E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 211 votes, 4.93 average.
Old 01-10-2012, 01:46 AM   #81
Bostonbeast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 239
My Ride: 2000 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by snobitall_ron View Post
I havent install anything yet. it says on the manual connect the scanner to usb port on the laptop it the new hardware wizard will pop out. but on my case nothing coming out.im still on part of installing the scanner on my aptop. i have windows xp no interenet connection.
Okay I know where you are in the installation process now. The only way the new hardware wizard will pop up is if the hardware has power. And like I said before, the scanner gets power when it is connected to the car NOT FROM THE LAPTOP. So if you have your adapter, hook that to the 20 pin port under the hood. Then hook up to your scanner which is connected to your computer. Turn your key so electronics come on (Position 1). You will then see the hardware wizard pop up and you can continue and complete your installation.

Hope that helps.

Last edited by Bostonbeast; 01-10-2012 at 01:51 AM.
Bostonbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 01:46 PM   #82
snobitall_ron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 126
My Ride: 1999 323i (e46)
Thanks. I think i didnt really read and understood your reply erlier. I appreciate it. Have a Bimmer safe!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bostonbeast View Post
Okay I know where you are in the installation process now. The only way the new hardware wizard will pop up is if the hardware has power. And like I said before, the scanner gets power when it is connected to the car NOT FROM THE LAPTOP. So if you have your adapter, hook that to the 20 pin port under the hood. Then hook up to your scanner which is connected to your computer. Turn your key so electronics come on (Position 1). You will then see the hardware wizard pop up and you can continue and complete your installation.

Hope that helps.
snobitall_ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 06:24 PM   #83
MeRon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 292
My Ride: 325Ci
I tried installing this scanner software on Windows 7 32bit and it was a no go. Followed the instructions using the FTDI drivers exactly multiple times and everytime I tried to run the scanner software I got a blue screen. Said screw it and installed XP and everything installed and worked the first time. If you are having problems just install XP.

These are the things I coded:

-Brake light cold check disabled (LED tails giving me light out error when key on, definitely get this cable if you have this annoying error)
-All alarm functions including clown nose blink and parking lights blink
-Auto lock after 2 mins w/o door open
-Auto lock after 20km/h
-Convenient open and close
-Double flash hazards
-DRL delete

I'm sure there are more but can't remember at the moment, totally worth the $50 I spent. If anyone wants the ebay seller I bought mine off of just pm me. The cable that I got did not require any modifications (solder jumper) and came with all drivers and software.
MeRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 06:33 PM   #84
snobitall_ron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 126
My Ride: 1999 323i (e46)
How did you do the clown nose blink? and I want also the hazard light when u lock and unlock the car. The auto lock 2 mins w/o open not working on mine even i turn it on. What is double flash hazard?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeRon View Post
I tried installing this scanner software on Windows 7 32bit and it was a no go. Followed the instructions using the FTDI drivers exactly multiple times and everytime I tried to run the scanner software I got a blue screen. Said screw it and installed XP and everything installed and worked the first time. If you are having problems just install XP.

These are the things I coded:

-Brake light cold check disabled (LED tails giving me light out error when key on, definitely get this cable if you have this annoying error)
-All alarm functions including clown nose blink and parking lights blink
-Auto lock after 2 mins w/o door open
-Auto lock after 20km/h
-Convenient open and close
-Double flash hazards
-DRL delete

I'm sure there are more but can't remember at the moment, totally worth the $50 I spent. If anyone wants the ebay seller I bought mine off of just pm me. The cable that I got did not require any modifications (solder jumper) and came with all drivers and software.
snobitall_ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 06:40 PM   #85
ccagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 474
My Ride: 02' 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by snobitall_ron View Post
How did you do the clown nose blink? and I want also the hazard light when u lock and unlock the car. The auto lock 2 mins w/o open not working on mine even i turn it on. What is double flash hazard?
Clown nose will blink once "visual" alarm is checked as will the hazard lights...
ccagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:03 PM   #86
MeRon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 292
My Ride: 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by snobitall_ron View Post
How did you do the clown nose blink? and I want also the hazard light when u lock and unlock the car. The auto lock 2 mins w/o open not working on mine even i turn it on. What is double flash hazard?
This is the double flash:



It should be under "LCM". For the clown nose, you need to enable "DWA" (alarm) under the "ZKE" menu, then below that enable also "Arming - optical" and "Disarming - optical" Acknowledgement .

Last edited by MeRon; 01-10-2012 at 11:06 PM.
MeRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:29 PM   #87
ZHPOWER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 217
My Ride: 2003 ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeRon View Post
I tried installing this scanner software on Windows 7 32bit and it was a no go. Followed the instructions using the FTDI drivers exactly multiple times and everytime I tried to run the scanner software I got a blue screen. Said screw it and installed XP and everything installed and worked the first time. If you are having problems just install XP.

These are the things I coded:

-Brake light cold check disabled (LED tails giving me light out error when key on, definitely get this cable if you have this annoying error)
-All alarm functions including clown nose blink and parking lights blink
-Auto lock after 2 mins w/o door open
-Auto lock after 20km/h
-Convenient open and close
-Double flash hazards
-DRL delete

I'm sure there are more but can't remember at the moment, totally worth the $50 I spent. If anyone wants the ebay seller I bought mine off of just pm me. The cable that I got did not require any modifications (solder jumper) and came with all drivers and software.

cool. who's the ebay seller you went through?

thnks
__________________
// ZHPOWER Personalized Plate / 19" OZ Superleggera III's / H&R Sport Cup Kit / B&B Triflo Exhasut / OEM Euro Clears / 40% Tint - 50% Front Windshield / Akebono Brake Pads / aFe Intake //
ZHPOWER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 08:19 PM   #88
zooter2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 89
My Ride: 2002 330i
can you tell me if you can use this to re-flash the dme with eu2 software?
zooter2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:10 PM   #89
hassmaschine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 198
My Ride: '91 325ix
no...
hassmaschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:04 PM   #90
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,408
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Could also get this http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem

Has INPA, DIS, NCS Expert, SSS/Progman. Pretty much every programming option for this car, including ECU flashing.
Just got mine today!
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:08 PM   #91
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,087
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
Just got mine today!
Got mine yesterday.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpgolf1 View Post
The e46 M3 is by far the most boring and worst M3 that BMW has made to date.
It's amazing to me that a non M E46 is such a beautiful car but the E46 M has never done much for me.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:20 PM   #92
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,408
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Got mine yesterday.
Have you tried it out yet? I'm just starting to unzip the files
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:40 PM   #93
ElrichMeister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Santa Ana, SoCal
Posts: 416
My Ride: 06 325Ci M56
lol i got mine today too! just so people know i got mine from xcar360, and picked hongkong post for shipping, and i got free shipping, didnt see that on here.
__________________
ElrichMeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:43 PM   #94
jeagolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 100
My Ride: 04 330Ci Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
Have you tried it out yet? I'm just starting to unzip the files
I have tried it, I have the same kit. I got mine last week or so.

I would like to do the ECU flashing but I think I am missing something because it is not jumping out at me. Or if it is jumping out at me it is the parts that are still in German.
jeagolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:07 PM   #95
ElrichMeister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Santa Ana, SoCal
Posts: 416
My Ride: 06 325Ci M56
well i couldnt get the drivers installed through windows 7, with the provided link on the thread. in my device manager it lists it as BMW Scanner 1.4, rather than USB Root Hub. So not sure whats going on there

edit: Just realized where i messed up lol, and now my battery is too low on my laptop. Just make sure you guys read the instructions very carefully lol
__________________

Last edited by ElrichMeister; 01-17-2012 at 09:15 PM.
ElrichMeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:47 PM   #96
wjjklj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 80
My Ride: 2009 750i
I got this today and it works great. I am running on Vista. Follow post #41 instructions and you will be fine. I paid $32 which included shipping. Mine arrive 2 weeks after purchasing from China. I am still messing with it but was able to set up alarm functions like I wanted, auto locking doors at a certain speed, and one touch opening rear windows.

A couple of questions...when it scans identification showing all options and odometer why would it show everything twice with the odometer reading being different by 79 miles. Can I change this to read the same? Why can I only get one touch rear window opening and not closing even though I have this checked in coding? Great info here and a great item. Keep the information coming.
wjjklj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 12:46 AM   #97
ElrichMeister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Santa Ana, SoCal
Posts: 416
My Ride: 06 325Ci M56
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjklj View Post
I got this today and it works great. I am running on Vista. Follow post #41 instructions and you will be fine. I paid $32 which included shipping. Mine arrive 2 weeks after purchasing from China. I am still messing with it but was able to set up alarm functions like I wanted, auto locking doors at a certain speed, and one touch opening rear windows.

A couple of questions...when it scans identification showing all options and odometer why would it show everything twice with the odometer reading being different by 79 miles. Can I change this to read the same? Why can I only get one touch rear window opening and not closing even though I have this checked in coding? Great info here and a great item. Keep the information coming.
Yup followed them to a tee, im getting stuck after you change the USB Root Hub to USB Serial Convert A, i get Code 10, cannot start device.

Well i installed XP mode on my machine, and it runs and installs fine, only thing is that it can find the DME, its just greyed out.
it was reading SRS and LCM fine
__________________

Last edited by ElrichMeister; 01-18-2012 at 12:48 AM.
ElrichMeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:07 PM   #98
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,087
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
Have you tried it out yet? I'm just starting to unzip the files
I've just watched the videos so far. Honestly this kit was purchased with the intention of activating my OBC for the new turn-signal stalk I retrofitted. But PA Soft was able to do it

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeagolf View Post
I have tried it, I have the same kit. I got mine last week or so.

I would like to do the ECU flashing but I think I am missing something because it is not jumping out at me. Or if it is jumping out at me it is the parts that are still in German.
From what I've read on BimmerForums, we now have all the required hardware to do the flash. WinKFP may be required software though.

If you do figure this out, please feel free to send me a PM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElrichMeister View Post
Yup followed them to a tee, im getting stuck after you change the USB Root Hub to USB Serial Convert A, i get Code 10, cannot start device.

Well i installed XP mode on my machine, and it runs and installs fine, only thing is that it can find the DME, its just greyed out.
it was reading SRS and LCM fine
I assume you're talking about PA Soft. You may need to take the device apart and solder together pin 7 & 8.

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1726627
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpgolf1 View Post
The e46 M3 is by far the most boring and worst M3 that BMW has made to date.
It's amazing to me that a non M E46 is such a beautiful car but the E46 M has never done much for me.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:46 PM   #99
wjjklj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 80
My Ride: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
I've just watched the videos so far. Honestly this kit was purchased with the intention of activating my OBC for the new turn-signal stalk I retrofitted. But PA Soft was able to do it



From what I've read on BimmerForums, we now have all the required hardware to do the flash. WinKFP may be required software though.

If you do figure this out, please feel free to send me a PM.



I assume you're talking about PA Soft. You may need to take the device apart and solder together pin 7 & 8.

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1726627
Hey all,

I recently bought this scanner and it is definitely worth more than the $32 it cost me. So far I have been able to program many functions I wanted but I have several questions that I am hoping some of the experts will help me with...

1)why would my IKE odometer read 192,896km and the LCM odometer read 192,800km? Anyone know how to make these read the same? Should they read the same?

2) what should the pwm value be for led license plate lights? It is 20 now.

3) I get an error that comes back after clearing for the telephone. I don't have a telephone in the car. What do I change to clear this error?

4) I get 4 errors on AHL-adaptive directional headlights. One says Shadow- telegram speed invalid. Any idea what that means?

5) finally, how do I get double hazard flashers (euro style)? I don't see anything to do with hazard lights in LCM.

This scanner is a great find. Thanks to all who posted and for any answers to my questions.
wjjklj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 07:18 PM   #100
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,087
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
1) My difference is usually only 1 or 2km. You may be able to change the mileage of the cluster to match the LCM depending on the type of chip the cluster uses.

3) Could be an engineering code that doesn't apply to your car. Also could be that the feature was activated without the hardware being in place.

4) Clear your shadow codes and try diagnosis only if they come back.

5) Not all algorithms have this option. Some M3 series owners have not been able to find this option.

Here is a screenshot of my setting:


__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpgolf1 View Post
The e46 M3 is by far the most boring and worst M3 that BMW has made to date.
It's amazing to me that a non M E46 is such a beautiful car but the E46 M has never done much for me.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use