E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 155 votes, 4.90 average.
Old 05-17-2012, 12:34 AM   #561
slocar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: .
Posts: 51
My Ride: 323ci
Tried to code auto lock today without success. I can only select the option to lock after starting with each of the keys and to lock automatically if not open in 2 min .. The speed sensitive locking conditions are all grayed out and i cant select anythig. Any words of advice? Its a zke5 if that helps any.
__________________
slocar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 12:50 AM   #562
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,882
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by slocar View Post
Tried to code auto lock today without success. I can only select the option to lock after starting with each of the keys and to lock automatically if not open in 2 min .. The speed sensitive locking conditions are all grayed out and i cant select anythig. Any words of advice? Its a zke5 if that helps any.
The only speed option that seems to enable auto locks is 24km/h.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 12:48 PM   #563
slocar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: .
Posts: 51
My Ride: 323ci
I kinda got that from reading this thread, but the issue I have is that even the 24 km/h option is grayed out and not selectable. Is there something else I need to enable before I get to it or is my ZKE just like that?
__________________
slocar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:05 PM   #564
jaymemaurice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Anchorage Alaska or Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 757
My Ride: 01 330ci, 03 Passat
Quote:
Originally Posted by slocar View Post
I kinda got that from reading this thread, but the issue I have is that even the 24 km/h option is grayed out and not selectable. Is there something else I need to enable before I get to it or is my ZKE just like that?
It depends on the software version on your ZKE which options can be changed as the tool (scanner software) is not complete for all module software versions... and not all software/hardware versions have the capability for all features. You might be able to flash your ZKE with winfpk or maybe it will be supported in a future version of the scanner software.

Basically from what I understand you are modifying the module's non-volitile memory with PA soft, kind of like using hex editor to patch a compiled windows executable. All of this has been done through reverse engineering, so not all of everything is complete, and that is why the real software is frequently updated and costs $$$. The creators have had to do reverse engineering on multiple module versions.
__________________


Rain Sensor Retrofit: Here
Coupe Headline Replacement: Here

Last edited by jaymemaurice; 05-17-2012 at 01:07 PM.
jaymemaurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:26 PM   #565
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,882
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by slocar View Post
I kinda got that from reading this thread, but the issue I have is that even the 24 km/h option is grayed out and not selectable. Is there something else I need to enable before I get to it or is my ZKE just like that?
Post an actual screenshot of your options. Don't censor anything on the image except your vin if you must.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:35 PM   #566
TRIPLE_O
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NORTHERN NJ / ROCHESTER NY
Posts: 168
My Ride: E46 Coupe
slocar, are you using the full version and not the demo version?

Also which pin port are you connecting to the car with?
__________________



________________________________________
BMW Coding, PM Me For Details

3 Series Owners Manuals
http://www.bmwsections.com/docs/3series/

For Sale (Exterior Lights)
_________________________________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzaga707 View Post
My boyfriend left on vacation and left me his 95 328i for me to use while he is gone. He had 2 keys, I lost both of them this week...

..sincerely Jenny
TRIPLE_O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 02:33 PM   #567
MadLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 100
My Ride: 2004 330CI
can anyone tell me under the light coding section what the hot check, cold check and BC messages functions do ?

Thank you.
MadLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 04:41 PM   #568
hanna
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 302
My Ride: BMW 328i
Can you monitor auto transmission temperature with PA Soft scanner?
hanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:19 PM   #569
slocar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: .
Posts: 51
My Ride: 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRIPLE_O View Post
slocar, are you using the full version and not the demo version?

Also which pin port are you connecting to the car with?
20 pin underhood connector as the car is a 2000 and wont connect using the OBD2 connector; using the full version. I'll try to post the screenshot in the morning.

Thanks for all the help so far guys.
__________________

Last edited by slocar; 05-17-2012 at 11:32 PM.
slocar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 02:13 AM   #570
vids_blk323Ci
DFW
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,732
My Ride: JB 323Ci SP PP
Send a message via AIM to vids_blk323Ci
Think im gonna go with AC_2007 suggestion and then report back. Is there a seperate thread on that unit btw?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Could also get this http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem

Has INPA, DIS, NCS Expert, SSS/Progman. Pretty much every programming option for this car, including ECU flashing.
__________________

Dinan Stage I S/W | ACS RSB | ///M FSB |UUC TMEs & Pulleys |Ate Slotted Discs | ScanGuageII | RockyMounts MTB Carrrier | OEM Rear Clears | LED Euro City Lights & Rear Fogs | Two-Tone Suede DIY | ACS Pedals | Bimmian Gauge Rings & M3 Face | Smoked Frnt Corners w/ Luxeon LEDs | EAS CF Roundels | JLevi Ti CF trim | Blk Suede shift/ e-brake boots | ECS Smoked Frnt Bumper Reflectors | DICE Duo
vids_blk323Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:02 AM   #571
slocar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: .
Posts: 51
My Ride: 323ci
Alright guys, here's what I'm working with as far az ZKE goes:



__________________
slocar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 10:52 AM   #572
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,882
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Ignore the red outlines, check all the same boxes for Automatic Locking and see if it enables the Locking Condition radio buttons:




ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 11:08 AM   #573
slocar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: .
Posts: 51
My Ride: 323ci
I've tried and it doesn't enable those buttons; unless I have to check all those, re-code, then get back in and maybe they'll enable ... though I don't see why that would be the case.
__________________
slocar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 07:54 PM   #574
Marinerd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Where roads are smooth...
Posts: 312
My Ride: 09 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Could also get this http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem

Has INPA, DIS, NCS Expert, SSS/Progman. Pretty much every programming option for this car, including ECU flashing.
Just bought this. Can't wait to get started. A lot of programming I wanna do.
Marinerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 09:00 PM   #575
e46hellrot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: inside my bmw
Posts: 403
My Ride: e46
ordered mine 3 weeks ago. still dont have it
__________________
e46hellrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:02 PM   #576
steve.k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,329
My Ride: 05' 325Ci, 13' WRX
Doors Auto Locking

Hi guys,

i ordered my scanner the other week and it just arrived. got it working no dramas.

http://www.xcar360.com/bmw-scanner-1...scan-tool.html

I managed to get the indicators to blink upon lock/unlock and i also disabled the rear windows from opening upon holding the unlock button on my key.

I would like some help with three things;

1) My airbag light keeps coming on/off when someone is sitting in the passenger seat.. ive read the codes and this is what came up:



Does this mean i need to replace something? is it a big job or can i DIY?



2) How do i get the car to auto lock? Now i know that E46's have this option, but i tried to enable it by pressing '2 min after unlocking w/o opening' and i also enabled Locking Condition - '24 km/h' as someone posted it will only work at that speed..? Both of these boxes were ticked but nothing happened so i put it back to 'Terminal R'. This is what it looks like right now:




3) Upon lock/unlock i would like my low beams to come on (if possible). In the above picture i selected 'Low beam lights' under Alarm, but nothing happened. Was that the right thing to do?

And just in case the LCM coding has anything to do with this i took a screen shot of that too.





Any help would be highly appreciated,
Thanks guys!

Last edited by steve.k; 05-21-2012 at 12:36 AM.
steve.k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 08:10 PM   #577
JetBlackE46
Modded
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 631
My Ride: E36/E46 M3 E46 323
On the LCM module as pictured above, what does the "PWM" value mean?


Also, can you adjust how long your headlights stay on when you use the driveway courtesy function (pull the high beam stalk back).
__________________

Last edited by JetBlackE46; 05-22-2012 at 09:22 PM.
JetBlackE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 08:44 PM   #578
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,882
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadLow View Post
can anyone tell me under the light coding section what the hot check, cold check and BC messages functions do ?

Thank you.
Hot check = will check to see if those bulbs are working when they're on.
Cold check = LCM sends small pulse of voltage to check if the bulbs working when they're off
BC messages = what you see on your dash if you have the BC stalk (mpg, average speed, temp, etc.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevie.k View Post
Hi guys,

i ordered my scanner the other week and it just arrived. got it working no dramas.

http://www.xcar360.com/bmw-scanner-1...scan-tool.html

I managed to get the indicators to blink upon lock/unlock and i also disabled the rear windows from opening upon holding the unlock button on my key.

I would like some help with three things;

1) My airbag light keeps coming on/off when someone is sitting in the passenger seat.. ive read the codes and this is what came up:



Does this mean i need to replace something? is it a big job or can i DIY?

Passenger seat occupancy detector is the obvious issue. Search for the DIY.



2) How do i get the car to auto lock? Now i know that E46's have this option, but i tried to enable it by pressing '2 min after unlocking w/o opening' and i also enabled Locking Condition - '24 km/h' as someone posted it will only work at that speed..? Both of these boxes were ticked but nothing happened so i put it back to 'Terminal R'. This is what it looks like right now:



Scroll up and look at my screen shot. You'll note the obvious difference, which is that you didn't check any of the "After starting" check boxes


3) Upon lock/unlock i would like my low beams to come on (if possible). In the above picture i selected 'Low beam lights' under Alarm, but nothing happened. Was that the right thing to do?

And just in case the LCM coding has anything to do with this i took a screen shot of that too.



Not possible as far as I know. You can set your corners to flash when you unlock (as you have), but that seems to be the extent to which the optical confirmation goes.

If you checked "low beams" for alarm, that just means they'll flash if you trigger the alarm. Hold the trunk release button for 5 seconds and you'll see. Sidenote, I'd just check the high-beam option for the alarm.



Any help would be highly appreciated,
Thanks guys!
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 08:51 PM   #579
Sanchjer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,182
My Ride: 323i e46 SOLD!
Just going to throw this out there (don't attack me) haha, can't seem to find the answer, maybe I'm not looking hard enough. Will this programmer work with a MAC??
__________________
Sanchjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 09:34 PM   #580
jaymemaurice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Anchorage Alaska or Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 757
My Ride: 01 330ci, 03 Passat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanchjer View Post
Just going to throw this out there (don't attack me) haha, can't seem to find the answer, maybe I'm not looking hard enough. Will this programmer work with a MAC??
With vmware/windows, yes. Bunt not native under macos
__________________


Rain Sensor Retrofit: Here
Coupe Headline Replacement: Here
jaymemaurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use