM to hi its me alec Send a message via MSN to hi its me alec
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw East N Bull View Post
i will check it tommorow first thing, Im not really farmilliar with the sensors but is there a difference with Camshaft and crankshaft sensor??? where is the crankshaft located

thanks
The crankshaft is toward the bottom of the block. Cams are right underneath the valve cover up top. All the sensors are toward the front of the engine
__________________
hi its me alec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 09:10 PM   #9
dmax
Registered User
 
dmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 23,731
My Ride: '99 328i 300K miles
My understanding is that a bad crank sensor would cause the car not to crank. A bad cam sensor, the car would crank, but not start.

But, just to complicate things, I'm pretty sure guys have gotten cam sensor codes, replaced them, and still have issues starting. I don't know what else might trigger a cps code that's not the cps...something upstream of it. Timing is pretty well fixed. Only other thing that messes with timing is the vanos...maybe it's retarded--literally and figuratively!

I don't know that the vanos can get stuck in a position where it's retarding or advancing incorrectly and thus the cps might pick up on that. Just a guess. I'm not a mechanic and don't play one on the Internet!

Search cps, camshaft position sensor, in advanced/title search along with 'no start' and see what you get. You're not the first no start with cps codes I'm positive. Don't go ordering parts just yet. Do the research.
__________________
Laugh with me! Don't be lame! Broadway Comedy Club, NYC, July 14, 8 p.m. See Facebook for other shows and PM me if you can make one.


Please view this vid so it looks like I'm popular. Please! https://youtu.be/995gLmVEVZk

dmax on Facebook

Mangofy your E46!
dmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 10:35 PM   #10
Loaded325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: oregon
Posts: 491
My Ride: bmw 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw East N Bull View Post
i will check it tommorow first thing, Im not really farmilliar with the sensors but is there a difference with Camshaft and crankshaft sensor??? where is the crankshaft located

thanks
OP stay very clear from your engine please. That's all Im gonna say, I warned you.

It doesnt matter which sensor goes bad, the car will still turn over no matter what. The sensor going bad wont keep the battery from applying voltage to the starter. Thus turning over the engine. The crankshaft position sensor and camshaft position sensor(s) work in unisyn with eachother to determine the correct time to apply voltage to any specific cylinders at that time. Vehicles WITHOUT distributors typically have these types of sensors otherwise the car has no idea when to apply spark and to what cylinders.

Last edited by Loaded325i; 09-02-2011 at 10:42 PM.
Loaded325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 07:31 AM   #11
SweetBMW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 316
My Ride: 318CIA
Bad Crankshaft sensor = car will start, but will require a few more rounds on the starter motor before the cam position sensors take over RPM reading and firing positions. Will also (possibly, not all cars do this) struggle to get past 4000rpm. lots of misfire, hesitation of throttle.

Bad camshaft position sensor: car will start, (might also require few more rounds on the starter motor), and have reduced power.
__________________
SweetBMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 07:48 AM   #12
dmax
Registered User
 
dmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 23,731
My Ride: '99 328i 300K miles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loaded325i View Post
OP stay very clear from your engine please. That's all Im gonna say, I warned you.

It doesnt matter which sensor goes bad, the car will still turn over no matter what. The sensor going bad wont keep the battery from applying voltage to the starter. Thus turning over the engine. The crankshaft position sensor and camshaft position sensor(s) work in unisyn with eachother to determine the correct time to apply voltage to any specific cylinders at that time. Vehicles WITHOUT distributors typically have these types of sensors otherwise the car has no idea when to apply spark and to what cylinders.
Goes to prove you can't trust what you hear on the Internet! If you're right, Loaded, then I apologize for passing along rumors...as it seems I may have done regarding a bad crank position sensor causing a no-crank.

We have a number of seasoned professional mechanics here, and it's easy to tell the really good ones--they're patient, explain clearly, and don't condescend. You can recommend getting the car to a shop without also insulting someone. I do it all the time!
__________________
Laugh with me! Don't be lame! Broadway Comedy Club, NYC, July 14, 8 p.m. See Facebook for other shows and PM me if you can make one.


Please view this vid so it looks like I'm popular. Please! https://youtu.be/995gLmVEVZk

dmax on Facebook

Mangofy your E46!
dmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 05:52 PM   #13
Datbmwguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 18
My Ride: 2000 E46 323i
Send a message via ICQ to Datbmwguy
Did you ever figure out what the problem was i'm having the same issue
Datbmwguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 07:19 PM   #14
jdstrickland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 9,296
My Ride: '94 325iC & '00 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datbmwguy View Post
Did you ever figure out what the problem was i'm having the same issue
1.) Closing in on 6 years since the last post on this thread.
2.) What issue are you having? The crank or cam position sensors will give you a Check Engine light and a code. What is your code?
jdstrickland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 05:24 PM   #15
Datbmwguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 18
My Ride: 2000 E46 323i
Send a message via ICQ to Datbmwguy
Camshaft position sensor a Is the only check engine light I replaced the starter crankshaft sensor ignition switch clutch switch I don't know what else to check all the fuses and relays are good
Datbmwguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 05:03 PM   #16
SSchwab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oregon City Oregon
Posts: 572
My Ride: 99 328i, 00 Z3 2.8
Crank but no start problem?

Have you confirmed you have gas in the tank and fuel pressure at the rail?
SSchwab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 12:41 PM   #17
Datbmwguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 18
My Ride: 2000 E46 323i
Send a message via ICQ to Datbmwguy
I have more than a half tank is fuel coming out to see your real when I pulled it and that would cause the car not to crank if the pressure isn't correct cause the starter not too crank
Datbmwguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 01:29 PM   #18
SSchwab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oregon City Oregon
Posts: 572
My Ride: 99 328i, 00 Z3 2.8
What is your battery voltage reading before cranking?
SSchwab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 01:52 PM   #19
jfoj
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 23,183
My Ride: 330CiC, M5, X5, E93
How about a COMPLETE and CLEAR sentence about what is going on?

Not sure if this is Voice to Text gone bad or typing while driving?

Is this a no crank problem?

Is this a crank, no start problem?

Does the tach move to 100-150 RPM if this is a crank, no start condition?

Do you have another key?
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temp, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose temp switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299
jfoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 01:59 PM   #20
SSchwab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oregon City Oregon
Posts: 572
My Ride: 99 328i, 00 Z3 2.8
I am trying to walk this guy through step by step.
SSchwab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.