E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2016, 01:53 AM   #1
aj_diu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 5
DME box replacement

Can anyone here help me to do best option. Get a refurbished DME and program it or get a used one and have it reprogrammed. Anyone knows anyone in CA that can do programming or reprogramming.. I have a 2001 330i. Thanks inadvanced!
aj_diu is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 04-12-2016, 09:49 AM   #2
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,096
My Ride: 330iCA
Well, with ~20$ investment you can get the hardware to do it on your own. MS43 should be ~40$.
__________________
Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!


Siemens MS42 wiki!

Siemens MS43 wiki!

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 10:01 AM   #3
BaliDawg
Modded ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,550
My Ride: 325Ci 330Ci 530i 750
Why do you need a replacement DME?

Where in California are you?
__________________
///Mmmmmm...
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 07:22 PM   #4
aj_diu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 5
I have a problem with 1 of the prongs in the dme box that is connected to the o2 sensor.. CEL keeps popping on and off before, now its permanent.
aj_diu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 07:23 PM   #5
aj_diu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 5
Im located in East bay. Concord area. What hardware should i buy to reprogram the dme?
aj_diu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 07:35 PM   #6
BaliDawg
Modded ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,550
My Ride: 325Ci 330Ci 530i 750
I would fix your current DME. It is waaaaaaaay easier than replacing it. Just take it to a decent electronic technician.
__________________
///Mmmmmm...
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 09:37 PM   #7
BaliDawg
Modded ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,550
My Ride: 325Ci 330Ci 530i 750
Post a photo of the bad prong. If you were in SoCal I'd fix it for you.
__________________
///Mmmmmm...
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 09:38 PM   #8
aj_diu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 5
If i ship it to you, can you fix it? Il just pay you through bank..
aj_diu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 10:00 PM   #9
BaliDawg
Modded ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,550
My Ride: 325Ci 330Ci 530i 750
Need to see photos first. Post them here.
__________________
///Mmmmmm...
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 11:02 PM   #10
aj_diu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 5
Ok tomorrow i will.. Thanks!
aj_diu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use