E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-15-2011, 12:11 PM   #21
fadeaway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South OC
Posts: 309
My Ride: 04 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by chazstace View Post
Its a home build kit, you get them from a place called maplin here in the UK, however do a search on google and I'm sure you will find them.

There are 2 parts to the rear window, one used by the factory amp that I have left in place and the other connected to the new amp. Giving 2 feeds, one for Radio and one for the TMC.
http://www.maplin.co.uk/m-100-profes...plifier-222409
I'm assuming that this is the one that you got. Very nice job getting things to work the way that you did.

Just for future reference, when you say home built it is generally interpreted as "I created this thing using spare parts and ingenuity." When there is a kit with instructions, I would not call it "home built." Either way, good job and nice post!
fadeaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 12:23 PM   #22
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 119
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
Quote:
Originally Posted by fadeaway View Post
Don't think thats it.

Kit K2622 here looks more like it: http://esr.co.uk/velleman/products/index_kit.htm

Last edited by podge3; 11-15-2011 at 02:02 PM.
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 01:27 PM   #23
fadeaway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South OC
Posts: 309
My Ride: 04 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post
Don't think thats it.

This looks more like it: http://esr.co.uk/velleman/products/index_kit.htm
That's a java page. It just shows their entire product listing. Which were you referring to?
fadeaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 02:02 PM   #24
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 119
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
Quote:
Originally Posted by fadeaway View Post
That's a java page. It just shows their entire product listing. Which were you referring to?
Kit K2622.
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 03:48 PM   #25
fadeaway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South OC
Posts: 309
My Ride: 04 330Ci
Cool. Thanks!
fadeaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:58 PM   #26
TitanSilverE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 276
My Ride: 2001 318i & 325i
Looking for a few more details on the hookup. The Dynavin has only one radio antenna input. You are saying you are using your new amp for the radio so I am presuming you are connecting the output from your amp to the existing dynavin antenna lead. Where are you connecting the output from the OEM amplifier that you are now using for the TMC? Where are you picking up the 12v power from?
__________________
TitanSilverE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 01:46 AM   #27
MaximumWalrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 133
My Ride: E39 530i
Just as a heads up the newer units have two antenna inputs and tmc seems to work really well
MaximumWalrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 02:44 AM   #28
TitanSilverE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 276
My Ride: 2001 318i & 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximumWalrus View Post
Just as a heads up the newer units have two antenna inputs and tmc seems to work really well
Are you saying that newer Dynavin V5 units (post May 2005) have two antenna inputs?

The OP has a 328 so I am presuming pre 2001 which had the older amplfier and head unit. There were two leads from this amplifier to the OEM head unit but only one could be used by the Dynavin. Unfortunately the second lead applied power from the head unit to the amp and so many people had crap AM/FM reception after fitting the Dynavin. I, like many, have fitted a powered antenna adapter between the antenna lead and the Dynavin and as this adapter is also connected to a 12v source, it supplies power to the amp and improves FM reception.

So back to the case in point, unless the Dynavin (post May 2011) has two antenna inputs, I need to know how the OP has connected the output from the two amplifiers to his dynavin.
__________________
TitanSilverE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 03:37 AM   #29
MaximumWalrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 133
My Ride: E39 530i
The D99 models have two antenna inputs.
MaximumWalrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 04:20 AM   #30
TitanSilverE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 276
My Ride: 2001 318i & 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximumWalrus View Post
The D99 models have two antenna inputs.
As the original post was Oct 2011, the OP would most likely have a V5 D90 same as mine. The D95 was V6 and D99 was new for 2012. Did either late V90 or D95 units have two antenna inputs like the D99?
__________________
TitanSilverE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 05:37 PM   #31
chazstace
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 119
My Ride: E46 328i SE
I connected the original factory antenna to the TMC, This gives me TMC coverage almost everywhere 100% of the time.

I then tapped into the lower part of the antenna on the actual rear screen itself for FM Radio, then attached a booster. This method works best I found.
chazstace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:56 AM   #32
e46 330ci vert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: cov uk
Posts: 25
My Ride: e46 vert
Send a message via ICQ to e46 330ci vert
any more info on this please?
e46 330ci vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use