E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 195 votes, 4.92 average.
Old 01-17-2014, 02:59 PM   #1901
mikeetastic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cali
Posts: 267
My Ride: 325i/323Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by eneka View Post
After a bit of googling I found that many people had this problem as well.
Had to solder two pins together and works perfectly now.

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=745541
here is my e46fanatics thread..

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...376&highlight=

and the scanner i got is $22 shipped from here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Scanner-For-...item2a31f85f9f

HTH
mikeetastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 01:10 AM   #1902
78Silvershadow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
My Ride: 330ci
Hey Guys,

Thank you for this thread, ordered my scanner from Xcar360 a couple of weeks ago and while I waited, I got myself a used XP laptop from CL. The scanner arrived quickly. It was truly plug and play and no issues. I was able to clear my errors and fixed a turn signal light.

Starting to figure out how to use it.

Ss
78Silvershadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 01:36 AM   #1903
agd320i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7
My Ride: E46 320i
I would like to recode my Euro LCM to US LCM so that I can have the dimmed corners on with the low beam headlights. I have checked the LCM settings using the BMW scanner but I couldn't find it.

Thanks for the help
__________________
2001 E46 320i
1981 Porsche 924 Turbo
1979 Ford Capri Ghia
agd320i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 08:11 AM   #1904
BM330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Latvia, Valmiera
Posts: 156
My Ride: BMW 330Ci
Send a message via Skype™ to BM330
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeetastic View Post
here is my e46fanatics thread..

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...376&highlight=

and the scanner i got is $22 shipped from here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Scanner-For-...item2a31f85f9f

HTH

I just payed for this one too.It means that I have to solder pin 9 and 10 to get ir work propertly ?
__________________
BM330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 08:21 AM   #1905
Big Rick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: On the Rappahannock River
Posts: 1,427
My Ride: 325Xi
Try it without soldering the pins first... If nothing then solder.
__________________
NWS and Advertising Removed.
Big Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 08:28 PM   #1906
Xoutas
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 133
My Ride: '02 325i, '04 Pathy
Just got my scanner last week & got it working with windows 7 thanks to this thread (PA SOFT 1.4 Windows 7 64bit BMW Scanner How to install DIY HELP) - worked perfect. But a few questions, cause I'm kinda confused with all the threads that I read.

- the top two lines don't come up (engine & trans) am I supposed to solder pins 1 & 2 & 7 & 8 together to get this feature? Besides that all else worked great & was able to see why my airbag light is on. A pic of what my scanner looks like. Also looks like pins 5 & 7 are soldered together.

- seems that the scanner turned my ses light on (wasn't on before I plugged the scanner in), I drove a little with the light on, then the car pretty much sat for a day. I went out the next day and the light was off and hasn't come on since. Just wondering if anyone else experienced this?

Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	149.1 KB
ID:	543306  
Xoutas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 07:18 AM   #1907
scottk706
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2003 black E46
Could anybody upload or send me a copy of the software? I purchased my online the software is no good. Would be a huge help, Scott
scottk706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 07:19 AM   #1908
scottk706
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2003 black E46
Hey, could somebody upload or send me a copy of the software? I purchased mine online and the software is not working. Corrupter version. Thanks, Scott
scottk706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 10:47 PM   #1909
eatsleeplax
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Porter Ranch
Posts: 67
My Ride: ..
I have a 2005 BMW M3 and I want to activate my alarm module. Noticed this thread is a little old, is the general consensus on these http://www.xcar360.com/bmw-scanner-1...scan-tool.html fake PA Soft scanners / software still that they work fine? About to pull the trigger on one. Also, are you guys hooking your cars up to a battery tender when you use these? If so, at what amperage? Thanks for the help!

Last edited by eatsleeplax; 01-26-2014 at 11:09 PM.
eatsleeplax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 11:52 PM   #1910
scottk706
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2003 black E46
Most of the software works. Your need windows xp or windows 7 (64bit) to run it. Send me a pm when you get your software I'll walk you through activating your alarm. Super easy.
scottk706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 11:59 PM   #1911
eatsleeplax
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Porter Ranch
Posts: 67
My Ride: ..
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottk706 View Post
Most of the software works. Your need windows xp or windows 7 (64bit) to run it. Send me a pm when you get your software I'll walk you through activating your alarm. Super easy.
Thanks. After failing with the bmcables.com ebay setup (as a computer engineering student, that software is a crapshoot) I've decided to go this route for now and just setup NCS Expert when I have more free time. I'll shoot you a pm when my order comes in.

Last edited by eatsleeplax; 01-27-2014 at 12:02 AM.
eatsleeplax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 08:57 PM   #1912
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 254
My Ride: '00 328i
Hey, I am having some problems with the scanner. It is version 1.4.0.7 and I am receiving the "Error with IKE" message. My car is a 10/99 and I have to use the 20-pin adapter under the hood to connect it. Even so, I am still having "Error with IKE" show up on my screen. What should I do?
lllRazorlll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 06:56 AM   #1913
Dan1el
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 320i '99
Send a message via MSN to Dan1el Send a message via Skype™ to Dan1el
Has anyone managed to get this working on Windows 8.1 (64bit)?
__________________
Dan1el is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:51 AM   #1914
jM2.me
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 818
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan1el View Post
Has anyone managed to get this working on Windows 8.1 (64bit)?
My works on Windows 8.1 64bit just fine.
However, there is driver issue with devices that use counterfeit cp210x chip. I didn't check if bmw scanner cable uses it or not, but I do know that cables for inpa/ediabas use it. My inpa/ediabas has counterfeit cp210x chip and driver for it doesn't work.
__________________

Volcano Red M3 Bumpers, Fenders, Quarter panels 19" 8.5ET35 225/35 | 9.5ET35 255/30 Custom Quad Exhaust Good old M54
jM2.me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:53 AM   #1915
BM330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Latvia, Valmiera
Posts: 156
My Ride: BMW 330Ci
Send a message via Skype™ to BM330
Hello ! After installing drivers I get this error !



It's on win 7 ultinamte
__________________
BM330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:11 AM   #1916
Xoutas
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 133
My Ride: '02 325i, '04 Pathy
Quote:
Originally Posted by BM330 View Post
Hello ! After installing drivers I get this error !



It's on win 7 ultinamte
Do you have the scanner plugged into the car while you are running the software? I made that mistake when I first got the scanner.
__________________

2002 325i - 116500 - 'Molly'
2004 Nissan Pathfinder LE 4x4 - 157,000
Xoutas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:26 AM   #1917
BM330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Latvia, Valmiera
Posts: 156
My Ride: BMW 330Ci
Send a message via Skype™ to BM330
no,it's only connected to USB port on my PC
__________________
BM330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:41 AM   #1918
Xoutas
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 133
My Ride: '02 325i, '04 Pathy
Quote:
Originally Posted by BM330 View Post
no,it's only connected to USB port on my PC
Well there's your problem, it needs to be connected to the car when you run the software, that's why you got that error. The engine doesn't have to be running but you have to turn the ignition on to positions 1 or 2 so the software can scan your car.
__________________

2002 325i - 116500 - 'Molly'
2004 Nissan Pathfinder LE 4x4 - 157,000
Xoutas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 11:31 AM   #1919
BM330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Latvia, Valmiera
Posts: 156
My Ride: BMW 330Ci
Send a message via Skype™ to BM330
ok,will test it !
__________________
BM330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 03:26 PM   #1920
morningisbad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Onalaska, WI
Posts: 555
My Ride: E46 M3 Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xoutas View Post
Well there's your problem, it needs to be connected to the car when you run the software, that's why you got that error. The engine doesn't have to be running but you have to turn the ignition on to positions 1 or 2 so the software can scan your car.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BM330 View Post
ok,will test it !
__________________
"When makin' a questionable decision, sometimes the only way to find the answer is to shut your eyes & mash the pedal to the metal, you guys."
-Karl Welzein
morningisbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use