E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 210 votes, 4.93 average.
Old 09-11-2012, 05:43 AM   #1021
robin325ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 478
My Ride: Helrot 325Ci
Has anyone tried using the software downloaded from the PA Soft website and used it on the scanner from xcar360? I read somewhere that the 1.4.0 software from the PA Soft website bricks and renders the clone scanners useless.

Post #128
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...1726627&page=6
__________________
robin325ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:24 AM   #1022
Tritan84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2002 325i
Read through the majority of this thread, but got confused on the various scanners that were brought up.

Which scanner setup should I get if my main objectives are the following:

-Turn off air bag light
-diagnose and treat/reprogram dsc/abs/brake light
-update dme software



Sent from my ADR6300 using Bimmer App
Tritan84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:01 AM   #1023
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,083
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin325ci View Post
Has anyone tried using the software downloaded from the PA Soft website and used it on the scanner from xcar360? I read somewhere that the 1.4.0 software from the PA Soft website bricks and renders the clone scanners useless.

Post #128
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...1726627&page=6
False, as of current date.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tritan84 View Post
Read through the majority of this thread, but got confused on the various scanners that were brought up.

Which scanner setup should I get if my main objectives are the following:

-Turn off air bag light
-diagnose and treat/reprogram dsc/abs/brake light
-update dme software



Sent from my ADR6300 using Bimmer App
1) Yes
2) Diagnose, not reprogram dsc/abs. Lights are a different module and you can reprogram.
3) No, you need another software package. (INPA/Winkfp/SSS/Progman/NCSexpert)
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpgolf1 View Post
The e46 M3 is by far the most boring and worst M3 that BMW has made to date.
It's amazing to me that a non M E46 is such a beautiful car but the E46 M has never done much for me.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 08:09 AM   #1024
Tritan84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
False, as of current date.



1) Yes
2) Diagnose, not reprogram dsc/abs. Lights are a different module and you can reprogram.
3) No, you need another software package. (INPA/Winkfp/SSS/Progman/NCSexpert)

Can I just get the INPA/winkfp/sss/progman/ncsexpert program and get my above objectives completed or will I also need PASoft?

Sent from my ADR6300 using Bimmer App
Tritan84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 08:38 AM   #1025
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,083
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tritan84 View Post
Can I just get the INPA/winkfp/sss/progman/ncsexpert program and get my above objectives completed or will I also need PASoft?

Sent from my ADR6300 using Bimmer App
That package would do just about everything that can be done to a BMW. Its much much more complex and difficult to use, plus has the high potention to screw something up if you don't know what you're doing. The installation and understanding of how it works took me a few weeks of reading, and trial/error.

PA Soft is the everyday user's program. It is very thorough in its diagnostic capabilities, and programming is very easy (a few clicks). You only really need to update the DME to eliminate the CEL after installing headers anyways.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpgolf1 View Post
The e46 M3 is by far the most boring and worst M3 that BMW has made to date.
It's amazing to me that a non M E46 is such a beautiful car but the E46 M has never done much for me.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 08:58 AM   #1026
Tritan84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2002 325i
Ok, ill go with PA soft for now. My only concern is that if I need to replace a abs/dsc module, and I purchase a used one, will I need to reprogram it.

Sent from my ADR6300 using Bimmer App
Tritan84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:40 PM   #1027
eljay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NS
Posts: 72
My Ride: ///M
I've read up to page 9 and didn't feel like reading up to 51 lol, so I'll just ask my question at a risk that it has been answered.

Can I use the software from PA Soft's website together with a cable from this auction? http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem

Or do I have to get the special BMW Scanner 1.4 cable to make this work?

I'd like to change the odometer display from miles to kms, enable mirror tilt to curb on reverse, and remote windows.

Thanks.

P.S. Love the tags on this thread.
eljay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:58 PM   #1028
El Polo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 461
My Ride: 99 black 328i
Eljay no this is a different tool. PA soft with their scanner, obd/k-line cable with INPA

Sorry if this post doesn't make sense. I am writing on a cell phone.
El Polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:20 AM   #1029
eljay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NS
Posts: 72
My Ride: ///M
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Polo View Post
Eljay no this is a different tool. PA soft with their scanner, obd/k-line cable with INPA

Sorry if this post doesn't make sense. I am writing on a cell phone.
Got it. Thank you.
eljay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:39 AM   #1030
MT-Adam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
My Ride: 540i/6
Hello!

Im thinkin of buy PA soft 1.4 or a tool like that for my E39. Is there any company that sell the real PA soft cheper than 650 dollars, which BMW-Scanner.com does?
Im a bit conserned that if i buy a china-copy from Ebay, there can be some bugs, or maybe hardware faults, which probably can be very bad for the car or pc...

I will probably have some Bimmers in my life, so im thinking that it is smart to get something that i can use for the future. Please give me some advices what to buy.
MT-Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:35 PM   #1031
haurelio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,040
My Ride: 2001 bmw 325i
Quote:
Hello!

Im thinkin of buy PA soft 1.4 or a tool like that for my E39. Is there any company that sell the real PA soft cheper than 650 dollars, which BMW-Scanner.com does?
Im a bit conserned that if i buy a china-copy from Ebay, there can be some bugs, or maybe hardware faults, which probably can be very bad for the car or pc...

I will probably have some Bimmers in my life, so im thinking that it is smart to get something that i can use for the future. Please give me some advices what to buy
I dont think you can buy a genuine adapter for that price. The adapter does a great a job, there are no bugs, or hardware faults. you can however mess your car with improper coding/settings even if you use the genuine adapter. now to answer your question, this is a great tool for bmw codes scanner, and do some coding such as alarm, windows, and some other lighting features..
haurelio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 04:31 AM   #1032
MT-Adam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
My Ride: 540i/6
Quote:
Originally Posted by haurelio View Post
I dont think you can buy a genuine adapter for that price. The adapter does a great a job, there are no bugs, or hardware faults. you can however mess your car with improper coding/settings even if you use the genuine adapter. now to answer your question, this is a great tool for bmw codes scanner, and do some coding such as alarm, windows, and some other lighting features..
Ok, well if it does work good, i guess there is no other better cables for the price? Shall i order it from resttools?
MT-Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:34 AM   #1033
TomTomTuning
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Harrisburg, Pa
Posts: 230
My Ride: Black Sapphire ZHP
Just curious, can I disable the checks that are done for the front turn signals? That way I can replace mine with LED's.
Would that prevent the "fast blink" that people occasionally experience?

I'm mainly looking to avoid having to use a resistor, I dislike the idea of crimping one in.
__________________


Photos: Flickr & 500PX
TomTomTuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 11:20 AM   #1034
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,083
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomTomTuning View Post
Just curious, can I disable the checks that are done for the front turn signals? That way I can replace mine with LED's.
Would that prevent the "fast blink" that people occasionally experience?

I'm mainly looking to avoid having to use a resistor, I dislike the idea of crimping one in.
I'm 99% sure that would only disable the bulb-out errors on the dash, and not the fast blinking itself (Do E46's even do that?)
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpgolf1 View Post
The e46 M3 is by far the most boring and worst M3 that BMW has made to date.
It's amazing to me that a non M E46 is such a beautiful car but the E46 M has never done much for me.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 11:28 AM   #1035
drift.mechanic
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 310
My Ride: E46 323i
You can disable the cold bulb check for any bulb, but you will still require the resistor not I have light strobing or quick flash.

By also resetting the bcm to recognize aftermarket xenon's, you don't need a resistor so that you don't have bulb flash/error.
drift.mechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 12:21 PM   #1036
TomTomTuning
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Harrisburg, Pa
Posts: 230
My Ride: Black Sapphire ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
I'm 99% sure that would only disable the bulb-out errors on the dash, and not the fast blinking itself (Do E46's even do that?)
I'm not sure if E46's do that but I've just read about people having flash blinking when using LED turn signal bulbs. If our cars dont do that, then that's great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by drift.mechanic View Post
You can disable the cold bulb check for any bulb, but you will still require the resistor not I have light strobing or quick flash.

By also resetting the bcm to recognize aftermarket xenon's, you don't need a resistor so that you don't have bulb flash/error.
Will it be okay to enable the Xenon option, even though I don't have Xenon/HID's?

I'll order the bulbs and disable the cold check, if I have a flash blink or issues, I'll order the resistor.
__________________


Photos: Flickr & 500PX
TomTomTuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:34 PM   #1037
Schlag96
Slightly Modded ///Member
 
Schlag96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 823
My Ride: 1999 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
I'm 99% sure that would only disable the bulb-out errors on the dash, and not the fast blinking itself (Do E46's even do that?)
Yep. Mine did it. Had to jimmy the wires around because the short was somewhere on the front turn signal harness.

Does anybody here know how to disable the CEL related to the secondary air pump? Mine is making a racket and I probably won't get to fixing it until I do my next smog check.
Schlag96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 04:11 PM   #1038
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,083
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlag96 View Post
Yep. Mine did it. Had to jimmy the wires around because the short was somewhere on the front turn signal harness.

Does anybody here know how to disable the CEL related to the secondary air pump? Mine is making a racket and I probably won't get to fixing it until I do my next smog check.
You can't. Need the BMW Standard Tools package to flash an EU tune in order to remove it.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpgolf1 View Post
The e46 M3 is by far the most boring and worst M3 that BMW has made to date.
It's amazing to me that a non M E46 is such a beautiful car but the E46 M has never done much for me.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 01:59 PM   #1039
vard81
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Yerevean
Posts: 3
My Ride: BMW 323i auto 2000
Hi bschillberg710,
Have you found a solution? I am having exactly same problem. It can find DME and EGS too. And mine connections looks like yours.
I did research and I think solder for 7-8 pin should help. Please see below: http://pinoutsguide.com/CarElectroni...c_pinout.shtml
Have you double check that you have done it correctly?
vard81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 01:43 PM   #1040
adaseb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,078
My Ride: 2002 BMW 320i
Will it work with this eBay BMW Scanner tool?

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/BMW-Scanner-1...t_11045wt_1186
adaseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use