E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 155 votes, 4.90 average.
Old 01-18-2012, 08:17 PM   #101
wjjklj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 78
My Ride: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
1) My difference is usually only 1 or 2km. You may be able to change the mileage of the cluster to match the LCM depending on the type of chip the cluster uses.

3) Could be an engineering code that doesn't apply to your car. Also could be that the feature was activated without the hardware being in place.

4) Clear your shadow codes and try diagnosis only if they come back.

5) Not all algorithms have this option. Some M3 series owners have not been able to find this option.

Here is a screenshot of my setting:


1) any idea why the odometer difference?

5) my car is a 2005 330ci so maybe I don't have the double hazard flasher option. My screenshot looks nothing like your. It has many more boxes to check but layout is entirely different. No option for hazards.

Thanks for the reply.
wjjklj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 09:50 PM   #102
MeRon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 292
My Ride: 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjklj View Post
1) any idea why the odometer difference?

5) my car is a 2005 330ci so maybe I don't have the double hazard flasher option. My screenshot looks nothing like your. It has many more boxes to check but layout is entirely different. No option for hazards.

Thanks for the reply.
Take a screenshot and show us.

Also, does anyone know what "brake lights dimming" and "turn signals dimming" are?
MeRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 09:55 PM   #103
wjjklj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 78
My Ride: 2009 750i
I will look at it again tomorrow and give you all some screenshots to look at. Thanks.
wjjklj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 08:40 AM   #104
hassmaschine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 198
My Ride: '91 325ix
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
From what I've read on BimmerForums, we now have all the required hardware to do the flash. WinKFP may be required software though.

If you do figure this out, please feel free to send me a PM.
you can't use the BMW software utilities with the PAsoft interface cable. You need an EDIABAS or vag-com cable for that.
hassmaschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 09:54 AM   #105
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,882
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
you can't use the BMW software utilities with the PAsoft interface cable. You need an EDIABAS or vag-com cable for that.
We were talking about this kit, not PA Soft:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 01:19 PM   #106
dlopan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 9
My Ride: 2005 325XI
Romania? Wow.
dlopan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:40 PM   #107
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,395
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
We were talking about this kit, not PA Soft:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem
I got everything installed, everything works great!
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 03:39 PM   #108
Bostonbeast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 239
My Ride: 2000 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
I got everything installed, everything works great!
Good to hear! Mine came yesterday but I haven't gotten around to setting it up yet.
Bostonbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 04:54 PM   #109
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,882
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlopan View Post
Romania? Wow.
Yes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
I got everything installed, everything works great!
That's good to hear, I've been having ah-ha moments on BFc finally understanding how to flash my DME. Now I just need to find out if this thing works with WinKFP.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 05:18 PM   #110
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,395
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Yes?



That's good to hear, I've been having ah-ha moments on BFc finally understanding how to flash my DME. Now I just need to find out if this thing works with WinKFP.
It came with winkfp and it looks like it works but I haven't tried it yet
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 06:55 PM   #111
wjjklj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 78
My Ride: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeRon View Post
Take a screenshot and show us.

Also, does anyone know what "brake lights dimming" and "turn signals dimming" are?
Okay, here are the screenshots as promised. Look at the odometer difference between the IKE and LCM.
Also see that I have no double flashing hazard option on my 330ci.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1327020862.884710.jpg
Views:	651
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	433083   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1327020895.275851.jpg
Views:	623
Size:	64.6 KB
ID:	433084  
wjjklj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 06:55 PM   #112
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,395
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
We were talking about this kit, not PA Soft:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem
we can talk about the ebay coding Gt1 in the new thread i made
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...7#post13997777
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:07 PM   #113
wjjklj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 78
My Ride: 2009 750i
I was able to code all the windows and roof to open with the remote and close via remote thanks to BigRick....thanks.

I still have 1 error that comes back for the telephone (I don't have one) and 4 errors for the adaptive headlights. See screenshot of errors. Thoughts on how to program these to not have errors?

I still can't believe that what once cost $1200 to do now costs $32 from China. I have been able to program the windows as mentioned above, all alarm functions (after adding factory alarm parts from eBay), can clear codes (don't have any right now other than those mentioned), and can reset service after oil changes. I am amazed with this product and highly recommend.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1327021622.675932.jpg
Views:	342
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	433090   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1327021642.647271.jpg
Views:	346
Size:	53.3 KB
ID:	433091  
wjjklj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 11:45 PM   #114
jeagolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 100
My Ride: 04 330Ci Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjklj View Post
I was able to code all the windows and roof to open with the remote and close via remote thanks to BigRick....thanks.

I still have 1 error that comes back for the telephone (I don't have one) and 4 errors for the adaptive headlights. See screenshot of errors. Thoughts on how to program these to not have errors?
What software are you using? That kit comes with a ton of different choices.
jeagolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:45 AM   #115
wjjklj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 78
My Ride: 2009 750i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeagolf View Post
What software are you using? That kit comes with a ton of different choices.
I purchased the scanner from www.xcar360.com and I am using the software that they sent me. I will look up the name of it.
wjjklj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:38 AM   #116
scottjoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,975
My Ride: '99 323i & '02 540i
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjklj View Post
Look at the odometer difference between the IKE and LCM.
Differences between the IKE and LCM are normal. The IKE only updates the LCM every 100km.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjklj View Post
I still can't believe that what once cost $1200 to do now costs $32 from China.
It's called piracy. You can also get Rolex watches for $50 which cost $5000+ from Rolex. A legitimate copy of PA Soft is a $650 http://www.bmw-scanner.com/?page=bmw..._v140&lang=eng and with that you get support and updates. I believe the chinese copy is hacked to be able to run with the dongle they provide and can not be used with genuine software or updates.
scottjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:48 PM   #117
hassmaschine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 198
My Ride: '91 325ix
Uhm, no. The software is free. You can download it right off the PA Soft website. The adapter is nothing more than an ftdi usb/serial adapter. You arent pirating or cracking any software!
hassmaschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:49 PM   #118
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,395
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottjoh View Post
Differences between the IKE and LCM are normal. The IKE only updates the LCM every 100km.


It's called piracy. You can also get Rolex watches for $50 which cost $5000+ from Rolex. A legitimate copy of PA Soft is a $650 http://www.bmw-scanner.com/?page=bmw..._v140&lang=eng and with that you get support and updates. I believe the chinese copy is hacked to be able to run with the dongle they provide and can not be used with genuine software or updates.
are you a supporter of SOPA?
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:26 PM   #119
scottjoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,975
My Ride: '99 323i & '02 540i
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
Uhm, no. The software is free. You can download it right off the PA Soft website. The adapter is nothing more than an ftdi usb/serial adapter. You arent pirating or cracking any software!
Has anyone who bought PA Soft 1.4 from China disregarded the note on the side of the dongle that says, "Caution: Please use software provided by us only. DON'T use software from others. DON'T update online. If use other software, hardware will be bad, Can't warranty" and downloaded the PA Soft program from www.bmw-scanner.com and used it instead? The software that comes with the dongle and from the official web site both claim to be v1.4.0, but, the version from China is 29k smaller. I'd like to know if the official software works with the Chinese dongle.
scottjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 01:50 PM   #120
fiveoracing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Kent, VA USA
Posts: 15
My Ride: 2004 325xi
IM trying to get a software that will work with my 2004 325xi. Will the PA Soft 1.4 work? I want to make some changes but I also need to reset the airbag light. Will this work on my car and will it reset the srs light? Please someone give me a straight answer. I see a couple people in the thread have a 2004 7 series but havent seen any 3 series 04's. Thanks
fiveoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use