E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 244 votes, 4.94 average.
Old 10-26-2013, 12:42 AM   #1801
bimmeupscotty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mesa Arizona
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2000 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuniorT View Post
Never mind. I got it!
What was the fix?
bimmeupscotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 12:56 AM   #1802
bimmeupscotty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mesa Arizona
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2000 323i
Way too many issues with these scanners. Some people on here make it seem like it wrecks their bimmer more than helps her out... is there any solid set up to use? v1.4.0 and XP seems to be the best with the least amount of issues. I wonder what it has to do with (?), and if there's certain years and models it works best on? Just kinda seems too broad for a single scanner to work on 15 years worth of models... I really wouldn't want to mess up my ECU with these Chinese pos... any feedback from a credible source on these things? I bought 1, downloaded the software bc the disc it came with wouldn't run, i plugged it in, scanned 1/20 of what it said it would, came up with missing scans, so i returned it and got my money back immediately. I even paid the $50 for the better one on eBay... yuck. Wish I could trust them and get one that would work for alarm, windows, keys, deleting codes... any advice?
bimmeupscotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 02:30 AM   #1803
NumbaOneNewb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,166
My Ride: 2003 330CI Silver
Use inpa NcsExpert ediabas. Funny how that setup with a $40 kcan and dcan cable supporting every bmw obd2 compatible and if you have an ads adapter support even older ones all across the board
__________________
Portland Metro: ECU updates, Euro tune, euro corner delete, air bag light, DSC light, cluster and any led color change, soldering work, transponders for keys, and all custom work related to computer or electronics.DIY AK90 A walk through on coding your mcu and transponders EWS3 How to make your own key (ak90 review)
NumbaOneNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 02:31 AM   #1804
NumbaOneNewb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,166
My Ride: 2003 330CI Silver
And it was normal for majority of the modules not to show up. On e46 very few shows up beyond page 1, and it's normal
__________________
Portland Metro: ECU updates, Euro tune, euro corner delete, air bag light, DSC light, cluster and any led color change, soldering work, transponders for keys, and all custom work related to computer or electronics.DIY AK90 A walk through on coding your mcu and transponders EWS3 How to make your own key (ak90 review)

Last edited by NumbaOneNewb; 10-26-2013 at 02:33 AM.
NumbaOneNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 12:35 AM   #1805
bimmeupscotty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mesa Arizona
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2000 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by NumbaOneNewb View Post
And it was normal for majority of the modules not to show up. On e46 very few shows up beyond page 1, and it's normal
so E46 wont have all the same features as newer bimmers. OK that makes sense. Know of any that ARE good for E46 year 2000? I want all the features (alarm, windows, keys, deleting codes) or as many as I can get for cheap!

Must just be the year of the vehicle? I dont remember many cars back then having many computerized features being able to program and stuff. Hell Y2K was that year lmao

Last edited by bimmeupscotty; 10-27-2013 at 12:38 AM.
bimmeupscotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 05:10 AM   #1806
NumbaOneNewb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,166
My Ride: 2003 330CI Silver
*OFFICIAL* BMW Diagnostic Scanner PA Soft 1.4 Thread

Oh I see what's going. When you had the pa soft, were you connecting to the port under the hood? Yeah I realize you have an obd 2 port but that does not allow full access to all modules. It was there for emission testing and decorative. I am sensing you didn't because you would need the adapter cable to convert the obd2 to that other port


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
Portland Metro: ECU updates, Euro tune, euro corner delete, air bag light, DSC light, cluster and any led color change, soldering work, transponders for keys, and all custom work related to computer or electronics.DIY AK90 A walk through on coding your mcu and transponders EWS3 How to make your own key (ak90 review)

Last edited by NumbaOneNewb; 10-27-2013 at 05:12 AM.
NumbaOneNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 05:51 AM   #1807
adaseb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,127
My Ride: 2002 BMW 320i
*OFFICIAL* BMW Diagnostic Scanner PA Soft 1.4 Thread

Should I be worried about these errors

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1383126670.536094.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	532750
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1383126691.565353.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	532751


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
adaseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 05:53 AM   #1808
adaseb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,127
My Ride: 2002 BMW 320i
*OFFICIAL* BMW Diagnostic Scanner PA Soft 1.4 Thread

I also have an aftermarket alarm and starter so i guess it explains these other errors
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1383126793.050788.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	53.6 KB
ID:	532752
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1383126810.615651.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	532753


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
adaseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 03:28 PM   #1809
robin325ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 495
My Ride: Helrot 325Ci
Hi guys,

I tried scanning my car today, and all of a sudden it can't read the IKE, it gives out an error saying it can't read the ZCS FA coding data upon startup of bmw scanner. I never had this problem before. It's been months since I last used the scanner. Any idea what the cause could be? My instrument cluster works fine
__________________
robin325ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 03:58 PM   #1810
JuniorT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 123
My Ride: 01 325i & 06 330 ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmeupscotty View Post
What was the fix?
I had gone into the Coding/Programming not sure which one. But I had set the mode to transport mode. I forget now but I think I set it to Passenger... Idk. I forget. But look in all the modules and see if they give you a "mode" and transport/passenger and a few others should be on there.
JuniorT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 04:18 PM   #1811
IROCa325
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Little Egypt
Posts: 28
My Ride: 90Z/02 525i/03 325i
Re: *OFFICIAL* BMW Diagnostic Scanner PA Soft 1.4 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by robin325ci View Post
Hi guys,
Any idea what the cause could be?
Be sure your following all the steps right, plug into obd, ignition to on position, plug USB to laptop, run software. Other than that ???

Sent from my C771 using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
Thirty was so strange for me. I've really had to come to terms with the fact that I am now a walking and talking adult. C. S. Lewis
IROCa325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 06:54 PM   #1812
se93
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 130
My Ride: BMW 328ci AW MTECH2
*OFFICIAL* BMW Diagnostic Scanner PA Soft 1.4 Thread

Hello to all

I picked up a BMW Scanner V1.4 off of ebay and got it a few days ago. I must say its been a nightmare. First off i started to get IKE and EWS errors and had to close the software. Then i started to get privledged instruction error messages and repeatedly. After uninstalling and doing a fresh install i get a hardware faulty message

Ebay seller said his engineering dept said i had to solder pins 7-8 of the 20 pin OBD connector Well it has 2 wires soldered and when i use it for INPA it recognizes ignition and battery and works fine

I have used about 4 different downloaded software versions and the same thing

Am i missing something or am i correct to say that this unit is defective out of the box?

Regards
Mark


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
Regards,
Mark Perez
se93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 12:59 AM   #1813
NumbaOneNewb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,166
My Ride: 2003 330CI Silver
*OFFICIAL* BMW Diagnostic Scanner PA Soft 1.4 Thread

Are you using the pa soft installation that came with disc and not a downloaded off the internet version? Also I've noticed that if you guys have USB 3.0 it might cause issues although I have gotten it to work with it before just use an USB 2.0 port


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
Portland Metro: ECU updates, Euro tune, euro corner delete, air bag light, DSC light, cluster and any led color change, soldering work, transponders for keys, and all custom work related to computer or electronics.DIY AK90 A walk through on coding your mcu and transponders EWS3 How to make your own key (ak90 review)
NumbaOneNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 05:10 PM   #1814
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,227
My Ride: E46 - M3 & 325i
Would anyone be nice enough to take a screenshot of their SRS Live Data readout?




1) Preferably with you sitting in the passenger seat, to test if the program is able to accurately detect occupancy.

2) With your driver seatbelt buckled in, again to see if the program is able to accurately detect this.
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 05:32 PM   #1815
jM2.me
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 818
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Would anyone be nice enough to take a screenshot of their SRS Live Data readout?




1) Preferably with you sitting in the passenger seat, to test if the program is able to accurately detect occupancy.

2) With your driver seatbelt buckled in, again to see if the program is able to accurately detect this.
I can assure you that program displays correct output if seatbelt is buckled in. At least it does in for my.
However, I can't say the same about passanger seat occupancy sensor because mine is long gone.
jM2.me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 06:46 PM   #1816
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,227
My Ride: E46 - M3 & 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jM2.me View Post
I can assure you that program displays correct output if seatbelt is buckled in. At least it does in for my.
However, I can't say the same about passanger seat occupancy sensor because mine is long gone.
Only my passenger seatbelt displays that it's plugged in.

Also purchased a Occupancy simulator for the passenger seat, and its not showing that anyone's in the seat. (it should, since it uses a resistor that signals the seat is always in use)
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 10:33 PM   #1817
Importjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 341
My Ride: 00 Prelude
Everyone here who got the scanner from xcar360, how long did you have to wait for delivery? It's been over a month now..
Importjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 01:06 AM   #1818
jM2.me
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 818
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Importjunkie View Post
Everyone here who got the scanner from xcar360, how long did you have to wait for delivery? It's been over a month now..
I got mine in under a week. However, my scanner was sent from california and I live in oregon...
jM2.me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:46 AM   #1819
robin325ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 495
My Ride: Helrot 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin325ci View Post
Hi guys,

I tried scanning my car today, and all of a sudden it can't read the IKE, it gives out an error saying it can't read the ZCS FA coding data upon startup of bmw scanner. I never had this problem before. It's been months since I last used the scanner. Any idea what the cause could be? My instrument cluster works fine
It turns out my bmw scanner is the culprit. Tried scanning my friend's E46 today and we encountered the same IKE ZCS FA coding data error. My scanner worked fine on his car before. It's not the software either since I used two laptops just to be sure.
__________________
robin325ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 09:49 AM   #1820
David McMahon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,435
My Ride: 15/Dec/98 E46 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin325ci View Post
It turns out my bmw scanner is the culprit.
Yeah, same here. I'll see about getting another, I'd rather try and find a better built one from somewhere!
__________________
David McMahon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use