E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 214 votes, 4.93 average.
Old 04-09-2013, 02:01 PM   #1421
jaymemaurice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Anchorage Alaska or Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 757
My Ride: 01 330ci, 03 Passat
Quote:
Originally Posted by pppham View Post
Hi jaymemaurice, connected under the hood for my 740.
Okay, then check the round cable's female pins to make sure they are not spread too far open. Loose females haha.

Especially pin 15, 18 and 20

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showpos...64&postcount=7
__________________


Rain Sensor Retrofit: Here
Coupe Headline Replacement: Here

Last edited by jaymemaurice; 04-09-2013 at 02:02 PM.
jaymemaurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:12 PM   #1422
unclebob12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 34
My Ride: '02 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daerve View Post
It's almost certainly why it won't work. Find the fault that keeps blowing the fuse.
When I plugged the scanner on yesterday I was getting a oil level sensor error. Fuse 30 is also associated with that sensor. Could that be why it keeps blowing?
unclebob12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:12 PM   #1423
pppham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hickory, nc
Posts: 83
My Ride: 740il S500 330CiC
jaymemaurice, at first I thought it was pin connection. However, I connected to my 01 330 CiC, I can get to the live data in DME and also it found my SRS (using USB - OBD connector). I did checked into the the 20 pins end to make sure and no soldeingr for those pin inside were lose.
pppham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 08:16 AM   #1424
unclebob12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 34
My Ride: '02 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daerve View Post
It's almost certainly why it won't work. Find the fault that keeps blowing the fuse.
I just changed the fuse while the car was running. Now the fuse does not blow anymore but my BC button still does not work.... What cant it be?!?!? I'm getting frustrated now...
unclebob12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 05:27 PM   #1425
unclebob12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 34
My Ride: '02 330ci
I GIVE UP!!!!! First I fixed fuse issue. It does not blow anymore. I pulled every fuse and they are ALL good. I overnighted a BRAND NEW shift lever with the B/C option just in case it was that. I plugged in the bmw scanner from pa soft and unchecked the on board computer box. Installed the the stalk/lever. RE-coded the car by checking the on board computer, and it STILL does not work. All i see is the time and nothing else. If i unplug the outside temp sensor, the outside temp comes up where the time was. I cannot go back to the time unless i reset the cluster with the software. WTF is going on??

Anyway someone PLEASE HELP!
unclebob12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:07 AM   #1426
jasonatx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 5
My Ride: 2001 325i
has anyone used this to swap from a m54b25 to a m54b30, if so which menu option was selected or changed? tia
jasonatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 09:09 AM   #1427
flyinraven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
My Ride: E46 323i
Desperate! IKE EWS connection error!

Hi,

Thank you all for all the tips offered on this forum. I have just received my scanner. I tried to use it on my 2000 323i round port (OBD I) and all I got was just the same old ike and ews connection error, and no modules were found. I trawled through so many pages in this forum and other forums over the last few days to no avail. My cars does not have the OBD II port.

1. I learnt that there is no need to solder 7&8 as i'm using the OBD I port under the hood.
2. I did attach the scanner to the cable that connects to the OBD I port.
3. I have the drivers installed on Windows 7 Home Premium (following another forum's tips) and the software is showing that the drivers are alright.
4. I even tried plugging in before starting software, after starting software, unplugging and replugging a zillion times... to no avail

I am wondering if it is the scanner's wiring issue as it is so different from the others. I'm out of options. Please help.....
flyinraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 09:32 AM   #1428
unclebob12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 34
My Ride: '02 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinraven View Post
Hi,

Thank you all for all the tips offered on this forum. I have just received my scanner. I tried to use it on my 2000 323i round port (OBD I) and all I got was just the same old ike and ews connection error, and no modules were found. I trawled through so many pages in this forum and other forums over the last few days to no avail. My cars does not have the OBD II port.

1. I learnt that there is no need to solder 7&8 as i'm using the OBD I port under the hood.
2. I did attach the scanner to the cable that connects to the OBD I port.
3. I have the drivers installed on Windows 7 Home Premium (following another forum's tips) and the software is showing that the drivers are alright.
4. I even tried plugging in before starting software, after starting software, unplugging and replugging a zillion times... to no avail

I am wondering if it is the scanner's wiring issue as it is so different from the others. I'm out of options. Please help.....
It's located under the driver's dash on the left, to the right of the hood release latch.
unclebob12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:02 AM   #1429
flyinraven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
My Ride: E46 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclebob12 View Post
It's located under the driver's dash on the left, to the right of the hood release latch.
I did check the whole area, to no avail. Only the OBD I port is existent under the hood. I think in Australia they don't have the OBD II being enforced in legislation since 1996 and thus they did not make it a definite fixture till mid/ late 2000. My car was manufactured in early 2000 .
flyinraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:11 AM   #1430
unclebob12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 34
My Ride: '02 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinraven View Post
I did check the whole area, to no avail. Only the OBD I port is existent under the hood. I think in Australia they don't have the OBD II being enforced in legislation since 1996 and thus they did not make it a definite fixture till mid/ late 2000. My car was manufactured in early 2000 .
Okay then your out of luck.

So let me get this straight, you can open the software without no "Hardware Not Ready" message, read the car but no modules are showing up?
unclebob12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:21 AM   #1431
SUHLeen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 259
My Ride: 2005 Saleen Mustang
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUHLeen View Post
On my menu for light coding, it only shows Cold Check, I don't see Hot Check like most people's lighting menu. I'm doing this to avoid the flickering with my LED bulbs. Also, my DME does not show up (this is because the pins are not soldered, I'm assuming), could that be the same reason for the hot/cold check?
Bump....
__________________

- Phil
11 335is - TT 7 spd DCT daily :)
05 Saleen Mustang - forged, stroked, blown,... and on some juice
01 BMW 330ci - Totaled by some bish!
Financial Help
SUHLeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:23 AM   #1432
flyinraven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
My Ride: E46 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclebob12 View Post
Okay then your out of luck.

So let me get this straight, you can open the software without no "Hardware Not Ready" message, read the car but no modules are showing up?
Yes, drivers and hardware in the greens, clicked "continue" then "Car ident" or "Scan" brought up 2 windows, "Connection error with IKE" and "Connection error with EWS". The 3 pages just indicated all modules "not found". I hope there can be a solution....
flyinraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 06:11 AM   #1433
flyinraven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
My Ride: E46 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinraven View Post
Yes, drivers and hardware in the greens, clicked "continue" then "Car ident" or "Scan" brought up 2 windows, "Connection error with IKE" and "Connection error with EWS". The 3 pages just indicated all modules "not found". I hope there can be a solution....
I have found the solution. Just solder pins 7 & 8 no matter what was said elsewhere in the forum. After that it worked perfectly. Credit to the people at bmwclubmalaysia.
flyinraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:00 PM   #1434
clarkson23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 91
My Ride: 325i
Can the scanner program keys?
clarkson23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:40 PM   #1435
haurelio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,040
My Ride: 2001 bmw 325i
Quote:
Can the scanner program keys?
no, it can however apply settings to the keys that are already programed
__________________
Contact me if you need to unlock your phone.

Also can code your car
haurelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:42 PM   #1436
clarkson23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 91
My Ride: 325i
How would I get the key programmed?
clarkson23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:39 PM   #1437
jM2.me
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 818
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkson23 View Post
How would I get the key programmed?
I might be slightly wrong here, but ews has 5 key codes pre-programmed. When you order a key from bmw they program it with un-used key code. Then they enable the key in EWS, which I think you can do with PA Soft.
jM2.me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 06:21 PM   #1438
danf01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 15
My Ride: 2004 325i
Just FYI, we have an enterprising individual in town using the auto parts area of craigslist
to do BMW recoding. He charges $40 min.
danf01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 06:21 PM   #1439
danf01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 15
My Ride: 2004 325i
Just FYI, we have an enterprising individual in town using the auto parts area of craigslist
to do BMW recoding. He charges $40 min.
danf01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:30 PM   #1440
zx5rider
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,326
My Ride: 03 M3 , 03 TT 330,
Send a message via AIM to zx5rider
Would anyone be willing to email me a copy of the cd? My laptop died and I cant find my cd. I still have the cable though. I just got a M3 and I moved my alarm from the 330 so it would be nice to have. Thanks.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Bimmer App
__________________


'03 330 Technique Tuning Stage 2 Turbo. (Parting out)
'03 M3
'11 BMW s1000rr
zx5rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use