E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 328 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-01-2012, 11:02 PM   #101
m3evolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 265
My Ride: M3
I literally had to take it a part and out of my car. Here are some pics of what the unit looks like inside. The Android part is a custom TI OMAP3530 board.

Here are the numbers I saw on the boards many chips:

The custom board : DYNAVIN - GPS 100801
Micron 9va98
Omap TM 3530DCUS
CHRONTEL 7026B-TF
Globalsat Sirf 3

I circled the USB OTG connector thats hidden inside the unit. You will need to connect to this for a reliable ADB connection. I tried ADBwireless but I found it unreliable.

If any of you guys know how or want to try and build a new ROM all the source code and how to you can find in this link.
http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index....DeveloperGuide
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3925 (Medium).JPG
Views:	263
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	435051   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3952 (Medium).JPG
Views:	325
Size:	281.2 KB
ID:	435052   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3953 (Medium).JPG
Views:	232
Size:	123.9 KB
ID:	435053  
m3evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 11:13 PM   #102
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW


I admire your ingenuity..... looking forward to what you guys come up with.

__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 12:20 AM   #103
m3evolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 265
My Ride: M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by opey View Post
doesnt seem to. i wanted to pull the unit out and let it run and see if it still happens, just been lazy
How many apps do you have open or running in the background when you have these problems? I experienced these problems too sometime but notice it most when the unit appears to working really hard running lots of stuff in the background. I uninstalled and stripped out almost all non essential apps. I havent had any problems in awhile no force close either.

If you dont want to uninstall anything but want to increase memory you might want to install and turn on swap memory (kind of like virtual memory on your pc)

Here is a link on how to do that.
http://www.slatedroid.com/wiki/index...toload_at_Boot

Last edited by m3evolution; 02-02-2012 at 12:23 AM.
m3evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 04:45 AM   #104
winter_baby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: sd
Posts: 189
My Ride: e46
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3evolution View Post
Can you give us the link to that Gingerbread dynavin clone thread over at xda? Ive been trying to build a new rom for our Dynavin without much luck.
http://forum.E46Fanatics.com/showthr...=896677&page=5
I meant to someone from this forum but I thimk u foind the thread already.

@jneumann, I actually didn't try. I only lurked around the root directory to locate the source graphics and stopped...



Sent from my SGH-I777 using Bimmer App
__________________

2003 330i Titanium Silver / Black - [Sold]
2000 Z3 M Titanium Silver / Imola Red+Black Nappa
2001 330cic Metallic Steel Gray / Gray - [Sold]
2000 Z3 2.8 Topaz Blue Metallic / Beige - [Sold]
1997 Z3 1.8 Atlanta Blue Metallic / Beige - [Sold]

winter_baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:18 PM   #105
AJGetz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 14
My Ride: United States
I just used the V6 Supercharger, and to anyone hesitant about it, DO IT. I am amazed at the change. My Pandora lag between songs went from 30 seconds (on average) to about 2, if that.

I saw the m3evolution rom with the black notification bar and really like it. If i flash this rom, will I need to run the supercharger again or is it already scripted to the image?
AJGetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:56 PM   #106
wshgrntd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 136
My Ride: 2007 335i m-sport
M3 how did you get Igo to work on android and the black toolbar?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3evolution View Post
wshgrntd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 03:18 PM   #107
opey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: long island
Posts: 589
My Ride: 04 M3 coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3evolution View Post
How many apps do you have open or running in the background when you have these problems? I experienced these problems too sometime but notice it most when the unit appears to working really hard running lots of stuff in the background. I uninstalled and stripped out almost all non essential apps. I havent had any problems in awhile no force close either.

If you dont want to uninstall anything but want to increase memory you might want to install and turn on swap memory (kind of like virtual memory on your pc)

Here is a link on how to do that.
http://www.slatedroid.com/wiki/index...toload_at_Boot
it happens even on a clean firmware install with nothing extra loaded, both stock firmware and rooted
__________________

IR/IR 6 speed
opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 05:27 PM   #108
Fooljam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 888
My Ride: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jneumann View Post
No? What stalk buttons? The OBC stalk? I don't have the OBC stalk on my car, only the steering wheel. I was under the impression nothing ibus related passed through the Dynavin side onto the Android side.
It's probably worth noting that I have the original Dynavin Android.
Yes your stalk buttons on the steering wheel to control the radio.
Now how do you get the OBC information from the radio, under Android or not? If under android, then it is connected to the iBus directly.
Fooljam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 05:29 PM   #109
Fooljam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 888
My Ride: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by wshgrntd View Post
M3 how did you get Igo to work on android and the black toolbar?
You install it, simple as that...I don't see the problem here. An Android version was released a while back by NavAndGo.
Fooljam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 10:54 PM   #110
jneumann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,065
My Ride: 323i, 530i, Z4 3.0i
Send a message via AIM to jneumann
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3evolution View Post
I circled the USB OTG connector thats hidden inside the unit. You will need to connect to this for a reliable ADB connection.
You have to break off the beeper to get a usb cable to fit though. I've currently got one hanging out of my dash actually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by winter_baby View Post
@jneumann, I actually didn't try. I only lurked around the root directory to locate the source graphics and stopped...
It's in framework-res.apk if I remember correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fooljam View Post
Yes your stalk buttons on the steering wheel to control the radio.
Now how do you get the OBC information from the radio, under Android or not? If under android, then it is connected to the iBus directly.
Like I said, I don't have any stalk buttons due to not having the OBC stalk. Android is not hooked up to the iBus, only the Dynavin side. (i.e. sound control, mute, phone answer/end, next/previous buttons on the steering wheel)

I've honestly not tried m3evo's rom yet, but he has the status bar black now?
__________________
E46 323i Sport/5 speed/TiAg | 242k miles
E85 Z4 3.0i Sport/6 speed/Toledo Blue | 96k miles
E39 530i M-Sport/5 speed/Topaz Blue | 231k miles

Dynavin Android | Laser Interceptor | GRE PSR-800 | STi-R+ | M3 seats | 50W 4300K FX-R Retrofit | Solid black interior | Mtech II front bumper | Koni FSDs
Member, Three Pedal Mafia | Long informative article on oil | BITOG German Castrol FAQ

jneumann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 07:26 AM   #111
Fooljam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 888
My Ride: 5
So has anyone tried my app yet?
Cheers
Fooljam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 07:41 AM   #112
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 120
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fooljam View Post
Guys,

Those with a rooted and non rooted D99 platforms, could you please try the iBus application for Android we are making just to see if it works on those using the Dynavin CAN bus adapter.
We have not touched this application in 2 months due to the lack of hardware availability, so I would appreciate if anyone could try this on.

Also, once installed, could you please run a LS command (Those with a terminal emulator or else) under the /dev folder and send me the output back.

iBus application for Android

Password to unrar: xl8U>1C<.tM267E

Many thanks in advance
Isn't the canbus adapter just for the radio/multimedia side of the headunit?

With no connection at all to the Android side?
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 08:51 AM   #113
Fooljam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 888
My Ride: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post
Isn't the canbus adapter just for the radio/multimedia side of the headunit?

With no connection at all to the Android side?
Well if that's the case yes, there is no point. Now where do you get the OBC info from, the radio itself, or is that a Android app?

Thanks
Fooljam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 09:19 AM   #114
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 120
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fooljam View Post
Well if that's the case yes, there is no point. Now where do you get the OBC info from, the radio itself, or is that a Android app?

Thanks
I have a D95, not a D99 but my understanding is that the OBC on the D99 is on the multimedia side.

Would a Reseler interface work with the Android USB port?
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 09:23 AM   #115
listermint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 125
My Ride: E46 M3 '02
I have a D99, the OBC is on multimedia (radio) side only.
listermint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:19 AM   #116
Fooljam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 888
My Ride: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post
I have a D95, not a D99 but my understanding is that the OBC on the D99 is on the multimedia side.

Would a Reseler interface work with the Android USB port?
Ok thanks

If you have a USB port accessible from the Android side, it would work yes.
Now you also need write permission to the USB port in order to set option, like reset MPG etc. In order to set write permissions, if not already set on the device, you need root access.
Fooljam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:20 AM   #117
Fooljam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 888
My Ride: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by listermint View Post
I have a D99, the OBC is on multimedia (radio) side only.
Thanks
What a bummer to develop a product like that without connecting it to the iBus.
Fooljam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:19 AM   #118
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 120
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fooljam View Post
Ok thanks

If you have a USB port accessible from the Android side, it would work yes.
Now you also need write permission to the USB port in order to set option, like reset MPG etc. In order to set write permissions, if not already set on the device, you need root access.
I have a Reseler interface and rooted ROM.

How do I set write permissions? Or check if they are set?
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 02:49 PM   #119
mistapony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 25
My Ride: volvo v70r
Ok so I returned my unit and got a new one back. This one comes with a 4gig SD card, what do I have to do to the card in order to update the rom. I'm using a mac by the way.

Thanks.
mistapony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 05:42 PM   #120
Fooljam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 888
My Ride: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post
I have a Reseler interface and rooted ROM.

How do I set write permissions? Or check if they are set?
You know better Eamonn
Fooljam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use